We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
185 Chetola Lake Dr, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6037
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
7 people are viewing this hotel
Hotels.com
US$263
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/10/21
Priceline
US$269
View deal
Trip.com
US$213
View deal
eDreamsUS$269
FindHotelUS$219
Agoda.comUS$219
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (441)
360
Panoramas (26)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 16/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Chetola Resort
Updated 16/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 17 hotels in Blowing Rock
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Explore Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock, an 87-acre resort within walking distance of a quaint mountain village, neighboring a 3,600-acre National Park and surrounded by the Blue Ridge Mountains of Western North Carolina. Enjoy first-class accommodations in Chetola's Lodge, luxury Condominiums or the Bob Timberlake Inn at Chetola Resort, as well as fine dining at Timberlake's Restaurant. Discover The Spa at Chetola Resort, our Health and Wellness programs, Chetola Sporting Reserve, our Orvis Endorsed Fly Fishing, and the many opportunities for recreation at Chetola Lake and along the Blue Ridge Parkway. Chetola also offers exceptional meeting and conference facilities and is a favorite destination for weddings and events.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Archery
Boating
Children's playground
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Skiing
Tennis court
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Patio
Table tennis
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English
975Reviews40Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 563
  • 248
  • 101
  • 47
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Wander49990529206 wrote a review 20 Oct
1 contribution
I don’t often find the trifecta of staff, drink selection and a skilled chef. My personal favorite is “fish done” well not “well done fish.” My wife and I were able to sample the fried oysters, Chilean sea bass and Brussels sprouts. I have eaten at multiple restaurants that claim 5 diamond however, this restaurant delivers. Well done chef. Also, I must give a shout out to Cait our waitress. He service and just recommendations make me smile. Good luck! Also, the bartender staff and drink selection was amazing. This restaurant is a must visit. However, book early…. And often
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Daniel M wrote a review 16 Oct
2 contributions
Great place to relax and enjoy your surroundings. Fishing, shopping, hiking, eating, drinking, and good people. The town of Blowing Rock where Chetola is located is very nice also. Only negative would be the parking during busy times, so you may have to walk a little. I still give our experience an “A”. The staff was very polite and helpful each time we interacted with them. The food off the bar menu was excellent and the beer selection was totally satisfying. *****
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Balcony rooms are the best choice.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Tristan Thomas, Owner at Chetola Resort
Responded 3 days ago
danielmT4120UZ, Thank you so much for the wonderful 5-star review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Chetola and all of the wonderful amenities involved with staying here like hiking, eating, fishing, and more. October is one of our busiest times of the year and the resort and Blowing Rock does get busy so if possible, it is definitely great to walk from Chetola to town. We're so happy you also enjoyed your meals and drinks from Headwater's Pub/Timberlake's Restaurant. We hope you'll come to visit us again soon! Kind regards, Tristan Thomas Social Media Manager & Creative Designer
Read more
Jeremy J wrote a review 4 Oct
Raleigh, North Carolina5 contributions3 helpful votes
After reading all of the great reviews about Chetola I scheduled a trip for my fiancé's birthday. We arrived after 1pm and was told our room wasn't ready and we would get a call when ready. We did not receive a call until after 3pm which I thought was okay because I figured that the hotel might do something a little extra since I told them it was her birthday...nope. The person who checked me in seemed as though she could care less if I checked in or not. We went in the room and found it looks more dated than expected but we thought..at least it's clean. Well, when we looked at the bathroom floor it had so many stains on it showed it hadn't been mopped in quite a while. We went to the pool and the employee acted as if he didn't want to be bothered. We went to the front desk to ask for information about amenities and the surrounding area and it was like trying to pull teeth. I actually asked when Ashley G would be in because I talked to her on the phone before and she was so helpful. Therefore, we went back to the front desk after 9 and had the pleasure of talking to Ashley G who was so helpful. Moreover, we went to breakfast the next morning to use our vouchers and was again disappointed. I told my fiance that it was strange that you can't smell anything cooking. I ordered an omelet which was nothing more than a hard scrambled egg folded over with very little ingredients inside. My potato wedges were way over cooked and when I told The employee he responded..yes I know...didn't ask if I wanted more or something else. At this point my taste buds were ruined. My fiancé's meal wasn't much better. She had the big breakfast and the pancakes were rubbery, the bacon wasn't cooked well, grits runny, and wasn't good. We were surprised that we were informed that reservations are needed to dine during the evenings and wondering...who would want want to reserve or like the food or service. In addition, we had fallen asleep and around 10pm the people across the hall had a party and was in the hallway yelling and laughing. We waited until 11pm and I called the front desk and was told security was on the way. I never heard security come and my fiance beat on our door and they finally settled down. Now, here's the final thing. When I checked out the employee asked what was my room number and if I wanted a printed copy of the receipt. She never asked how was my stay, she hopes we come back or any of those service mannerisms that I've grown accustomed to at 4.5- 5 star resorts. It's amazing how the little things are missed when they are not done. Just an employee who seems like they care that you stayed or hope to come back...knowing that your business supports their livelihood. Aside from Ashley G no one else here seemed to care. I'm having a hard time understanding if it was a norm or a racial issue since we seemed to be the only African America's on the premises besides the band who played for the wedding their Saturday evening. I hate giving negative reviews because I know all businesses has their good and bad experiences but this place didn't live up to the almost 5 stars I read about on trip advisor. Maybe my review will save someone else their money because this place isn't cheap...and probably the best Blowing Rock has to offer but not worth it. Go to Boone and stay at a better quality hotel and have more restaurants close by. The best thing about it was the wonderful views of the mountains. And oh, don't be fooled by the pictures online that show this beautiful lit place almost like a wonderful Christmas scene...it's mainly the restaurant Timberlakes.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Philip Wirchansky, Marketing at Chetola Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Jeremy, Thank you for sharing your recent experience. We take our reviews seriously and strive to make every visit exceed expectations. We welcome everyone here, and we are disappointed you didn’t receive excellent service and an appropriate welcome. We have renovated all three floors of the Lodge since 2019 and apologize that some of our updates missed the mark. We are happy to hear that Ashley G was helpful in the planning process, as well as during your visit. During COVID, we upgraded our ventilation system, which does a fantastic job of cleaning the air, however, we, too, miss the smells of the kitchen from inside the restaurant. All breakfast is cooked to order daily, so we have passed along your thoughtful comments to our culinary team for review. Unfortunately, like many other businesses, we are experiencing a staffing shortage which occasionally impacts the overall guest experience. We have also met with our front desk and housekeeping teams to share your feedback, as we work through this challenging time. If possible, we would like to continue this conversation. Email me and let me know a convenient time for a phone chat. Kind regards, PJ Wirchansky Director of Marketing pj@chetola.com
Read more
crljacobson wrote a review 4 Oct
1 contribution
Enjoyed visit at Chetola. Clean units with courteous & efficient staff. Beds & sofa updates. There is a general 80’s vibe to the decor but it did not detract from our stay. Hope to return as soon as possible. Keep up the good work
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Tristan Thomas, Owner at Chetola Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
crljacobson, Thank you so much for the wonderful 5-star review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Chetola Resort. We pride ourselves on being clean, safe, and a wonderful experience for all of our guests. All 3 of our floors in the lodge have been recently renovated and we apologize if you did not enjoy the decor but are happy to hear that it did not take away from your stay. We can't wait to see you again very soon! Kind regards, Tristan Thomas Social Media Manager & Creative Designer
Read more
Sam wrote a review 4 Oct
1 contribution
+1
The Chetola Resort was great. Nice accommodations and wonderful food. The service was great. The resorts’ location (a short walk from downtown Blowing Rock) was ideal. The setting is beautiful and the area offers many activities. We took advantage of the Resort to schedule spa visits, Orvis Fly fishing day, and get information about local hikes. We will be back next year!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Room Tip: Our corner room was a suite
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Tristan Thomas, Owner at Chetola Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Visitor093021, Thank you so much for your wonderful 5-star review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed everything about your visit to Chetola Resort, from the food at Timberlake's Restaurant to the lodging to the many activities in the surrounding area. We love being able to offer guests a variety of amenities and activities to enhance their stay and we are delighted that you also enjoyed the spa, fly fishing and hiking in the area. We can't wait to see you again next year for another great trip! Kind regards, Tristan Thomas Social Media Manager & Creative Designer
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$189 - US$380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chetola mountain hotel blowing rock, chetola resort, chetola mountain blowing rock, blowing chetola nc resort rock
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina MountainsBlowing Rock
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Chetola Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Chetola Resort?
Nearby attractions include Bass Lake (0.3 km), Kilwins Chocolate Kitchen (0.8 km), and Blowing Rock Art and History Museum (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Chetola Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Chetola Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Chetola Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Chetola Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chetola Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kilwin's, Camp Coffee Roasters, and Village Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chetola Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and yoga classes during their stay.
Is Chetola Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Blowing Rock.
Are any cleaning services offered at Chetola Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Chetola Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Chetola Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Moses H. Cone Memorial Park (2.0 km) and Flat Top Manor (2.1 km).