We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Gideon Putnam

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,066 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,063: English reviews
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I'm amazed at the 'extreme' reviews - positive or negative - on the Guideon that we've seen in Trip Advisor. This is a comfortable hotel in a beautiful setting, nothing bad to say, but don't call it 5 stars either. A very nice lobby with generally friendly reception greeted us on each entry and exit. The restaurant food was of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David C
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

We appreciate your patronage, and I am glad to hear you had a nice stay with us. We are amidst some major renovations - we just completed the ballroom, and over the next year or so, we will be addressing meeting rooms, lobby, corridors and guestrooms. We hope the next time you visit, you will be able to say your...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the worst hotel stay my husband and I have ever had. They denied us early check-in, even though I explained to them that I was suffering from severe asthma. The housekeepers were rude and were reluctant to change the sheets. The bedding was dirty. The room service tried to fool us with extra charges several times. It snowed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guest3737
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

We care very much about your stay with us, so I am sorry to hear that you had a stressful visit. Allow me to touch upon a few things you mentioned. Depending on when you stayed, and how full we were the night before, it is sometimes not possible to grant early check-ins. If you requested a new set of...

Rhinebeck, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed overnight from a Sunday to Monday and we loved staying in Saratoga. There are some great restaurants and bars and we walked around the shops the next day after our stay. We didn't eat at the Gideon or have a chance to use the spa but we would like to stay there again sometime and make reservations for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dkMelo
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing The Gideon Putnam. We hope time allows you to return and experience the Roosevelt Baths & Spa. You won't be disappointed!

Cobleskill, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

We love going to the Gideon Putman. The staff is always wonderful and welcoming. The setting is beautiful and we love the historic atmosphere. There is so much to do in Saratoga Springs and the shuttle into town is very convenient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna P
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you for your continued patronage, and for taking the time to sing the praises of The Gideon Putnam and our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back.

East Lyme, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We attended a wonderful wedding here! The culture of the hotel is wonderful, and the staff made everything great! The rooms were nice, and cozy and had great views of the park! In the morning there was a great brunch and horse and buggies out front giving carriage rides through the park! It was gorgeous!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tenagliaerienne
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

The wedding New Year's Eve was so beautiful. We are grateful to the bride and groom for choosing The Gideon Putnam, and very happy to hear that everyone had a wonderful time. Please come see us again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We checked in at a very pleasant lobby with a roaring fire. Staff were nice and answered all our questions. We went up to the room, through dim, dingy hallways, and we opened the door and almost fell over the (double) bed. It was the smallest hotel room I've ever seen. It about the size of my NYC bathroom. My...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter R
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

I received your email, sent Sunday, but I was out of the office for a few days. I am sorry we have not yet had the opportunity to discuss your stay. I am truly sorry for the poor condition of your room. Our room sizes vary greatly, and we do not utilize the small rooms unless we are fully booked,...

Saranac Lake, NY
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been fortunate to have stayed here several times and never found it less than excellent. I plan on being there again soon for work. The Hotel hosts our Dental Continuing Education course work. I love all the facilities and all the area has to offer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ansophia
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

The Gideon Putnam plays host to many conferences, but it is so nice to hear that you choose to come here for pleasure as well. Thank you for taking the time to sing our praises. See you soon!

Exeter, New Hampshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Expansive grounds, perfect for a spa visit, health and fitness, or leisure. It was beautifully decorated for the holidays, fires lit in the lobby and a sparkling gingerbread house display all lit up. Not a typical 'clone' hotel, so don't expect the same old same old. Enjoy the old brass and glass. I overheard someone whining about the age of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elyse G
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

We are so thankful for guests like you, who still appreciate the unique experience of these grand old hotels! Thank you for choosing The Gideon Putnam, and for sharing the beautiful details of your stay. We hope fond memories will lead you back to us again.

NY, NY
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Gideon Putnam during Christmas. The whole facility is beautifully decorated for the holidays, it feels like you've walked into a Christmas wonderland from the minute you enter the lobby! The staff makes intricate and locally relevant gingerbread houses accurately depicting the town in Saratoga Springs and the resort itself, and they're on display...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing the magical details of your stay! We truly appreciate you making The Gideon Putnam a yearly tradition. Happy New Year.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've had several wonderful experiences at Gideon Putnam! In 2011, we had our wedding guests stay there. Since then we have visited two plus times a year first as a couple, then as a family of three, then as a family of four, and now as a family of four expecting a 5th soon. The atmosphere, cleanliness, and kindness of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thomasframbach
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing The Gideon Putnam over the years, and for taking the time to share your story. I am happy to hear you have so many great memories with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

380 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (220)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (108)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (152)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (22)
Viewed
Large Porch Suite (25)
Viewed
Putnam Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Standard Room with Two Double Beds (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
3.2 km away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
548 reviews
2.5 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#3 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
630 reviews
3.1 km away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#2 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#11 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
366 reviews
3.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Springs Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Sp...
#4 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
1,262 reviews
2.0 km away
Saratoga Casino Hotel
Saratoga Casino Hotel
#13 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Some places are just different. You feel it. You sense it. And when you're there it welcomes you. It encourages you, and it leaves you in a better place than when you arrived. A place that is legendary for making people feel better. It's not just a hotel. It's the cure for what ails you. The Gideon Putnm is a classic boutique hotel located in resort-like setting of Saratoga Spa State Park, minutes from downtown Saratoga Springs and the Adirondack Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Gideon Putnam

Address: 24 Gideon Putnam Rd, Saratoga Spa State Park, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-6218 (Formerly Gideon Putnam Hotel and Conference Center)
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Price Range: $149 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gideon Putnam 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Gideon Putnam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gideon Putnam Saratoga Springs
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#3 Spa Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#7 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#11 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Gideon Putnam staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
new york
5 months ago
Glenville, New York
10 months ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Gideon Putnam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms on the higher floors are quieter I imagine”
 of 5 bubbles tenagliaerienne, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here.”
  • Stains on the chair.
  • Hair on the bed.
  • Paint (Something?) on the bed ruffle.
  • Hair on the towel rack from the '80s.
  • Holes from animals (?) in the plastic bag for ice bucket.
  • PAINTED tub. Yes. Paint over old tiles.
  • Dust all over the PORTABLE HEATER.
  • Hair on the toilet
 of 5 bubbles N9373YJpeterr, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Every room should have a view, it's in the Park”
 of 5 bubbles ansophia, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“get the suite in the off season... GREAT rates”
 of 5 bubbles andre5812, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Check the site map because the room sizes range a bit.”
 of 5 bubbles johnbX6705GB, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay