Swiss Mountain Village

Swiss Mountain Village

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#2 of 2 campsites in Blowing Rock
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
2.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Property amenities
BBQ facilities
Room features
Kitchenette
Bath / shower
11Reviews0Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 4
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Chuck L wrote a review May 2021
Florissant, Missouri273 contributions134 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The resort is charming, but somewhat rustic, nestled in the woods, located on a little lake that you can fish in. The village was made up of several individual building with 2 or 3 unites to each. The kitchen was updated, but there is no dishwasher or garbage disposal. However, the unit was very clean. It has a nice gas fireplace. The internet service was good. They only had one TV, which was in the living room. The selection of channels was a full range of satellite TV. No TV’s were in the bedrooms. Bathroom did not have much counter space, but the water pressure for the shower was good. Bed was very comfortable. The unit was nicely laid out with plenty of room. The grounds and lake are very well maintained.

The resort is located right off the Blue Ridge Park Way exit/entrance. The Blowing Rock is within 10 minutes away, Grandfather Mountain about 30 minutes away and Chimney Rock is about two hours away. The charming historic town of Blowing Rock is about 1 mile away and has several shops and GREAT restaurants.

If ever vacationing in the area again, we would absolutely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adventure Girl wrote a review May 2023
Cornelius, North Carolina5 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Good place to stay if you want to stay in and have meals. Not far from town but need to drive Full kitchen, fireplace, sofa and kitchen table. If you want to walk to restaurants you can stay in town for about the same cost. Room smelled musty but opened window and it was better. Place was clean and beds were comfortable. Said there was internet but we didn’t get any connection. I would stay again
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Many options to chose from if you want to walk to restaurants
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David H wrote a review Jan 2022
4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This vacation village is awesome! The cabin was cozy and comfortable. The clubhouse and outdoor amenities are what you make of them. If your looking for a five star resort this isn’t it but for getting out of town for quality time this is it. I will give a shout-out to the maintenance man Drew. He was very attentive and although we got 20 inches of snow he plowed the roads and made sure everybody was able to leave, even helping tow vehicles that got stuck. Only reason it’s a four star is the fireplace didn’t work until they had to come fix it. Hope this review is helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Be mindful of the weather. Snow comes in fast.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
retired-teacher60 wrote a review Jul 2021
Florida81 contributions86 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
First the good: Location, location, location. The place is right off the Blue Ridge Parkway and right at the north end of the town of Blowing Rock. It was only a couple of miles to the grocery store, restaurants, and the town, perfect for sightseeing, hiking, everything. Our unit was a timeshare exchange done at the last minute and we felt very lucky to find a place. The bed was comfortable and the unit was roomy with 2 bedrooms, one bath, a living room area with fireplace and a full kitchen with a table for dining. We parked right in front of the unit. Now the down side: We must have gotten the last available unit. It was below the office, which was not the problem. The problem was that it was dark and cold and the carpet smelled bad. I think they were having a problem getting help due to COVID. Unfortunately, it rained most every afternoon and we were therefore in the unit more than we would have liked. The other places at the resort looked much nicer.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Don't get unit #1!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Donna Fisher, General Manager at Swiss Mountain Village
Responded 22 Dec 2021
Hello, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us! We would have been happy to move you to another unit if you had spoken with the office. Cabin 1 is one of our staff's favorite units because it is very spacious, has new kitchen cabinets and countertops and has a lovely view of the pond. Being under the office assures that you have no noisy neighbors above you in the evening, as well. On the few occasions I've had to stay here, that is the unit i prefer! We do also shampoo the carpets regularly, and are working on replacing all carpet with vinyl plank flooring. The High Country is also considered a rain forest, so we do get a lot of rain. I'm sorry you didn't have more sunshine on your trip. If you decide to give us another try, please talk to our office about different units. There are also many pictures on our website to check out. SwissMountain.com Best wishes to you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Collins70429715 wrote a review Feb 2022
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Swiss Mountain is a great place to stay for families and couples. And a place I’ve stayed at for many years.

It’s also close to downtown blowing rock & not to far to visit wineries, skiing at sugar mountain or snow tubing at hawks nest.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gretchen wrote a review Feb 2022
Fort Mill, South Carolina2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Swiss mountain is a wonderful place for a getaway. Short driving distance from Fort Mill, SC. It was perfect for my sister and I to bring our families to. Units are spacious, full kitchens and washer/ dryer in unit. Grocery, restaurants, skiing and tubing all close by. Everything was well maintained and comfortable. We’ve been going here for over 20 years, since we were kids and have a great experience each time. There is plenty to do all year long in the area. We look forward to going up there every year.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rick_The_Builder wrote a review Oct 2022
North Wales - UK279 contributions180 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I used to live in Switzerland, I expected somthing that would be familar - evreything working, precise and on time.

