We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Candlelight Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westfield
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Candlelight Lodge Bed and Breakfast
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 26: English reviews
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2016

I recently spent a few days in the airy Renaissance Suite. I have stayed at the Candlelight Inn a number of times, each time in a different suite. I have enjoyed each one, but I think the Renaissance Suite is my favorite so far. I look forward to staying again and trying some of the other rooms.

Helpful?
Thank fanofVictorians
Wilma B, Owner at Candlelight Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very positive review, especially since you have stayed in several of our suites. Yes, the Renaissance not only is large but is a room of light with earlier 19th Century furnishings. We look forward to accommodating you once again in the future. More 

Sharpsville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2015

Location was great; close to everywhere we wanted to go, but that's the best thing I can say about it. If you are passionate about antiques, then this is the place for you. Otherwise, I would recommend skipping this place. It was poorly maintained: cobwebs on the ceilings and furniture, broken and stained furniture, terrible smell. In addition, you don't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sara S
Wilma B, Owner at Candlelight Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We understand that real antiques are not for everyone nor understood by as many people today. We have been antique dealers for 43 years and have furnished Candlelight Lodge with some of the best pieces we have found. As to condition, all of our pieces are original and well kept. Candlelight... More 

Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2015

My partner and I wanted a relaxing vacation week in the Chautauqua area, and we certainly found a place that suited us with the Candlelight Lodge. Located in scenic, serene Westfield, the B&B is ideal for those who want peace & quiet as well as convenience to Lake Chautauqua and the surrounding area wineries. We occupied the Pine Suite, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank David50226
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2015

Didn't have much interaction with anyone because I had an emergency trip to the ER that night, but our room was large and beautifully appointed. The whole place was very large and quiet, didn't get a really warm vibe off it but was happy to be there.

Helpful?
Thank CBWritergirl
Wilma B, Owner at Candlelight Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive response. We were sorry that you had a medical emergency just before your arrival. Fortunately we were able to offer you an upgrade on the main floor downstairs since you stayed mid-week. The Oak suite which you originally selected has a bit more quaint charm but the stairs would have been difficult for you. The... More 

White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2015

We occupied the Renaissance Suite for two nights and found it more over the top than genuinely charming or romantic. I'm sure antiques connoisseurs would have appreciated the large and heavy antique furniture more than we did; at least to our eyes, the suite felt old and outdated, particularly the low dark green ceiling in the bathroom. We didn't see... More 

Helpful?
Thank Culp1954
Wilma B, Owner at Candlelight Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review in which you state our B&B and the community was “adequate” for exploring Chautauqua County. Hopefully we can correct some mistakes and lack of understanding. The Renaissance Suite is just one of eleven suites that we have and as you state Victorian lovers do find it wonderful. We also feel that as you state it... More 

Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2015

I had the audacity to ask by email for the names of restaurants they were sending us to for breakfast since this bed and breakfast does not provide breakfast on the premises. Ed and Wilma Benjamin replied by canceling our reservation with just 1 week to find another place during a busy season. If you consider booking with them be... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank horama
Wilma B, Owner at Candlelight Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

A nasty review, this person never stayed with us but was allowed to review our services, which we do not understand. We explain in our confirmation letter again that we do not serve breakfast on site but send our guests with a voucher to your choice of three breakfast restaurants in the area (anywhere from 2 blocks to a few... More 

Brecksville, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2014

This was our third stay at the Candlelight Lodge and we would not consider any other place when visiting the area. The B&B is a beautiful brick Victorian mansion that was built in 1851. The suites are spacious (we stayed in the Mary Jane Suite), and are decorated with lovely antiques. The location is perfect when visiting the Chautauqua area... More 

Helpful?
Thank JLSLA
Wilma B, Owner at Candlelight Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for the complimentary review. It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are pleased that you had the opportunity to stay in many of our suites over the years. We hope that you will have an many reasons to return to Western New York after your son graduates from Fredonia. More 

Nyack, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2014

Can't say enough good things.My wife & I have stayed in 3 different suites over the years. Candlelight Lodge has made our college trips to SUNY Fredonia more like a true vacation. See you again in the spring, and thanks!

Helpful?
Thank Russell R
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2014 via mobile

We stopped on the way back from Chicago on our way to Cape Cod. We called from the road and we got the only room left, the Renaissance Suite. The room has an antique bed and being 6'2"tall I barely fit. That wasn't the problem but rather the smell. The sheets and pillow had a heavy scent of some flowery... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Doug K
Candlelight1851, Owner at Candlelight Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

A very strange review and one that speaks to some of the current problems of small businesses and the empowerment of an individual on the internet. This person called late, just off the interstate and requested a single night at our Candlelight Lodge – normally we require two nights on weekends and this was Labor Day Weekend. All other eleven... More 

Brockton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Renaissance Suite. The whole place is filled with gorgeous antiques and the architecture is wonderful. Wilma, the innkeeper, was very nice and although they don't live in the building, they are available. I love that there was a kitchen area in the room. If we were staying more than a couple days, that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rosannadana
Wilma B, Owner at Candlelight Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your complimentary review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Apparently your only complaint is the length of the bed for your husband. We have 10 suites all of which have either full queens or what we call custom queens. Some earlier Civil War beds were oversize for wealthy homes which we have chosen. We have... More 

2 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westfield
1.6 km away
Holiday Motel Westfield
Holiday Motel Westfield
#2 of 2 in Westfield
14 reviews
15.9 km away
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
#1 of 6 in Chautauqua
179 reviews
12.4 km away
Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
25.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Dunkirk & Fredonia Inn
2.4 km away
Barcelona Lakeside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An 1851 brick Victorian mansion, 8 minutes from Chautauqua Lake and Chautauqua Institution - spaciousness, privacy, elegant antique furnishings for a romantic getaway. 7 guest suites - queen beds, private baths, AC, DirecTV, minifridge, coffee machines, microwave - 2 suites have additional bedrooms. In the heart of the village of Westfield on two acres - steps away from stores, antique shops and restaurants. Accommodations for small weddings, parties, and an ideal vacation rental. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Candlelight Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: 143 E Main St, Westfield, NY 14787-1150
Region: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Westfield
Price Range: $93 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Candlelight Lodge Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in the back of the house; perhaps the second floor rooms were nicer?!?!”
 of 5 bubbles sarasJ2659QF, 13 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Do not stay in the Renaissance Suite!”
 of 5 bubbles jtreby, 22 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Each room is different, so you need to ask questions about what you are getting.”
 of 5 bubbles 582wendyr, 3 Oct 2013 | Read review
“Don't stay in the Mahogany Suite if you don't need 2 separate beds--very small bathroom and iffy cold water knob in the shower. Otherwise, they all are beautiful and unique from what I saw. Small town so noise not an issue.”
 of 5 bubbles alg07, 4 Sep 2012 | Read review
“First floor room is available”
 of 5 bubbles FrankKal, 27 Feb 2012 | Read review
5 of 5