Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel

Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel

Traveller (100)
Panorama of the Executive King Suite at the Holiday Inn Express Boone
360
Panoramas (15)
Room type assigned at check in based on availability
Room & Suite (197)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#10 of 16 hotels in Boone
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Award-Winning Boone, NC HotelCrisp mountain air and boundless mountain vistas welcome you to the Holiday Inn Express® Boone hotel. Thanks to our close proximity to businesses and attractions in Boone, NC, our hotel is the ideal choice for any traveler.Vacationers in Boone, NC love that our hotel's near popular spots like the Blue Ridge Parkway. We're also close to the nature preserves of Grandfather Mountain and just minutes from Tweetsie Railroad, a family-favorite Wild West adventure and four area ski resorts. Thrill-seekers can venture to Hawksnest Zip Line for the ride of their life while others enjoy browsing the Mast General Store, where classic mercantile goods and outdoor gear line the shelves.Since we're near organizations like Appalachian State University, Samaritan's Purse and Watauga Medical Center, business travelers appreciate our hotel's location in Boone, NC. In addition, we feature a 1,650-sq-ft meeting room that is perfect for meetings.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Skiing
Kids stay free
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Limited Time Deal on IHG hotels

Location

1943 Blowing Rock Road, Boone, NC 28607
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 76 out of 100
76
Tri-Cities Regional
74.1 km
See all flights
Douglas Airport
126.9 km
See all flights
440Reviews5Q+A84Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 151
  • 175
  • 64
  • 29
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Colin O wrote a review Feb 2023
Indian Land, South Carolina
Hotel's Favourite
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nothing bad to say about this hotel except it was a little outdated, but for our purposes, that didn't matter to us. Everything was clean, staff was nice and it was incredibly quiet at night, especially since there seemed to be a lot of families with young children staying here. Pool is on the smaller side (but nice that they even had one!) so did get a little crowded, but overall, I would highly recommend staying here!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stephanie Roark, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel
Responded 23 Feb 2023
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for our hotel in regard to your recent stay with us and sharing your experience with other travelers. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon when you are back in town.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Oscar L wrote a review Jul 2022
Breda, The Netherlands
3.0 of 5 bubbles
While at a good location between downtown Boone and Blowing Rock, this hotel has seen better days. The rooms, a/c, lighting, outlets, furnishings are badly in need of renovations. The bathroom tub was rusted, there is no thermostat in the room, and no patio furniture on the balconies. The breakfast lacked fresh oatmeal. When asking the attendant if she could clean a table spill a previous guest had left, I was handed a rag. Guess that expresses the attitude towards guests.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stephanie OBrien, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel
Responded 17 Aug 2022
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback in regards to your recent stay. We love hearing back from all of our guests.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SilverStar092 wrote a review Sept 2020
Florida
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in a suite at the end of the hall and found it to be perfect for relaxing. The separate sitting room and kitchen area was appreciated as that gave us space to relax and stretch out. We found everything in good working order and the staff was most hospitable. Our only disappointment was the absence of the delicious HI Express cinnamon rolls due to the pandemic. Definitely a great place to stay and very convenient to everything in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stephanie OBrien, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel
Responded 14 Nov 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for our hotel in regards to your recent stay with us. We love hearing back from all of our guests. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again when you are back in Boone, NC.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travel541683 wrote a review Jan 2021
Nashville, Tennessee
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is clean, updated and is located in the center of town and very close to Appalachian ski resort.
The cleaning staff person was extremely helpful and remembered us when we asked for no cleaning but wanted some fresh towels. The breakfast was simple and Covid safe. And the breakfast hostess was friendly and helpful. The front desk person never greeted us and was usually seated, busy doing a task and needed to be confronted when we needed help.
We visited right after Christmas so prices were very high. However I did book on booking.com and even with taxes included, I expected to pay no more than $225 a night.

Our bill for 1 room, 2 Queens, 2 nights was over $600 !!
Booking. com did not send me an email confirmation which was concerning so I called the hotel and found out that my reservation was confirmed. When I received the bill before checking out, I was very surprised and upset. I spoke to the front desk and was told I would need to speak to the manager but they did not know where she was. I came back an hour later and asked again, waited 10 minutes then finally approached someone I thought might be the manager. She was in fact a manager. She offered to check into the booking but return shortly and offered no discount.
This is a two star hotel and there are many other hotels in the same location priced much better even during high season.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stephanie OBrien, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel
Responded 10 Jan 2021
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for our hotel in regards to your recent stay with us. We love hearing back from all of our guests. I remember speaking with you at the front desk on the day of your departure regarding the rate of your room. As I explained to you during our conversation I was able to find your reservation on the booking.com extranet and verified that the rate that you were charged at the hotel was in fact the rate that you were quoted and booked on Booking.com plus the tax rate of 12.75%. Once a guest books through a third party such as booking.com we at the hotel level are not allowed to change the rate since you booked through the third party and they make commission based on the rate that you booked with them. We hope to see you again in the future when you are back in Boone, NC.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tim R wrote a review Sept 2023
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff wasn’t very friendly upon checking in. Lobby looked like it was in some form of an attempt of a remodel. The bathroom floor as well as the tv table top and desk top were sticky like they needed a good scrubbing. Furniture was all beat up and stained as well as curtains being dirty and damaged. Stain on ceiling and bathroom needs a good thorough cleaning not just a quick wipe down. Fridge made loud annoying noises all night while it was running. The worst holiday inn I’ve ever stayed at.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Find somewhere else to stay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stephanie Roark, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel
Responded 19 Sept 2023
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback in regard to your visit. We value all guest feedback and use it to better our service to all of our guest. We are in the beginning stages or our renovation to make things better for all of our guests. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MiddleTennessee wrote a review Aug 2021
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Gosh this IHG property is in severe need of renovation! Where do I begin??

1. Old-style room air conditioner with standard Heat/Cool, Fan Hi/Low controls. No thermostat in the room, which made it difficult maintaining a good temperature. The A/C unit hasn't been cleaned in years as evidenced by debris and dust collecting inside the screen (see my attached photo)

2. Very sticky desk and table surfaces

3. Blood stain on one pillow

4. Liquid stains under chair cushion and on box spring/bed foundation

5. Mold spots on ceiling of bathtub (see photo)

6. Shower curtain rod sags so much that the shower curtain will not stay in place and water sprays onto the bathroom floor

7. Crusting mineral deposits on shower head (see photo)

8. Two light bulbs were out - one of the two bathroom lights, and one of the four room lights.

If this HIE charged less, I might give them a break, but it is not the standard of quality I have come to expect from the HIE level of IHG properties. I would put this HIE in the same category as a Motel 6, Super 8 or America's Best Value Motel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stephanie OBrien, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel
Responded 27 Aug 2021
hank you for providing feedback in regards to your recent stay. We like hearing back from all of our guests. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was anything less than satisfactory. I will be sure to address your concerns with our housekeeping department to ensure that this does not happen again in the future. I do hope that you will give us another chance to serve you again in the future and allow us an opportunity to provide you with the service and quality that you deserve and expect from us
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Clemson80 wrote a review Jun 2021
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location, if you are traveling the Blue Ridge Parkway and just need a place to sleep. There is a pretty good barbeque place next door. Olivia working the front desk was very sweet and cordial. She said she would work on the one problem that we had with the room, which was the lack of a Gideon placed Bible. The precious Word of God has prevented many suicides in hotel rooms around the world. It should be essential.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stephanie OBrien, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel
Responded 24 Jun 2021
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for our hotel in regards to your recent stay with us. We love hearing back from all of our guests. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon when you are back in Boone, NC.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TrustedAgent wrote a review Oct 2023
Charlotte, North Carolina
3.0 of 5 bubbles
If you come across this review I hope it helps you make an informed choice where to stay. We stayed for an App St. football game, and like every single other hotel in the Boone area, the rates on football games are insanely high (2-3 times a normal rate). This hotel's rates are not quite as high as others for a reason: this hotel is in desperate need of a remodel, so if you book a stay knowing that and set your expectations you shouldn’t have any issue. They are very open about a forthcoming remodel so it is no surprise.

However, with that said, I do expect at a bare minimum the room to be at least clean which was not the case for my stay. The furniture in the room was disgustingly dirty to where I wouldn’t even sit on it which was unacceptable - regardless of a pending remodel. I brought the issue to the attention of the hotel staff and they resolved my issue to my satisfaction.

If your expectations are that the room, furniture, etc. are at least clean enough to use, and you are paying the rates this hotel is charging - just be aware you might be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stephanie Roark, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel
Responded 16 Oct 2023
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for our hotel in regard to your recent stay with us. We love hearing back from all of our guests. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon when you are back in Boone, NC.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kim M wrote a review Jun 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Beware POOL IS NOT OPEN!
We booked this hotel from the IHG App because it had a pool. When we arrived they never said one thing about their pool not even being opened this year. So when we went to check out the pool we were very surprised and disappointed. They did absolutely nothing to compensate us for this. No upgraded room, nada! When we asked if there was an area where we could sit outside we were directed to a small bench outside the door. We asked why we weren’t told about the closure prior to booking. The reply was it is on our website. Who uses a website when booking a hotel room while traveling?? We could have saved about $50 and stayed elsewhere. This was paid for in advance so not much we could do.
My advice- skip this place and stay somewhere cheaper. The extra money spent was a complete waste. IHG really dropped the ball on this one.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Check before booking to see which amenities they say they will provide and do not!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stephanie OBrien, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel
Responded 17 Aug 2022
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback in regards to your stay. I apologize that the pool was not open during your stay. We had some minor things that needed to be taken care of and also were waiting on the Health Department to come out and complete our pool inspection prior to opening. I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you and your family again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ChevalierdeNavire wrote a review Oct 2022
Cary, North Carolina
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Boone, NC, Holiday Inn Express.

Bottom line: Don't stay here.

Probably a good place 20 years ago. My wife and I spent 3 days here. We made arrangement for late check in. Staff was friendly and helpful. Our room has obviously not been checked for occupancy. Bedside lamp was out, bedroom TV table had a light layer of dust. Bed was not properly made. Tiles over the bathroom sink were falling in, shower curtain was too short. Shower was missing tiles.

Living room TV programming was out of date and unsatisfactory. Living room chairs had spots where the fabric had worn through. The bedside phone did not work, and no one responded to our trouble call about the phone. There are no spare phones in the hotel!

Tip: Check the room before saying it is ready.

Recommendation: It appears that some of the staff have given up on maintaining a level of excellence, and are waiting for the place to be upgraded. Maintenance can fix the bad tiles. The shower curtain can be replaced. TV programming can be updated. Someone can go get another working telephone. Someone in authority with attention to detail can go around and get things fixed.

WKG
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: This hotel is in a vacation spot and in demand. Shop around early and pick a different place.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stephanie OBrien, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel
Responded 18 Oct 2022
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback in regard to your recent stay. I will be sure to check the room that you were in while you were here and have our maintenance staff take a look as well so that we can replace the items that you mentioned. We value all feedback. I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the future when you are back in town.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
luvnabby asked a question Mar 2022
Morehead City, North Carolina312 contributions41 helpful votes
When was this hotel built? Has it ever been remodeled or renovated?
Patty W asked a question Jul 2021
Is the pool open?
Answer from Stephanie
Boone, North Carolina5 contributions2 helpful votes
yes it is
Answer from ZenHealer7
Asheville, North Carolina2,251 contributions1,688 helpful vote
No. Keep your animals in the zoo.
Answer from Stephanie
Boone, North Carolina5 contributions2 helpful votes
Yes, we accept service animals. Please advise the front desk at check-in so our staff will be aware. We look forward to your visit.
Answer from Stephanie
Boone, North Carolina5 contributions2 helpful votes
Yes, he is most certainly welcome. Please let our front desk staff know at check in so we can inform our staff. However, service animals are not allowed to be left in a guest room without their accompanying person.
Michael S wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms not clean . Mold all over shower. "
Read full review
Wayne S wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The staff is wonderful and the facilities are immaculate. On tge main road in town and walking distance to many restaurants."
Read full review
Vicki S wrote a tip Oct 2023
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Elevator is super slow!!"
Read full review
Tim R wrote a tip Sept 2023
16 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Find somewhere else to stay"
Read full review
v0lfan wrote a tip Sept 2023
Tennessee3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Would recommend this Hotel. Nice place to stay."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Boone area.
PRICE RANGE
S$156 - S$280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express boone hotel boone, holiday inn boone, boone holiday inn express
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina MountainsBoone
NUMBER OF ROOMS
129
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS BOONE, AN IHG HOTEL (S̶$̶1̶8̶5̶) S$154: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 316 Photos (NC) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Cornerstone Bookstore (0.1 km), High Country Lanes (0.4 km), and Walmart Supercenter (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mint Cuisine of India, Coyote Kitchen, and Stick Boy Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Moses H. Cone Memorial Park (6.5 km), Flat Top Manor (6.3 km), and The Jones House Cultural and Community Center (3.3 km).
Does Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Boone HotelsBoone Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BooneHotels near Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire