Green Park Inn

Green Park Inn

Traveller (268)
Guest room
Room & Suite (67)
Green Park Inn
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
S$174
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#5 of 15 hotels in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
The graceful Victorian era hotel, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, has been lovingly and faithfully restored as of the fall of 2010. Turn back the clock to a more genteel time when exquisite attention to guest's needs, a polite, respectful and helpful staff, and an atmosphere of quiet elegance was the magnet that drew authors, poets, presidents and first ladies to the cool mountain breezes of the Green Park Inn. Come and experience our affordable elegance. When you want to spend time away, spend it somewhere that's timeless. The Chestnut Grille Restaurant is open nightly, or weekends seasonally. The Divide Tavern opens nightly at 5pm, serving casual dinner fare.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Couples massage
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Meeting rooms
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Historic Hotel

Location

9239 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6338
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 47 out of 100
47
Tri-Cities Regional
77.9 km
See all flights
Douglas Airport
119.5 km
See all flights
708Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 337
  • 206
  • 91
  • 52
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
James H wrote a review Jan 2024
Davidson, North Carolina257 contributions69 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Green Park Inn bar is the best in all of Blowing Rock if you like moderate prices, beautiful mahogany wood all over, friendly servers and relatively quiet atmosphere.
Everyone there seems to be in a very good mood and therefore it is a good place to sit, relax, enjoy and meet nice strangers.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TriadGuy wrote a review Nov 2020
Gatlinburg, Tennessee14 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We met another couple for the Thanksgiving holiday at the Green Park, our third visit, and it just keeps getting better.

First, in reading the reviews below, I echo the sentiments from other TripAdvisors that, as always, much of guests' impressions have to do with expectations. If you're looking for history, character, friendly staff, very good food and an appreciation of the travel experience of days gone by, you'll be among those of us who find this hotel unique, interesting and a charming, fun place to stay.

The hotel does a good job of COVID protection (see their website for details). Due to the time of year and the light number of guests, some of the normal amenities were limited, such as hours of dining operation and menu options, but the staff to a person did all they could to ensure an enjoyable stay. Special mention to Heather, who was seemingly everywhere all the time, providing a welcome, friendly experience in the Divide Tavern and the Chestnut Grille alike. The young man at the front desk was patient, accommodating to special requests and the resolution of a couple of guests' inquiries.

Unfortunately, the gentleman pianist wasn't able to perform in the lobby, but we hope to see him again post-pandemic.

Breakfast is made to order and, in order to ensure social distancing, reservations are required. Thanksgiving dinner was excellent. Menus are posted in this review.

The last time we stayed was in March and it seemed that the condition of the hotel pubic areas in particular had been refreshed since then. The room this time included a balcony which, in warmer weather, would fantastic.

I took the opportunity to check out the fabled elevator this time, partly because I had overheard a guest ask if it had been fixed since an apparent earlier snag of some kind. The above-mentioned front desk gentleman assured them that it was working. It's large enough to accommodate a luggage trolley, but there was a sign posted requesting only one person at a time board it unless travelling with another person in the same party (due to COVID, not weight). It worked fine for me, although with most elevators of that age, was a little abrupt when it reached the requested floor.

