We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mutanda Lake Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kisoro
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Mutanda Lake Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 67: English reviews
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent location to start your gorilla trekking (check the starting point of your trekking!). Beautifull individual lodges. Good food, wonderfull staff. The trip along Lake Mutanda is breathtaking! I would recommend it above lodges closer to the starting point of the gorilla trekking

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JJAA54
New York City, New York
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Stayed at Mutanda 2 nights. Very nice low key cottages/tents. Cottages are close together so you do hear your neighbors but thankfully everyone goes to bed early! Rooms are somewhat clean but could use a bit more attention to detail. The mosquito nets are covered in the cottage roof pieces - which I thought was bugs at first! Power is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissNewYork2014
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Didn't know we had been hosting Miss New York, otherwise the red carpet would have been waiting for you! :-) Thank you for expressing your appreciation for Mutanda Lake Resort. Miss New York, despite the fact that in this remote area there's no electricity. Rose Marie

Reviewed 27 October 2016

Nothing fancy, but great food and conveniently located to get to the Kisoro starting point for gorilla trekking. The sundowner boat cruise was really cool, too. Do take them up on their offer to clean your boots after your trek, you will not regret it. Thanks for an excellent stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josh H
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much Josh, for sharing your satisfaction with our lodge on Tripadvisor with other travelers.

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

This lodge is located on a little peninsula so you've got views of Lake Mutanda all the way round! The south-facing cottages get views of the Virunga mountains which are absolutely breathtaking. The other side gets the sunset, so you can't really lose here. The driveway to the place is incredibly steep, so only drive down it in a decent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mawe733
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mawe, Thank you very much for your review. Good to read that you've enjoyed your stay and you think our place has the most beautiful location. I fully agree with you! Did you know that in the dry season it takes only 45 minutes to get to the gorillas? We hope that this financial year the local government is...

Addo Elephant National Park, South Africa
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We parked our camper in the parking lot, but a chance to see the tasteful clean and comfortable bedrooms. The location at the lake is one out of thousands, probably the best we have seen in Uganda after more than 40 days traveling. The atmosphere and quality of food and wine in the cosy little restaurant was absolutely top.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank L7838WCpeterv
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Peter, I missed seeing you personally at Mutanda Lake Resort, but was told by my husband that enjoyed your stay. I want to thank you very much for sharing this on TripAdvisor. best regards, Rose Marie

Wargrave, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Safari tents set around the edge of a beautiful lake with several islands surrounded by rolling hills of forest. Reaching the resort is a very bumpy 40mins from Kisoro, which I wouldn't want to attempt myself without a four wheel drive. I assume due to the logistic of supplies, the resort is full board with a set three course dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel E
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Rachel, Thank you very much for your extensive review and to read that you have enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry to read though that it wasn't your intention to share a double room with your friend, yet this is how you had booked. If you had only mentioned it on arrival, we could have easily changed it into a...

Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

On the lake with little villages nearby. Great staff. Warm welcome. Tasty food. Excellent hiking and mountain biking in the area. Very peaceful peninsula. Great place to read a book and take a nap. About an hour drive to Bwindi for gorilla trekking or the Virungas for mountain climbing. I'm ready to return.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daniel J
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

I hope you will return Daniel. thank you so much for your appreciation. Rose Marie

Kigali, Rwanda
Reviewed 5 August 2016

I was able to spend only one night - unfortunately. The hosts were very friendly, the food excellent and the lodge offers great value for money. If you are not off early to visit the Gorillas, enjoy a peaceful breakfast on the terrace. Most recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaspar K
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Kaspar, Thank you so much for your very positive review. It was a pleasure to host you at our lodge and we hope to welcome you again one day. Looking at your rating however, you gave us the lowest possible. Could this be an error? What a pity that would be for our rating position. :-( kindest regards, Rose...

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

We intended staying two nights but enjoyed it so much that we stayed longer. The hosts and staff are very friendly and helpful; rooms are comfortable with wonderful views over the lake. It's a good place to stay for gorilla trekking and more. Plus, the food is great!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marco K
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Marco, we are delighted with your review. It will boost us to continue the way we are doing and improve where possible. Thank you! Rose Marie

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2016

There are no words to describe this fairytale lodge. The resort is in a fantastic remote location and worth every pothole encountered to arrive there. Our room was facing the east side of the lake; the view from the bed was breathtaking! All rooms have a patio were to relax. From the restaurant you can see the most amazing sunset,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank annauk2015
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Anouk, thank you so much for your review. Our staff and I are very happy to read that you, as our guest, have enjoyed your stay at Mutanda Lake Resort. We'll do everything to keep our standard high. best regards, Rose Marie

117 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kisoro
24.1 km away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
95 reviews
29.8 km away
Bunyonyi Overland Resort
13.0 km away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#1 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Rushaga Gorilla Camp
Rushaga Gorilla Camp
#6 of 11 in Kisoro
4 reviews
2.4 km away
Chameleon Hill Lodge Bwindi
Chameleon Hill Lodge Bwindi
#5 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
113 reviews
23.9 km away
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
#11 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mutanda Lake Resort is perched on private peninsula with stunning views on the Virunga Mountain Range.Situated between Kisoro town, Mgahinga and Bwindi National Parks the Resort makes a perfect base for gorilla trackers, volcano hikers,bird lovers as well as those looking for a secluded place in nature. Water recreation possibilities are plenty, like swimming, canoeing or a sunset boat cruise. Accommodation is in semi-tented cottages,built on an elevated wooden platform, each with private veranda and en-suite bathroom. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mutanda Lake Resort

Address: Mutanda Road, Kisoro, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Kisoro
Number of rooms: 13
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mutanda Lake Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All views are amazing, but to the south you see the Virunga mountains, stunning!”
 of 5 bubbles mawe733, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the Eastern wing”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in room 1 which was nice. The opposite side has views of the 3 volcanoes in the distance which is stunning, so ask for that.”
  • View from our room
 of 5 bubbles jazemaster, 27 Nov 2015 | Read review
“They're bungalow tents, all located with view over the lake, so doesn't really matter”
 of 5 bubbles Jeroenodk, 6 Sep 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in Cabin 1, and if we returned would try to pick the same one again”
 of 5 bubbles penguinwarrior, 3 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5