Not here - loads of faults with the accomdation - carpet flodded from the rather pathetic A/C unit. Loads of "rules" with "fines" to back them up. Office never open so no way to address the issues.

Room was nice & clean, but lacking somewhere to dry socks from the water soaked carpet.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
edc3k5 wrote a review Sept 2019
Massapequa, New York67 contributions56 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
While vacationing in the mountains, we came across the Swiss Mountain Village! They are cozy chalets to stay in. We stayed in a 2 bedroom overlooking the lake! Our cabin had 2 stories with bedrooms and full bath upstairs and full kitchen, bath, pull out sofa, tv downstairs. It also had a porch with 2 chairs. We brought breakfast and dinner and stopped for lunch when we were touring! The rates were super reasonable, the chalet and grounds were clean and beautiful! There was also a clubhouse and playground on the property! Would definitely go back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CheersToLivingNow wrote a review Aug 2022
Forest Grove, Oregon9 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I was in a one-bedroom. The office is only open 8-5 Monday through Saturday. Check-in is at 4PM so it doesn't give you much time to deal with any problems with your unit when you check in. I checked in on a Saturday evening. They have easy after hours check-in procedure. However, the kitchen faucet sprayed every time I turned it on - soaking me and the floor. And the place stunk so bad!! The strong moldy, mildewy smell made me concerned for my health. And I couldn't address the problem for two nights!. I opened all the windows and went out and bought a scented candle. The smell subsided in 3-4 days but it never smelled fresh in there.

There is no dishwasher so tenants need to wash their dishes. There is a cleaning charge if you don't. However they don't check. I pulled out a frying pan that had green fuzzy mold all around the top edge. The pot had a distinct ring of what looked like dried baked beans. The plates were gritty. I washed what I used and left it out in the dish drainer so I knew what was clean. I brought these problems to the attention of the manager on Monday morning and she just looked at me blankly and although she sent maintenance over to fix the faucet she did not offer to help with the other problems at all. She checked and saw that the place had been empty all season except for a few overnight stays. This is something they should address when someone comes in. If the place has been left empty and has become damp and mildewy then they should freshen it before a person comes for a long stay. I was there for 7 nights and made reservations a month in advance.

To make matters worse, the mattress must be old because I woke every morning with back pain. So the last 3 nights I was there, I slept on the couch. What does it say about the mattress if I don't get back pain from the couch but I do from the mattress?!

The building I was in had two floor units and two second story units. I was in a floor unit (#8). The room was dark and dank. Extremely unpleasant. I will never return to this place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Make sure you do not get a floor unit.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucille G wrote a review Nov 2023
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Gorgeous location for these cozy chalets. The lake, the scenery and the people made it a pleasant and relaxing spot. It was a great getaway for me and my family. Close to a lot of amenities and restaurants, too.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Adventure Girl wrote a tip May 2023
Cornelius, North Carolina5 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Many options to chose from if you want to walk to restaurants"
Read full review
CheersToLivingNow wrote a tip Aug 2022
Forest Grove, Oregon9 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you do not get a floor unit."
Read full review
David H wrote a tip Jan 2022
4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be mindful of the weather. Snow comes in fast."
Read full review
retired-teacher60 wrote a tip Jul 2021
Florida81 contributions86 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't get unit #1!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Blowing Rock area.
PRICE RANGE
S$246 - S$261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina MountainsBlowing Rock
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SWISS MOUNTAIN VILLAGE: UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 8 Photos (Blowing Rock, NC) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Swiss Mountain Village
Which popular attractions are close to Swiss Mountain Village?
Nearby attractions include Bass Lake (1.9 km), Julian Price Park (6.2 km), and Foggy Mountain Gem Mine (7.8 km).
What food & drink options are available at Swiss Mountain Village?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Swiss Mountain Village?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge, Stick Boy Bread Co, and Mint Cuisine of India.
Are there any historical sites close to Swiss Mountain Village?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Moses H. Cone Memorial Park (1.6 km), Flat Top Manor (2.1 km), and The Jones House Cultural and Community Center (7.5 km).
All Blowing Rock HotelsBlowing Rock Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Blowing RockHotels near Swiss Mountain Village
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire