We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Westglow Resort & Spa

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (73)
Room & Suite (219)
Dining (22)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#8 of 15 hotels in Blowing Rock
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Finding an ideal historic hotel in Blowing Rock does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Westglow Resort & Spa, a nice option for travellers like you.

Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Flat Top Manor (1.3 mi) and Moses H. Cone Memorial Park (1.7 mi), guests of Westglow Hotel can easily experience some of Blowing Rock's most well known attractions.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and you can stay connected during your stay as Westglow Resort & Spa offers guests free wifi.

The hotel features room service. Plus, Westglow Resort & Spa offers a pool and free breakfast, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

During your visit, be sure to check out one of Blowing Rock's popular fish and chips restaurants such as Foggy Rock Eatery and Pub, The New Public House, and Storie Street Grille, all a short distance from Westglow Hotel.

If you are interested in exploring Blowing Rock, check out an art museum, such as Artists in Residence at Edgewood Cottage.

Westglow Resort & Spa looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Blowing Rock.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Tennis court
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Historic Hotel
188Reviews8Q+A44Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 142
  • 20
  • 14
  • 5
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Tampa66 wrote a review May 2023
LOCUST GROVE59 contributions14 helpful votes
Excellent Spa, great choices of services, amazing staff. My daughter and I went for the day and had a wonderful time. Not over crowded, quite, great choices for services. Pool was great, had lunch outside, and the views were magnificent. Would definitely go back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
DeacSteve wrote a review Dec 2022
Newnan, Georgia295 contributions139 helpful votes
We purchased a couples day at the spa at a charity auction in early 2022 and decided to come to Blowing Rock just before the New Year and stay two days in the Manor House. I researched the various rooms and property amenities before choosing the Veranda Suite. I read through the entire website and we were really looking forward to a great stay. Our room rate was more than $400 per night but having traveled to nice resorts and spas, we were not surprised. The reservation for the Manor House was confirmed with the typical AirBnB emails and welcome information. The day before our departure for Blowing Rock I got another long “welcome” email. On the way up to Westglow, I read the entire email to find out for the first time that the only food service on the property would be our lunch on our spa day. No breakfast or dinner. To call yourself a resort and have zero meal service is simply a falsehood. The Manor house did not have much in the way of amenities in the rooms. The previous reviews mentioned bathrobes, check-in service, etc. We each had one pair of slippers, which we didn’t need, no bathrobes and there was no shampoo. Heck you even get shampoo in a $60 per night motel. When we went over to the spa to verify our treatments for the next day the girl was completely confused and told me there were no full day services on Sunday (the next day was Friday). Then my wife asked if she could have a glass of iced tea from the spa and she was told that our spa day was Friday, not Thursday. We were also told I could not buy a bottle of wine at the spa, until our “spa day” the following day. Some resort! Essentially we were paying over $400 per night for a bed. I could have had that for a lot less in a lot of other places. The spa services were very good. We have no issue with them. The spa itself is in superb shape and the staff there is very good. I would suggest if you are going to Westglow for the spa, stay somewhere else. There are plenty of good BnBs in Blowing Rock and other resorts. If you stay with Westglow, in my opinion, you are wasting your money for no amenities and no food opportunities. You will just get a bed.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kristen F wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution3 helpful votes
It is a shame to have to give a bad review for a front desk experience, actually two bad experiences now. It would be the best spa if the front were better oriented to problem solving and listening and service skills. It never ceases to dismay when the talented staff is excellent and the register/reservation person messes it up.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lorie W wrote a review May 2022
Rolesville, North Carolina35 contributions5 helpful votes
Wonderful spa experience that leaves you feeling refreshed and relaxed! The facilities were beautiful and clean. I did the half day spa experience and had lunch while I was there; it was delicious. The staff were experienced, friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
TheGoodLife wrote a review Sept 2021
Elkin, North Carolina61 contributions20 helpful votes
Westglow replaced their management and staff and are suffering from training their new group to maintain the high standards we have always enjoyed at Westglow. Massage therapists and facials are “ok”. Meditation room and lounges are not regularly serviced. It is difficult to find staff to help when needed. The attitude of staff is “ok” with an occasional smile. Add this to their Covid policies (no snacks or fruit, no blankets in meditation room, no lunch offerings on many days) and it creates an environment that is not “spa” quality. My friends and I will wait several months before trying Westglow again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Onthego1951 wrote a review Feb 2020
Durants, Barbados13 contributions
The Westglow was even more than advertised. Gracious accommodations. Excellent Spa and Sumptuous Dinning. The inviting bar in the Library was a favorite of ours with a warm fire and cleverly and carefully conjured cocktails. Dinner was amazing and beyond the ambiance the service was expertly and graciously provided at every opportunity. We definitely will return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Westglow224, General Manager at Westglow Resort & Spa
Responded 12 Feb 2020
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Winter is the perfect time to come to Westglow because the pace is a bit more relaxed than during high season. We just introduced our winter menu in our restaurant which definitely reflects the time of year. You mentioned our signature cocktails, we hope you were able to try a "Respect your Elders", definitely a guest favorite. We look forward to your return visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Julie Ratcliff wrote a review Jan 2020
Charlotte, North Carolina113 contributions86 helpful votes
This review is only for calling in to speak to the staff person and the front desk and the web site. I wanted to book a room for my husband and I for a romantic weekend, but when I called on a Thursday morning at 8:30 AM, the woman who answered was obviously annoyed to have to help me. She claimed she couldn't hear me the first time and literally hung up on me. When I called back, the phone rang and rang and when she finally answered she denied hanging up on me. With her bad atitude, she proceeded to answer my questions and I learned there were no rooms available for my dates. This property does not allow for online booking, so unfortunately you have to deal with this woman to book. I doubt we'll be staying here because first impressions are paramount and dealing with an attitude right out the gate is just not worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
6 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Westglow224, General Manager at Westglow Resort & Spa
Responded 3 Feb 2020
We certainly agree that first impressions set a tone, but unfortunately your recollection of your call to our resort does not align with the facts. As with most businesses, incoming calls to our resort are recorded for training and compliance purposes, so we were able to review your call. A quick research of your phone number indicates it is a cell phone, so that might explain the bad connection, we had no other issues that day. When our guest services representative explained that she could not hear you, you proceeded to call her a liar and blamed her for not wanting to talk to you because it was early in the morning. Our staff arrives at 7:00 am so it was definitely not too early to speak with you. The call was disconnected and you then called back yelling not to dare hang up as you continued to insult our employee and call her a liar multiple times. You then called her a "rude (expletive)". Your tone was truly shocking. All of our representatives are trained to be polite and helpful, that is their job and there would be no reason to be otherwise. We are a small boutique property, with a limited number of guest rooms. Contrary to your assertion, guests are able to make an online reservation through our organization, relaischateaux.com. We prefer, however, to speak with guests to explain the unique qualities of each guest room as each one is different. We offer no apology for personal service. You have left similar comments about our resort on other social media platforms so clearly you have been offended and wish to escalate what could have simply been a technology issue. We wish you enjoyable travels at any of the other fine resort properties in our area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
William wrote a review Dec 2019
St. Augustine, Florida7 contributions6 helpful votes
My girlfriend and I reserved a day package for each of us at this beautiful mountain retreat. The package we bought included a facial in the morning, a four-course lunch and a Vichy service in the afternoon. Everything about the visit was stellar. The men’s locker room had robes, sandals, shaving equipment and plenty of other greatly-appreciated amenities. I’d never had a facial before but I found the gentleman’s facial to be very relaxing and a worthwhile treatment. I found the same to be true with the Vichy services. All of those praises aside, the relaxation room and the food topped the charts. I read another review that suggested “if heaven had a waiting room, [the relaxation room] would be it” and I can’t help but agree. The massive windows and the beautiful fireplace are the backdrop to one of the most serene places I’ve ever been. I would’ve gladly paid the same price just to have lunch and sit in the relaxation room drinking ginger tea all day. Westglow is a beautiful location with great staff and excellent spa services. I highly recommend it if you’re looking to relax and rejuvenate near Blowing Rock.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Westglow224, General Manager at Westglow Resort & Spa
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Thank you for you spending the day with us and writing such a thorough review. We are so glad you appreciated all of the amenities we offer our guests. We do our best to focus on the details and make sure every guest experience is the best it can be. We hope if your travels bring you back to Blowing Rock you'll visit us again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Amy Harmon wrote a review Dec 2019
Las Vegas, Nevada101 contributions59 helpful votes
The spa is immaculate, clean & full of different services. Great fitness center so no missing your workout routine. Excellent staff, pleasant & very polite👍🤩👍sauna, steam room. The best hot rock massage I ever had.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Westglow224, General Manager at Westglow Resort & Spa
Responded 17 Dec 2019
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your visit with us! We will be sure to share your comments with out staff, they are definitely one of the main reasons our guests return year after after. We hope to see you again soon, in the meantime, Happy Holidays!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
SF94597 wrote a review Nov 2019
San Francisco, California252 contributions192 helpful votes
My group of 4 had the Veranda Room & Portico Suite - both lovely rooms. There are nice robes, an in room safe & nightly turndown service. (I previously stayed in another room in the Mansion & it was lovely too). We booked the all-inclusive so enjoyed fabulous spa treatments and great meals. The staff was very accommodating for all our special beverage & meal requests - which were many. We took advantage of the steam room, sauna, whirlpools & fitness center before our spa treatments. We also loved the morning hikes with Amy - she provided a lot of information about the area in addition to leading a couple great hikes. The entire staff is very helpful & accommodating. Loved having water bottles provided & easy access to refill them. The Keurig station in the morning & late evening was also a nice touch. The location is a couple hours from the nearest airport & a couple miles from town - so definitely a destination.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The team at Westglow is very good at matching you with the right room. Each room is a bit...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Westglow224, General Manager at Westglow Resort & Spa
Responded 17 Dec 2019
Thank you for your thorough review of our resort. We are so glad you were able to utilize all of our amenities and services. We will let Amy know you specifically mentioned her in your review. Our morning hikes are one of the many highlights guests enjoy. Our all-inclusive packages provide a great opportunity to experience all that Westglow has to offer. From now until Christmas there are a number of enticing packages with special pricing for the Holidays, more information may be found on our website. Thank you again for taking the time to describe your experience, we look forward to your return visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Blowing Rock area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
westglow resort and spa, westglow hotel blowing rock, westglow spa blowing rock
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina MountainsBlowing Rock
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WESTGLOW RESORT & SPA: UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 354 Photos (Blowing Rock, NC) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Westglow Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Westglow Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Bass Lake (3.3 km), Grandfather Mountain State Park (7.0 km), and Julian Price Park (6.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Westglow Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Westglow Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Westglow Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Westglow Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge, Camp Coffee Roasters, and Kilwin's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Westglow Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Westglow Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Westglow Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Westglow Resort & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Moses H. Cone Memorial Park (2.7 km) and Flat Top Manor (2.2 km).
Does Westglow Resort & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Westglow Resort & Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.