We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
9239 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6338
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$124
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$124
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$115
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/23
Booking.com
TravelocityUS$124
Vio.comUS$124
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (252)
Room & Suite (67)
Dining (16)

About

#5 of 17 hotels in Blowing Rock
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The graceful Victorian era hotel, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, has been lovingly and faithfully restored as of the fall of 2010. Turn back the clock to a more genteel time when exquisite attention to guest's needs, a polite, respectful and helpful staff, and an atmosphere of quiet elegance was the magnet that drew authors, poets, presidents and first ladies to the cool mountain breezes of the Green Park Inn. Come and experience our affordable elegance. When you want to spend time away, spend it somewhere that's timeless. The Chestnut Grille Restaurant is open nightly, or weekends seasonally. The Divide Tavern opens nightly at 5pm, serving casual dinner fare.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Couples massage
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Meeting rooms
Massage
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
684Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 331
  • 202
  • 87
  • 48
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
gtchilton wrote a review Yesterday
Taylors, South Carolina5 contributions
The bar service was good and check in was fairly straightforward but hauling luggage up to the third floor via the stairs was not as easy as one would think (elevator was broken). The breakfast was okay but would have been better if the food was served hot. It was a last minute weekend stay and for the price, I suppose I got what I paid for. Our room was off one of the rear additions and the view was……meh. I guess they had better rooms but don’t be fooled by the pics on the website. There’s a wide range in the quality of the accommodations. Stay away from the ones in the 320-350 section that don’t face the front of the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
YaleDad wrote a review Jul 2022
New York City751 contributions557 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Just saw some negative reviews: are you talking about the same property? I had a fabulous time staying here. Kerry handled our front desk needs, the wait staff were so pleasant and attentive, and Hunter our bartender was nothing but smiles and accommodations. Loved the room; the bath was well appointed. Both a ceiling fan and HVAC. Was very quiet even with big events going on- I enjoyed the historic venue and its little quirk- they are endearing, beautiful, and storytelling. If you want a Holiday Inn Express, this ain't it- it's a thousand times better. In a post-covid world, this place is amazing. Can't believe people's biggest concern is that "Christmas (strung lights) are up and no elevator. It's only a. couple of floors. I'll be back, with friends and family.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lorry Mulhern, Guest Services / Front Office at Green Park Inn
Responded 2 days ago
We're so glad you enjoyed the hotel, staff, and breakfast! You said it - we are not a Holiday Inn Express, but we focus our efforts on a historic ambiance with special attention to guest service. We'd love to have you back with family and friends!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A D wrote a review 23 Jan
Long Island, New York2 contributions
Evening staff was brusque( not nice). Ran out of tissues in room staff would/could not bring more. Should have had two boxes in the room. TV stopped working( maybe remote problem. Elevator broken although they did warn in advance. Restaurant was closed and they did not warn.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: another hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lorry Mulhern, Guest Services / Front Office at Green Park Inn
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for your review, and we apologize that you felt the service was lacking. We have had our restaurant closure posted on our website for the past 9 months, and we have a second dining facility available, which is open nightly. This information is included in our confirmation e-mails. We always have extra items available for guests at the front desk, and our staff members take items to guest rooms whenever possible, and if not possible they will let guests know they can pick it up when convenient. We're not sure if you reported the issue with the TV for us so we could assist with that, but hopefully you did and we were able to get it working for you again. We usually receive high praise for our front desk staff members going out of their way to assist guests, and apologize if you didn't feel that was your experience. We will continue to work with our staff and make sure to pass these comments along to them, so we can continue to provide the best service possible to all of our guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Traveler46763299490 wrote a review 12 Jan
What an unbelievable stay. Staff , facility, hospitality was second to none. The charm of the place was exquisite. I made lifelong friends with the beautiful team at the facility and will be returning as much as I can.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lorry Mulhern, Guest Services / Front Office at Green Park Inn
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for reviewing, and we're so glad you had such a memorable experience! We're glad you bonded with the staff and felt taken care of. We'd love to see you another time!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Parkermom64 wrote a review Nov 2022
Yardley, Pennsylvania19 contributions3 helpful votes
We so wanted to love this historic inn near downtown Blowing Rock. The staff was great and they are doing the best they can with what they have to work with. Having said that, we checked in on a chilly November afternoon to find that the air conditioning was running in our room and it was freezing. Maintenance came and said the unit had to be replaced so we tried to get another room. However the heat wasn’t really working in that room either. We were offered a space heater-we declined and ended up leaving for another hotel. I’m sure it was lovely in its day but it needs a lot of work. Shout out to Holly for doing her best. You go girl!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you decide to go for it request a room on the 1st floor -elevator isn’t working
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lorry Mulhern, Guest Services / Front Office at Green Park Inn
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for reviewing. We apologize that there was an issue with the heat during your stay. We did discover that we were having some electrical issues in a few of the rooms down that hallway, which affected the heaters in those room, and have since been fixed. We appreciate your compliments of Holly and how she moved you to another room and offered suggestions to make you more comfortable. We'd love for you to give us another try another time!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dennis S wrote a review Nov 2022
41 contributions10 helpful votes
We booked a one night last minute room at this really cool 130 year old hotel. Check in was a breeze. The room was clean and had a nice hot shower. The bar was cool and served good food. We loved the bartender she was so friendly. The hot breakfast was delicious and was included with the stay. Out waitress was very sweet. The hotel can use a little TLC but for 130 years old it was understandable. If you looking for something different and want a historic feel this is the place for you.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lorry Mulhern, Guest Services / Front Office at Green Park Inn
Responded 3 days ago
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! It sounds like you got to experience a little bit of everything, and we appreciate your compliments of the food and staff. We are a 130 year old building, and consider that part of the charm!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EdRockster wrote a review Oct 2022
Durham, North Carolina1214 contributions234 helpful votes
The Green Park Inn was once a grand dame of historic hotels. I wish I had the resources to restore her to the splendor befitting her. But it would take a rather large chunk of cash. The staff is exceptionally friendly and aim to accommodate. And I wish we'd had the stay of our lives. The lobby is grand, as one would expect from a historic inn. But numerous lights are out, and there are cobwebs under some of the furniture. Let's assume those were seasonal decorations. The elevator is out of service, but the narrow stairs are fairly comfortable to negotiate. We were on the second floor, and I found the ramps and steps within the floor to be odd, but we will call them charming character. Our room was spacious with a lovely balcony. If it had been a warmer weekend, I'm sure we would have loved sitting in a rocking chair with a nice libation. Nearly everything needs to be updated. And the carpet showed wear and dust in the corners. The walls are very thin, and we overheard a rousing discussion from next door with several people drunkenly recounting a mishap earlier in the day. There's plenty of hot water, though the temp fluctuates considerably. ANd the shower head is only about 5 feet off the ground. We'll call it charm and character. I really did want to love the stay. Live music in the lobby on weekends was a plus. And again, the staff was very pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lorry Mulhern, Guest Services / Front Office at Green Park Inn
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for reviewing! We are continually in a state of updating and restoring the hotel. October is a particularly busy time for us, during which our staff first focus on getting rooms ready and taking care of guests before they move on to take care of the lobby, but we do understand the importance of a good first impression. The elevator has been out of service due to staffing shortages on the part of the elevator company that we have been working with to get the elevator back up. We do tell all guests in advance so we can make accommodations if they aren't able to take 1 or a maximum of 2 flights of stairs to get to their rooms. You bring up an interesting bit of the hotel's history when you mentioned the steps/ramps within the floor. We found an old photograph of the hotel, where you can see that those two sections of the hallway were not connected when originally built in 1891. They appear to have been separated by a staircase with outdoor access, and at some point the hallway was connected and closed in to be one long hallway, necessitating the addition of a couple of stairs to get from one side to the other. A luggage ramp was added later on so guests could easily transport their luggage across the height difference in that section of the floor. We're glad you found the staff to be pleasant and that you enjoyed the music in the lobby!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sydney McGivern wrote a review Oct 2022
Chicago, Illinois2 contributions1 helpful vote
This Inn may have been a gem at one time in history but no longer! It is now an old shoe that ownership has not taken care of, and they seem oblivious to that fact. Our room had to be changed on arrival as half the electricity didn’t work, and even after the change, they still couldn’t get lights to work. The elevator has construction tape across it so that doesn’t function either. It’s time for this Inn to close but until then I’d recommend not staying here!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid this Inn completely!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lorry Mulhern, Guest Services / Front Office at Green Park Inn
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for reviewing. We do apologize that there were electric issues during your stay, along the hallway where your original room and the other room was located, and we have since corrected those. The elevator has been out of service, despite our continual efforts to have the repair made. Unfortunately, as in many industries, the company we have been working with has had their own struggles in getting the needed parts and staff, so we are working patiently with them as they try to get the elevator going again. We do reach out to all guests in advance of their stay to ensure they are able to take 1 or a maximum of 2 flights of stairs before they arrive, so we can otherwise accommodate them if they aren't able. Many historic hotels don't have elevators at all, so we hardly feel that this is a reason to close the hotel, especially as we are happy to book guests on the first floor when needed and actively reach out to do so.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BobB42784 wrote a review Oct 2022
Williamsburg, Virginia60 contributions16 helpful votes
One can easily see that this old hotel was renovated 12 years ago but has not been well maintained since. The elevator has been broken since April 2022 and old parts are apparently not obtainable. The heating is spotty throughout the hotel with the rooms being so warm as to require air conditioning to offset it. The carpeted rooms and hallways need shampooing. No need to continue this review.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Since elevator is broken, the first floor is best.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lorry Mulhern, Guest Services / Front Office at Green Park Inn
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for reviewing. We do understand that historic hotel may not be for every traveler and we try to give an accurate representation of what guests can expect when coming to stay with us. Unfortunately, as with many other industries, the elevator company we are working with to make the needed repairs are having their own struggles and we are working patiently with them to machine the needed parts to make repairs. We do contact each hotel guest in advance of their stay to make sure they are able to take 1 or a maximum of 2 flights of stairs, and if they aren't we make accommodations for them to be in a first floor room. Our historic hotel has different types of heating systems throughout, one of which is the original steam heat. We find this to be a charming bit of history, as there are not many hotels that still operate with steam heat, but we also have areas of the hotel in which we have more modern heating and air conditioning units as well, and we are always happy to move guests to another type of heating system if they aren't happy with the one in their room. We tell guests if they are looking for a historic atmosphere and a unique experience, that is what we are offering. If they are looking for a modern hotel that's built on historic bones, we are not that. We often explain that to guests who ask questions about that when making their reservations, so they can decide if we are a good fit for what they are looking for, and encourage anyone making a reservation to ask as many questions as they'd like!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NorthstarTravellers wrote a review Oct 2022
Bluffton, South Carolina92 contributions59 helpful votes
We booked here specifically because it's a historic hotel, so creaking floors, etc. are expected. The hotel is located about a 3 minute drive from the historic shopping/dining area and across the street from the Blowing Rock attraction. Agree with previous reviewers who say it needs a little TLC. There are some initial buzzkill things like the damaged roof over the entry drive-up and the still-broken elevator. Inside, some of the things done in the renovation detract from the historic feel of the space, i.e., cheesy plastic flowers hanging in the hallways, plastic flowers in the restaurant next to beautiful cut leaded glass and chestnut woodwork, and questionable taste in art prints. The check-in process was easy and the reception clerk very nice. The two young ladies running breakfast in the dining room were very pleasant, welcoming and efficient. The dining room is closed at other times, though. Our room was clean but the furnishings and fixtures were dated and the carpet was stained and needed cleaning. We weren't aware of the hotel's history until we arrived. Our room was on the third floor around the corner from the infamous room and my wife and I each slept with one eye open.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lorry Mulhern, Guest Services / Front Office at Green Park Inn
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for reviewing! We, too, agree that some work needs to be done related to the roof of the porte cochere. Unfortunately, someone that wasn't affiliated with the hotel in any way drove under the porte cochere with a construction vehicle on the back of his truck and severely damaged it. Now, we are in a waiting game with his insurance company, engineers, adjusters, etc and hoping the work to make the repair will be scheduled soon. Until then, basic repairs to make the porte cochere safe have already taken place. Décor and furnishings will always be subject to each person's individual opinion, but we do appreciate your feedback and we're glad you felt that you felt your room was clean. We're so happy our staff were pleasant and made you feel welcome!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$123 - US$162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the green park hotel blowing rock, green park inn, park inn green
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina MountainsBlowing Rock
NUMBER OF ROOMS
65
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GREEN PARK INN: UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 295 Photos (Blowing Rock, NC) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Green Park Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Green Park Inn?
Nearby attractions include Bass Lake (2.9 km), Doc's Rocks Gem Mine (5.2 km), and Moses H. Cone Memorial Park (4.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Green Park Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Green Park Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Green Park Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Green Park Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge, Camp Coffee Roasters, and Kilwin's.
Are pets allowed at Green Park Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Green Park Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Green Park Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Moses H. Cone Memorial Park (4.5 km) and Flat Top Manor (4.5 km).
Is Green Park Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.