We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Boone - University Area, an IHG hotel

Save
Share
1075 Highway 105, Boone, NC 28607-4604
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
US$123
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/03/22
Traveluro
US$113
View deal
Hotels.comUS$123
HolidayInn.comUS$123
eDreamsUS$123
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (70)
Room & Suite (88)
Dining (14)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Boone - University Area, an IHG hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 19 hotels in Boone
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Tucked away in North Carolina's Blue Ridge Mountains, the Baymont Inn and Suites of Boone, NC boasts modern-day amenities in the heart of High Country. Our hotel features 96 spacious rooms on five floors, offering complimentary Internet access, 30-inch flat-panel TVs with HBO, and two room types. Choose from one king or two queen, both of which provide crisp linens, thick mattresses,and custom comforters. **Please note that we are in the process of undergoing a full property renovation in our efforts to be able to provide our guests with the best possible accommodations during their travel. We ask that you Please pardon our dust and noise as our hotel undergoes an exciting renovation to better serve you.**
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range

Location

Full view
79Somewhat walkable
Grade: 79 out of 100
20Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
2Attractionswithin 0.5 km
804Reviews7Q+A60Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 229
  • 228
  • 177
  • 115
  • 55
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
stephtodd1996 wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
We stayed here years ago when it was Baymont. We were not impressed. However, this hotel has been updated, is clean and modern (and does have 2 elevators, although one review said it used to have one??). We loved our stay so much 4th of July that we came back this weekend as well. The pool/hot tub area is very nice, clean sparkling water. Staff are friendly, hard-working, and accommodating. We stayed in a room with a king and trundle beds, and were lacking enough pillows, sheets, and blankets, and all we had to do was stop by the front desk and they immediately provided us with the necessary linens. Also, we arrived in town early. The hotel was not busy, so we asked if we could check in and let our kids swim in the pool. Our room was not ready, but the man at the front desk said he would give us a call as soon as it was ready. They got right to work and called us before 30 minutes had passed!!! So thankful for that, as we really just wanted some down time before visiting Tweetsie today. The only suggestion I could make is more than 3 towels in the bathroom-one child showered and dried her hair, and then we were down to one towel. :) Thank you so much for helping make our hotel stay so pleasant and hassle-free. We will be back! :)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Family_Travelers0 wrote a review Jun 2021
Hope Mills, NC28 contributions19 helpful votes
We were in Boone todo a campus visit at Appalachian State for our youngest. This hotel is very close to the university. This hotel has been with a couple of different chains over the years. We stayed in this hotel 25 years ago when it was a Hampton Inn. Then it was a Baymont Suites, I believe, after that. Now it's owned by IHG. The hotel is decorated nicely and the hallways and rooms are clean and neat. The first room the front desk staff checked us into had not been cleaned when we walked into the room. To be fair, the front desk attendant at the time was new and the computer had indicated that the room was clean. That said, we were promptly booked into a different room and the attendant said they would make it right. The initial way was to return some of the points I had used to pay for the room. As of the date of this review, none had been added back. The second room was very clean and comfortable. Beds were very comfortable. We had no complaints about the room or general common areas during our stay. The indoor pool area is well lit in the evening hours and the hot tub was enjoyable. We had a great night's stay here and would recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
jibarguen wrote a review Oct 2020
Treasure Island, Florida15 contributions3 helpful votes
My daughter and I had a reservation for Friday and Saturday night. We arrived at 3 pm, which is the posted check in time. We were told they were running behind and they’d call us. We left and returned around 4:30 and the room was still not ready. Other guests were also being told their rooms weren’t ready. I understand they were busy, but it was 3 hours before we could check in! The room was just ok but I’m not a fan of the cheap shower(no tub option). I explained that we’d be checking out in the morning and leaving town early...didn’t really want to spend another night, and the manager waived the cancellation fee and offered a $60 rate reduction, which was appreciated. This was in no way a $240 room!! Anyway, we were desperate as the entire town was sold out, but it was a bummer. It’s just a shame we couldn’t stay more nights in our charming Air B&B which was half the price and far superior!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at Holiday Inn Boone - University Area, an IHG hotel
Responded 3 Nov 2020
Hi there, jibarguen! Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I regret that the check-in process did not come out as efficient as we wanted it to be. I know that this is not the accommodation that you were expecting and I'm really sorry. As IHG wants to make your every stay flawless, your thoughts are taken into account. I've shared your comments with our hotel management to be used as a reference to better your next experience with us. Again, thank you for visiting us and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is. Best, Peter J. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Ryan S wrote a review Sep 2020
Raleigh, North Carolina1077 contributions214 helpful votes
Renovated, but still an obvious 80's property based on small nuances like one elevator. Floor in our room had a plastic knife on the floor which tells me house keeping, despite covid-19, is not being thorough. Add to the fact that at 6ft tall the shower head was below my head (I'm 6fy fyi) and the bed was uncomfortable, the only saving grace was that it was newly furnished with a good tv at a good room rate. The shower is reminiscent of hotels in italy. Built for short people exclusively.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at Holiday Inn Boone - University Area, an IHG hotel
Responded 27 Sep 2020
Hello Ryan S, Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to leave us feedback. I am sorry to learn that some in-room amenities didn't work for you. Along with your observations about the level of cleanliness of the room, I have shared your comments with the hotel management. I trust that the actions that will be taken will make your next stays with us better than the last. I hope you stay with us again! Best regards, Clayton G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Dorothy H wrote a review Jul 2020
Concord, North Carolina50 contributions8 helpful votes
I just called customer service and lodged a complaint regarding the manager of this location . I made my reservation via Booking.com. Not once was an incidental fee mentioned to me when I checked in! I checked my card charges this morning, and sure enough a $50.00 incidental fee was charged! Despicable customer service! And because we were not a member we could not check in until 3pm. Seriously, we arrived at 2:15. But that I can live with, what I cannot tolerate is poor communication skills. Manager, if you are afraid to verbally acknowledge policies of the company you are employed by , you are in the wrong business. At 70 and 75 years old what kind of damage could we do? I will not stay in another Holiday Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at Holiday Inn Boone - University Area, an IHG hotel
Responded 2 Aug 2020
Hi dhutch49, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting a candid review. I was very concerned to read your comments about our incidental fee. I understand your dismay, and I am sorry. I hope you understand that incidental fees are a standard and will be refunded after your stay if you did not have any incidental charges. This will be shared with our team so we can come up with ways to be more transparent with our guests when it comes to incidental fees. Thanks again, and I still hope you would give us another chance in the future. Mike F. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$85 - US$266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Baymont by Wyndham Boone Near App State
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina MountainsBoone
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Boone - University Area, an IHG hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Boone - University Area, an IHG hotel?
Nearby attractions include Black bear books (0.3 km) and Boone Mall (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Boone - University Area, an IHG hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Boone - University Area, an IHG hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Boone - University Area, an IHG hotel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Boone - University Area, an IHG hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Boone - University Area, an IHG hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Troy's 105 Diner, Casa Rustica, and Eleven80 Eatery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Boone - University Area, an IHG hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Boone - University Area, an IHG hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Moses H. Cone Memorial Park (5.9 km), Flat Top Manor (6.3 km), and The Jones House Cultural and Community Center (2.0 km).
Is Holiday Inn Boone - University Area, an IHG hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.