We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Warere Town House

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Warere Town House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

392 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Warere Town House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 314: English reviews
Austin
Reviewed 18 April 2015 via mobile

Wonderful budget guest house in historic Stone Town. Lovely roof-top breakfast setting,with fresh eggs and fruit every morning. Very knowledgable, helpful staff who can help arrange any trip and know the best guides. Restuta and Patrick were great hosts. If you are leaving town late in the day, you can check out and then come back and take a shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RebTX
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review

Hi RebTX, Thank you for your great review! We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Karibuni tena when you are next in Zanzibar

Buffalo
Reviewed 15 April 2015

The Warere felt like a little secret tucked away in Stone Town. They offer a pick up from the airport that I would suggest taking advantage of as the house can be a little difficult to find the first time you go. We stayed there for 3 nights and form the time of the pick up form the airport to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lyteqwest
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review

Hi lyteqwest, Thank you for taking the time to review the Warere. I was thrilled to read your review as everything you mention is exactly what we aim to achieve. Clean, comfortable rooms at an affordable price, with a good breakfast and great customer service. I was particularly glad to read you found our drivers prompt and welcoming. We hope...

Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Reviewed 12 April 2015

We stayed at the Warere for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. The ginger welcome juice and fresh towel on arrival is a lovely touch worthy of much more expensive hotels. The breakfast was good with a nice range of food on offer. We peaked into some of the rooms and they are all different, some bigger, some smaller,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 90zanzibargirl90
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review

Dear 90zanzibargirl90 Thank you for reviewing the Warere. We are glad you found our rooms comfortable and well priced. Karibuni tena!

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 5 April 2015

Very spacious room - nice decoration and attention to detail. We disliked: - Mouldy smell in the room with a too strong fragrance trying to achieve a good smell - No door for the toilet - Slow service at the breakfast once coffee or juice was finished We liked: - umbrellas to borrow - huge beds with great mosquito nets...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank moepmoep
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review

Dear Moepmoep, Thank you for taking the time to review the Warere! We are glad that you enjoyed our rooms and found the little touches such as free umbrellas helpful. We want to apologise for the mouldy smell in your room. Unfortunately during the rainy season everything becomes quite humid and our dryer broke down right before your stay. It...

Tromsø, Troms, Norway
Reviewed 4 April 2015

Stayed at this charming town house one night after a week in a luxury resort in Nungwi. My review may of that reason be a bit colored from the standard we left to what met us in this little hotel. Warere town house has a central location, although hard to find if you don’t get help by any locals (e.g....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sigurd K
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review

Dear Sigurd k, Thank you for taking the time to review the Warere! At an average price of $25-$35 per person per night we certainly do not compete with the more luxurious hotels on the island! We aim to provide a quality budget experience, with a good breakfast, and basic in room amenities, including hot water, AC, fan, nets and...

Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Reviewed 8 March 2015

Great small hotel, near the ferry. The staff is wonderful, rooms are clean and the breakfast is delicious! Staff can arrange tours in the reception and give good restaurant advises. Felt like home while staying there. Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 2015Travelling2015
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review

Dear 2015travelling2015 We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Karibu tena!

Geraldton, Australia
Reviewed 22 February 2015

Bit hard to find, but a little gem once there. Rooms were comfortable, air con good, and pretty and peaceful balcony. The rooftop restaurant/ bar was great, nice breakfasts and an honour fridge for beers, help yourself and make a note of how many you have and pay next day! The Scandinavian lass on the front desk was very friendly,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank janie29
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review

Hi janie29, Thank you for taking the time to review the Warere. We look forward to seeing you again!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2015

We spent two nights at Warere over the weekend of Sauti za Busara, and thought it was excellent. Good location around 10 minutes walk from the Old Fort and House of Wonders, allowing a nice quiet sleep away from the hustle and bustle followed by a short (and safe) stroll into town the following day. The staff were always helpful,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IanandBeth
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review

Hi IanandBeth, We are really glad you enjoyed your stay at the Warere! Karibuni tena!

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 17 February 2015

We were received with fresh ginger lemonade and wet towels to get off the first dirt after the ferry ride (desperately needed :) ). Really cute and clean place (rooms are a bit small but we did not mind), wonderful cinnamon soap and really helpful staff. Dinner seemed overprized so we did not eat there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Esther B
Reviewed 6 February 2015 via mobile

Daughter and myself stayed here for three nights . Staff couldn't be more helpful and rooms clean and beds comfortable . It was very reasonably priced and close to everything . We found people in Zanzibar as everywhere else great and felt safe . It's a top tourist spot and plenty see . Safari blue island trip is great value...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry M

178 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (147)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.0 km away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 33 in Stone Town
166 reviews
1.1 km away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
230 reviews
0.6 km away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#4 of 33 in Stone Town
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
45.2 km away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
223 reviews
0.4 km away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Warere Town House is one of the oldest hotels in Stone Town providing authentic, affordable accommodation for over 30 years. We are a small, family run hotel that prides itself on making your stay on our spice island memorable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Warere Town House

Address: Mizingani Rd, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 00100, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Price Range: $69 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Warere Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warere Town House Hotel Stone Town
Warere Town House Zanzibar Island/Stone Town
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Warere Town House staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Warere Town House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with balcony is probably bigger than the ones without.”
71benedictee, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Double room with balcony”
Francine_CF, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the floor above the reception area have in-room wifi”
Deesseeafricaine, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for AC and ensuite bath, according to your preference”
Janet_in_Nashville, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Our twin beds were actually a double and a king, that filled the room. I think there are a lot better rooms.”
LizzzieR, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5