I hope that like-minded travelers who are looking for a unique hotel in a scenic part of the country will give the Green Park a visit. Even if you're staying elsewhere in the area, stop in and check it out. You'll get a good feel for the place just by stopping in for a drink or meal, and hopefully, that will entice you to stay longer on a future trip.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jbtraveller2000 wrote a review Apr 2022
Atlanta, Georgia353 contributions149 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent Hotel with a return to gentler times . Many illustrious figures of the past stayed here, Margaret Mitchell , Eleanor Rosevelt, Jimmy Stewart and Presidents Coolidge and Harding . Nice , large and spacious room with antique furniture , flat screen TV , and plenty of hot water. The Breakfast was like eating in a dining room, not cheap continental pre wrapped muffins and stale toast . They had a nice little bar , off the lobby. My bartender was also, my breakfast server . She was delightful . This place is WONDERFUL and close to town . Cannot wait to return .
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lorry Mulhern, Guest Services / Front Office at Green Park Inn
Responded 28 Jan 2023
Thank you for staying with us! We're glad you enjoyed the historic ambiance , as well as our dining options and staff. We'll look forward to seeing you again the next time!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert E wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked this hotel for an anniversary trip, as a historic old inn seemed like a romantic getaway. Shame on me! Yes, the inn dates back to the 1890s, but I didn't think the rooms furnishings, linens, drapes would also date from that era! Actually, it would be fairer to say that the carpeting, bedspreads, etc., were likely just 40-50 years old. Think of that old wine red carpeting so popular in the 1960s ...now recall the avocado green velvet settees you played on as a child at your great aunt Minnie's. Come to think of it, those are her same tattered shredded drapes! Such ambience! Don't even think about drawing the curtains, as their brittle fabric will come apart in your hands! Ignore that exposed plumbing directly above the bed, and try not to gaze at the inn's disrepair outside the window. Remember, this is nostalgic!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The best rooms can be found at a different hotel! I'd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Green Park Inn Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Green Park Inn
Responded 25 Sept 2020
Thank you for reviewing. We encourage all of our future guests to understand that our purpose in restoring this historic hotel, is to create an ambiance in which you are stepping back in time and enjoying the historic touches that you don't see in more modern hotels. This includes furniture that is a more traditional style, drapes of an older style, and the sprinkler pipes that run along the ceiling throughout the hotel. We performed extensive work on the exterior of the hotel just before your stay (repainting the exterior of the hotel, repainting the shutters, repainted the patio, repaired and repainted our welcome sign, and quite a bit of landscaping), so we're quite at a loss as to what you may have thought was "disrepair" outside. Nonetheless, we are continually updating and making improvements.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ben Will wrote a review Jan 2023
Jupiter, Florida3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wow 5 stars for such an old historic building it is well maintained, clean, friendly staff and reasonable priced.
Wish there were more advertising to let people know of this place.
I heard it from a friend and decided to book a four day weekend since I was planning my ski trip.
For $120 a night I got a spacious room with a queen size bed , free breakfast which was all freshly made every morning, dinner and the bar was reasonable.
Highly recommend 👌 👍
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Need more advertising (Blowing Rock Hidden Gem)
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
bluetwin2017 wrote a review Mar 2020
Weyauwega, Wisconsin29 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was blown away from the history and elegance behind this hotel. While it was not a new inn, it was comfortable. I felt honored to be walking the halls, dining and sleeping where past generations of prominent historians once stayed. The hotel has three options for eating. Our stay included a free cooked to order full breakfast that was delicious. The bedrooms were enormous, the beds were comfortable and the inn was very quiet.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lorry Mulhern, General Manager at Green Park Inn
Responded 23 Apr 2020
Thank you for staying and we're so glad that you enjoyed the ambient history and breakfast, and that you were comfortable in your room. We appreciate your review and we'd love to see you again!.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris K wrote a review Oct 2021
Madison, Wisconsin7 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
When we made our reservations, we told them we would be bringing our small dog. Upon check in, we reminded them we had our dog (dogs are not allowed in the lobby during check in) and they switched our room. The room was very small, smelly, carpet was stained, tub was grungy, no bathroom vent. Had to open the window to vent the steam. TV did not work. Phone did not work. Dead bolt did not latch due to the door drooping from the hinges. At night it was very cold as the window had a small air conditioner in it which caused a draft and allowed all the traffic noise into the room. Because the phone did not work, we could not call the front desk to request another blanket or to let them know about the smoke alarm in the hallway outside of our room that chirped all night. We were also instructed not to leave our dog unattended in the room which made getting a meal challenging. We could only walk our dog through the lobby to take him outside to relieve himself. We felt very unwelcomed because of our dog who was better behaved than some of the children staying at the Inn. We will not be back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lorry Mulhern, Guest Services / Front Office at Green Park Inn
Responded 28 Jan 2023
We apologize you were disappointed with your stay. You made your reservation through Expedia, who failed to notify us that you were bringing a pet, which is unfortunately a pretty common occurrence when making reservations online or through a travel agent. The room type you booked is the smallest room type we have, as it is advertise online. You stayed with us for 2 nights, and we would not place a guest in a room with so many issues intentionally, and we would have moved you if you'd let us know there were issues in your room any of the times you passed the front desk to take your pet out or to come to and from the hotel. We love having pets at the hotel, and often our staff will make friends with them, but we also have to be aware of guests with pet allergies and the possibility that not all pets will get along with each other.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amy K wrote a review Jul 2020
Charlotte, North Carolina3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful, relaxing experience. We had a very pleasant stay at this historic hotel and enjoyed learning about part of it's history. Of course new hotels are great but how often do you get to stay at a beautiful, old historic inn? We were glad to help support it by staying there. A delicious "made-to-order" breakfast was included with the room rate. There is a patio area out in the back where we shared a bottle of wine and enjoyed the beautiful weather. Right by the downtown of Blowing Rock but much quieter and not as busy. The restaurant's food was very good and the staff were really nice. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Room 318 is supposedly haunted.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lorry Mulhern, General Manager at Green Park Inn
Responded 2 Aug 2020
We were so glad to here that you had a wonderful relaxing experience. Thank you for the kind words regarding our historic inn. We are so glad that you enjoyed your breakfast and the bottle of wine on our patio area. Thank you for taking the time to review us and give a recommendation to stay here. We hope to see you in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Darina B wrote a review May 2021
Raleigh, North Carolina50 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As my second time staying at Green Park Inn, I experienced the most wonderful customer service; they even stored my very expensive bike that I bring with me for cycling on the parkway. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone that appreciates the history and charm of this hotel where you feel like at home. Rooms are spacious and gracious, restaurant and bar are just right (at the bar - I suggest the Greentini with St. Germain Elderflower liquor). Location of Green Park Inn is perfect: minutes from Blue Ridge Parkway where you can hike to local waterfalls or ride your bike, but also close to many other great attractions on the parkway and around Blowing Rock; hotel is easy to find and plenty of parking space.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Green Park Inn Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Green Park Inn
Responded 24 May 2021
Thank you for recommending us! We're glad you felt welcomed by our staff and that we were able to safely store your bike for you during your stay. We appreciate your compliments to our staff, and we'd love to see you on your next cycling adventure!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
T9163CKkathleens wrote a review Mar 2020
Erie, Pennsylvania40 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a night because is sounded quaint. The price was right and included a real breakfast (not holiday inn express self serve). The breakfast was delicious. However the room was very outdated, the curtains tattered and the shower leaky. The beds were so-so and the floors were gross. I think it may be haunted as well. Yet it was full of history and gorgeous hardwood and decor throughout.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Get one of the newer rooms if available
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lorry Mulhern, General Manager at Green Park Inn
Responded 9 Mar 2020
Thank you for your review! We'll be sure to have maintenance tighten the faucet in the shower of the room you were in and check the curtains. We're glad you enjoyed breakfast and history, and appreciate you compliments regarding the decor of the hotel!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Virginia R asked a question Jul 2019
Lewisville, North Carolina111 contributions4 helpful votes
When is breakfast served?
Answer from Larry S
Charlotte, United States26 contributions4 helpful votes
It's different depending on if it is is a weekday or weekend. But it's usually from around 7-9am.
Martha R asked a question May 2018
Are therapy dogs allowed ?
Answer from Lori Dula
Blowing Rock, North Carolina9 contributions5 helpful votes
We have a limited number of pet friendly rooms, and reservations must be made in advance to ensure we have one of those rooms available. We allow dogs under 40 pounds, taking the breed of the dog into consideration. There is a nightly pet fee of $25. Please feel free to call or e-mail our front desk, and we'll be happy to send you a copy of our full pet policy for more details.
scarpenter949 asked a question Apr 2018
North Myrtle Beach, SC45 contributions13 helpful votes
Is thère a smoking area
Answer from LarrJann
Stockbridge, Georgia828 contributions149 helpful votes
We saw people sitting on the porch smoking.
Answer from Ginger L
Charlotte, North Carolina37 contributions12 helpful votes
On their website: Pet Policy Pets are permitted by reservation only! Pet friendly means that we offer a limited number of pet accommodating rooms and no more than 3 pet guests are permitted at any one time. Dogs must be less than 40 pounds, and we apologize that we cannot permit breeds generally considered to be aggressive or unpredictable. Pet fee is $25 per night, and we request a damage deposit of $100 which is fully refundable if no pet damage has occurred. Pets must be leashed at all times, are not permitted to loiter in the public areas of the hotel, and must be picked up after (scooper bags available at front desk!). Please note that unruly or ill-behaved pets or pets that engage in excessive barking may result in they and their owner's being asked to leave the hotel, with no refund made for the day of removal. In addition, pets must be walked in the designated pet area, along Green Hill Road in the upper parking lot. It is hotel policy that dogs may not be left unattended in hotel rooms if this will result in the dog’s barking. While we welcome you and your pet to our hotel we do remind all of our pet owners that the ability to travel with one’s pet is a privilege, not a right. Your cooperation in adhering to these pet rules will ensure that we are able to continue to operate as a “pet friendly property”.
Answer from Lori Dula
Blowing Rock, North Carolina9 contributions5 helpful votes
There are golf courses nearby. The only public course is Boone Golf Club. We also have an arrangement with Linville Land Harbor to allow our guests to play on their course. However, we have just been in touch with both, and neither have opened for the season yet. They suggested trying to find golf courses in Lenoir at this time of year.
Bruce C wrote a tip Apr 2024
5 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beautiful old hotel, running on a shoe-string budget."
Read full review
DayTrip28377769909 wrote a tip Jan 2024
Whitsett, North Carolina2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room not fancy "
Read full review
gsurocks6X wrote a tip Dec 2023
Jesup, Georgia261 contributions32 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try the food at the tavern"
Read full review
elbrujo_ve wrote a tip Nov 2023
Texas231 contributions69 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay away. Ask for a lower floor room and facing the back of the property. Make plans for having your meals away from the hotel"
Read full review
Majmacc wrote a tip Oct 2023
Longs, South Carolina123 contributions66 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this place at all costs. There are plenty of other options in Blowing Rock."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Blowing Rock area.
PRICE RANGE
S$195 - S$266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the green park hotel blowing rock, green park inn, park inn green
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina MountainsBlowing Rock
NUMBER OF ROOMS
65
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GREEN PARK INN: UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 311 Photos (Blowing Rock, NC) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Green Park Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Green Park Inn?
Nearby attractions include Bass Lake (3.5 km), Julian Price Park (7.1 km), and Doc's Rocks Gem Mine (5.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Green Park Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Green Park Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Green Park Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Green Park Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge, Kilwin's, and Gamekeeper Restaurant.
Are pets allowed at Green Park Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Green Park Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Green Park Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Moses H. Cone Memorial Park (4.5 km) and Flat Top Manor (4.5 km).
Is Green Park Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Blowing Rock HotelsBlowing Rock Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Blowing RockHotels near Green Park Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire