We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Banner Haven Beehive Guest House

Save
Share
509 Beech Mountain Pkwy, Banner Elk, NC 28604-8013
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (6)

About

#6 of 10 Specialty lodging in Banner Elk
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Banner Haven Beehive Guest House features a one-room cabin that sleeps 3 and a 2 BR/2 Bath apartment that sleeps 6. The units can be rented together or separately. The property sits on 1.25 acres and is situated 2 minutes from Downtown Banner Elk and 5 minutes from Beech Mountain Resort and 13 minutes from Sugar Mountain. Nearby activities include skiing and snow tubing in the winter. In the summer guests can fish, birdwatch, hike, bike, whitewater rafting, attend festivals, and enjoy beautiful weather, 90% of the time. If you're planning a vacation or visit to the NC High Country, Banner Elk is ideally situated and close to Hickory, Boone, Tennessee, and Asheville.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Kids stay free
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Dining area
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
Languages Spoken
Spanish
20Reviews0Q+A8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 14
  • 1
  • 4
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
JKJaster wrote a review Nov 2021
Winston Salem, North Carolina35 contributions6 helpful votes
Fantastic Cabin. Quiet and Peaceful. Great Place to unwind and recharge. The balcony/patio was a great place to sit and listen to the creek outback. The gas fireplace was perfect to keep the temperature comfortable in the cabon
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sandra A wrote a review Jul 2018
Albemarle, North Carolina117 contributions18 helpful votes
This was an awesome place to stay. So much nicer than a hotel and you have your own rooms and private baths. We enjoyed our vacation so much more. It was beautiful, perfect weather, refreshing atmosphere.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
HLAtlanta wrote a review Sep 2016
Atlanta, Georgia439 contributions80 helpful votes
We like the sound of the creek, so we stayed at the cabin. Didn't realize that it's not really a bed and breakfast. Not very secure, although we weren't really concerned about it. We woke up one morning and found the front door opened sometime during the night. No soap in the shower. No explanation of how to make the tv work -- we never were able to get it on. Wi fi was really slow.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
john t wrote a review Sep 2015
Raleigh, North Carolina20 contributions2 helpful votes
Loved the haven!! We stayed in the cabin, couldn't have been more perfect! The sounds of the river at night to put you to sleep and the welcoming barks of baby and kitty in the morning to gently wake you up, What more could we ask for. We will stay there as often as we can!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
NeilfromDayton wrote a review Oct 2014
Dayton, Ohio326 contributions214 helpful votes
We were greeted by Jade who was pleasant and helpful. Our "Couples" room was cozy, comfortable and inexpensive. We were concerned about the yipping dog caged in the living room, but he quieted down at night. Since we were the only guests the house was quiet and we slept well. We were given 3 breakfast choices, all sounded great. Breakfast was served at either 9 or 9:30 am, which seemed a little late until we slept till 8:15. We can agree with previous reviewers about the unusual bathroom plumbing, a plumber could probably reverse the hot & cold in the sink and eliminate the pipe shudder for $100. This B&B should be fun in ski season. It is quirky but not bad. You might like it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
SChambo wrote a review Oct 2014
Lake Norman, North Carolina63 contributions38 helpful votes
We just had a tremendous experience in Banner Elk and Banner Haven played an integral role in making us feel at home and welcome! We were gifted a weekend here from our kids to take in fall colors, but came away with so much more...We just stayed there last weekend, and were extremely pleased with our stay...The owners were away, but we were treated extremely well by Jade, our inn keeper...She was warm and inviting and sat with us engaging in conversations...One of our many highlights of the weekend was when she pulled the 2 macaws out of their cage and we watched them show off sitting on her lap only inches away...If you are there, ask to have them "imitate Jade flapping her wings"----amazing!!! Our breakfast both days were prepared extremely well and were filling...in passing, she mentioned pancakes were on the menu for the next morning, and we jokingly said that chocolate chip pancakes were a staple in our house on sunday mornings while the kids were growing up...To our surprise (and gratitude), guess what we were served the next morning!!!! She also made a killer bon fire Friday night! The amenities were nice for an older mountain home...as expected...it was very clean...Upon arrival, we met 2 very small and friendly white house dogs, but they were kept upstairs the rest of our stay...we have a 125 lb newfoundland and are dog lovers...Of importance to note because Banner Haven is pet friendly, is that I am extremely allergic to cats, and I did NOT experience any allergy problems all weekend, a testament to it's cleanliness! We had the bedroom w/the attached bath which we highly recommend (or the cabin out back) vs. the other bedroom w/the bath across the hall...the mattress was very comfortable and the TV and WiFi were an added bonus...Another highlight was that even though we stayed in the house, Friday evening we enjoyed a romantic bottle of wine on the hillside overlooking the rushing water behind the cabin... Banner Elk has so many offerings and most are just a few minutes from Banner Haven...We went to 4 different vineyards all within easy driving distances and all were great destinations allowing us to walk their vineyards, taste their wines as well as purchase the ones we liked to bring home---and extend our weekend memories longer...We marveled at the fall colors, country roads and vast x-mas tree farms (1 had over 1.5 million trees!!!). We also hiked on different trails, drove the Blue Ridge Parkway, had nice dinners in Banner Elk as well as just up the road from Banner Haven on Beech Mountain overlooking the valley, and also stumbled upon a horse back riding stable only a couple miles away.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: see write-up above
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kelly B wrote a review Oct 2014
Sanford, Florida, United States4 contributions3 helpful votes
I will start with our experience from the beginning. Upon entering the residence we were barely greeted by who we assume to be was the caretaker of the house since we never met nor saw the innkeepers. The caretaker never gave us her name and all she asked was "have you stayed at a B&B before?" When we stated yes she promptly said "then you know how it goes" and pointed us to our room. Since she was not the innkeeper I suppose I cannot expect her to care much about the guests or give any advice on the area..but we had expected a bit more of a welcome. Another issue was the Two small dogs in the house were riddled with fleas and we unfortunately had some in our room. Breakfast was mediocre, but coffee and tea selection were pretty good. Lastly the plumbing in our bathroom made a horribly loud sound and I was more concerned for the other guests that had to hear the racket early in the morning when we woke up to leave. All in all it was a cheap room, bed was pretty comfy, but the charm and hospitality that I have come to expect from a B&B was not there and I wouldn't stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg G, Owner at Banner Haven Beehive Guest House
Responded 20 Oct 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you didn't have the experience you expected. Unfortunately, I had kidney stone surgery a few days before you arrived and may have still been at the hospital, while you were at the property. Our daughter did her best to handle everything, until someone arrived to help. This was obviously beyond my control and couldn't be helped. As for the dogs, we treat them every month and they are groomed weekly, however, we will treat the entire property this week. Again, I am very sorry you weren't greeted in a better manor.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert C wrote a review Sep 2014
Bristol, Tennessee70 contributions19 helpful votes
Banner Elk is an expensive town to visit and Banner Haven has some of the best prices around, but there is a reason. Our room was separated from the bathroom by a common hallway. The bath itself was a Do-It-Yourselfer's nightmare. It was decorated in early plumbing store. The faucet in the sink (wooden bowl) was reversed and the fixture was cobbled together pipe and solder which made a terrible racket when turned on. The shower was in a claw foot tub. Cute but not to practical as climbing in and out of this monster was at a minimum, dangerous. The house was cluttered and overrun with dogs, a cat and birds. Wifi was iffy at best. In three days there were only a couple of times that it worked - sort of.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Try the cabin.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg G, Owner at Banner Haven Beehive Guest House
Responded 20 Oct 2014
We are sorry you had a bad experience with the bathroom. Our website does state the bathroom is across the hallway, and this is very common with older bed and breakfasts. As our property was constructed in 1910, the bathroom is decorated with vintage pieces, like the claw foot slipper tub. The exposed copper pipe is very period appropriate and exactly what we wanted. If you had mentioned a problem with the wifi, I would have been happy to fix any issues or reset the router. Again, we are sorry you had a poor experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eric T wrote a review May 2014
Charlotte, North Carolina1 contribution2 helpful votes
We stayed over Memorial Day weekend and had a wonderful time in the High Country! To start, the Gardners were very welcoming. I was very impressed with their knowledge of the area, things to do, the history, and how to get anywhere we wanted to go. I thought breakfast was delicious! You can tell they have put a lot of thought into their property. They were very pet friendly as well. We brought our dog and had no issues with keeping her there while we were off to dinner or exploring Boone. The accommodations were nice and very well kept up. We would definitely come back again!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2014
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The King Room had plenty of space and the attached bathroom was a nice amenity.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
HLAtlanta wrote a review Apr 2014
Atlanta, Georgia439 contributions80 helpful votes
The cabin was well maintained and warm. Because of renovations, they just gave coupons for breakfast at a restaurant. But the folks were really nice and seemed glad to have us. Too cold to enjoy the deck, but we'll try that another time.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2014
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We stayed in a cabin. We enjoyed that.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Irmolot Lodge
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina MountainsBanner Elk
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BANNER HAVEN BEEHIVE GUEST HOUSE: See 20 Reviews and 53 Photos (Banner Elk, NC) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Banner Haven Beehive Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Banner Haven Beehive Guest House?
Nearby attractions include My Best Friend's Barkery (0.6 km), Banner Elk Olive Oil & Balsamics (0.6 km), and Ensemble Stage (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Banner Haven Beehive Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at Banner Haven Beehive Guest House?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Banner Haven Beehive Guest House?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Banner Haven Beehive Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Banner Haven Beehive Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Stonewalls Restaurant, Bayou Smokehouse & Grill, and Sorrento's Bistro.
Is Banner Haven Beehive Guest House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Banner Elk.