We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area
See the most recent reviews
Showing 25: English reviews
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Reviewed 12 August 2016

We were visiting family and needed a place to stay. We picked this place for its location. When we arrived we were very impressed with the appearance of the Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area. What really made our stay special was the staff. Everyone we met there were terrific. We really want to single out Fernando, the GM,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank k l
VisionsGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area, responded to this review

Dear k l, Thank you so much for your review, we are very happy to see you enjoyed your stay and we were able to go above and beyond of you expectations. Please come to visit us again. Best Regards, Fernando

Somerset, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 10 August 2016

I stayed with my sister for a wedding and the hotel is nice and clean. Pressed for time on our arrival I was disappointed in the timeliness of check in. Sarah was on her personal cell phone talking and we stood there waiting for her to finish her phone call at check in and check out. When we got to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank somclass2000
VisionsGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area, responded to this review

Dear somclass2000, Thank you so much for your review and feedback. We appreciate your valuable comments in order to help us to improve. I will certainly address the situations you mentioned in order to prevent to happen again with another guest. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide...

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 8 August 2016

In order to get the best rate, I had to make 3 separate reservations for a 3 night stay! This resulted in a $150 incidentals hold on my credit card which was utterly ridiculous considering all that you can purchase at this EXPRESS is soft drinks and peanuts! Oh maybe a bag of chips too!! It would have been considerate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Countykat
VisionsGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area, responded to this review

Dear CountyKat, I am so sorry you feel this way about our newly renovated hotel and we certainly appreciate your feedback to help us to improve even more. Our guests' satisfaction is our most important goal and in any moment we are sneaky about anything as the entire information on the reg card has the same font size, we also...

Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

We visited the Holiday Inn Express in Rochester for a concert in the downtown loop. It cost us approximately 25 dollars by taxi to get us to our location downtown. The rooms were very clean. We had 2 queen size beds. Breakfast was also decent after a night on the town in Rochester. Overall excellent hotel to stay at in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DomJack08
VisionsGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area, responded to this review

Dear DonJack08, Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you had a great time with us. Please come to stay with us on you next visit. We have a few great concerts coming to town. Best Regards, Fernando

Newburgh,, New York, United States
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Arrived late in the night and the room i booked was not available. However Mary at the front desk was awesome and apologized. Mary made every effort to get me situated and went out of her way to make up for the misunderstanding. The hotel is clean and the staff is super polite and helpful. I plan on staying there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maxine H
VisionsGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area, responded to this review

Dear Maxine H, Thank you so much for your review and for taking the time to acknowledge Mary, she is a great asset for our hotel. Our staff staff takes great pride in going above and beyond for our guests, it is something we enjoy in doing it. We hope you will visit us again soon. Best Regards, Fernando

OH
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

Clean and quiet stay! The rooms a were nice and updated. Our family was traveling to Boston and this hotel was not far off of 90. We enjoyed the free breakfast in the morning. There are quite a few restaurants nearby. We would stay here again if we are passing through.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OPELorain
Lancaster, New York
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Booked this hotel somewhat last minute for a soccer tournament. Happy with hotel, staff was nice. Hotel was full with families for soccer and baseball tournaments. Breakfast was busy, but for the most part not too bad. Some kids decided to fool around and get the elevator stuck Sat evening, causing fire dept. to come and had to take the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sheilaransbottom
VisionsGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area, responded to this review

Dear Sheilaransbottom, Thank you so much for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us. We appreciate your understanding about the elevator being stuck and your recommendation to your friends and other families coming to Rochester. Best Regards, Fernando

West Chester, Ohio
Reviewed 6 July 2016

We were very happy with our stay here. When we are choosing a Holiday Inn Express, we are not expecting a Full Service Luxury property. I sometimes feel that hotel guests set unreasonable expectations for they are booking. The Hotel Lobby was very bright, cheerful, and modern. The Front Desk staff could have not been nicer. The breakfast provided was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
VisionsGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area, responded to this review

Dear Rick C. Thank you so much for you feedback. I am very happy to see that we met your expectations. . A positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Best Regards, Fernando

Reviewed 28 June 2016

My fiance & I stayed here for 3 nights while visiting the area to see family. We had a king size bed and the room was clean. The continental breakfast was great for us to grab something quick before heading out for the day. We were originally going to spend our last night at a family member's house but decided...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jalisa B
VisionsGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area, responded to this review

Dear Jalisa B, Thank you so much for your review, we are very happy to see you were so comfortable with us and decide to stay one extra night. To provide a memorable guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in, so we really value your feedback. We hope to see you again next time you are in...

Reviewed 7 June 2016

We are rarely disappointed when staying at the Holiday Inn Express. Therefore, when we had a bad experience in Rochester, NY, I was surprised and disappointed. I choose this hotel because it promised a shuttle to the airport, as my daughter had an early flight in the morning. We had just driven almost 12 hours to get there due to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Connie C
VisionsGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area, responded to this review

Dear Connie C. Thank you so much for your review and I apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your recent stay. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can...

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
1.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
0.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester Airport - University Area
0.3 km away
Courtyard Rochester Brighton
Courtyard Rochester Brighton
#10 of 30 in Rochester
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
Hampton Inn Rochester North
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Rochester - Marketplace
3.0 km away
Staybridge Suites Rochester University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just 4 miles from the airport and less than a mile from University of Rochester, Monroe Community College, Strong Memorial Hospital and the Erie Canal. Local corporations include Xerox, Kodak, Bausch & Lomb, and Harris RF. Hockey, lacrosse, and soccer games played at nearby ESL Sports Center, Rhino Stadium, Frontier Field or Blue Cross Arena. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area

Address: 717 E Henrietta Rd, Rochester, NY 14623-1405 (Formerly La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester South)
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Price Range: $134 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Rochester South
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester South Hotel Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
Rochester Hampton Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms closer to the elevators may hear more noise.”
 of 5 bubbles V8948UVkarenc, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Interstate on back side of hotel. Had no problem with the noise but I would request front side of hotel if sensitive to noise.”
 of 5 bubbles HikingisHeaven, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Countykat, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Easy access to anywhere you need to get to.”
 of 5 bubbles 857maxineh, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay