We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
1943 Blowing Rock Road, Boone, NC 28607
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$126
Booking.comUS$126
TravelocityUS$126
PricelineUS$126
IHGUS$126
Lol.travelUS$150
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (62)
360
Panoramas (15)
Room & Suite (196)

About

#9 of 18 hotels in Boone
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Award-Winning Boone, NC HotelCrisp mountain air and boundless mountain vistas welcome you to the Holiday Inn Express® Boone hotel. Thanks to our close proximity to businesses and attractions in Boone, NC, our hotel is the ideal choice for any traveler.Vacationers in Boone, NC love that our hotel's near popular spots like the Blue Ridge Parkway. We're also close to the nature preserves of Grandfather Mountain and just minutes from Tweetsie Railroad, a family-favorite Wild West adventure and four area ski resorts. Thrill-seekers can venture to Hawksnest Zip Line for the ride of their life while others enjoy browsing the Mast General Store, where classic mercantile goods and outdoor gear line the shelves.Since we're near organizations like Appalachian State University, Samaritan's Purse and Watauga Medical Center, business travelers appreciate our hotel's location in Boone, NC. In addition, we feature a 1,650-sq-ft meeting room that is perfect for meetings.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Skiing
Kids stay free
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Vending machine
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Green
Languages Spoken
English
426Reviews5Q+A79Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 148
  • 173
  • 61
  • 26
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Rahn N wrote a review Jan 2023
Boone, North Carolina169 contributions93 helpful votes
The hotel is in horrible, unmaintained condition. The appearance on the outside is deceiving. We booked this hotel for family to stay there for a birthday party in Boone recently. The list of problems was long. It was the cheapest hotel at the time of peak ski season, but it wasn’t “cheap” by any means. We extremely overpaid here at almost $300/room. Where to begin: -One of our rooms had a door that didn’t lock on the outside. The only way to lock it was from the inside deadbolt. Huge security risk here. -Toilet wouldn’t flush and water pressure was low in bathroom -None of the hotel phones in the rooms worked. -Furniture was in very poor condition. Chair was so wobbly it wouldn’t stand on its own. Dried gum was on a desktop. The list goes on and on. -The room was so dirty that you could see where housekeeping vacuumed and didn’t. They just vacuumed a straight line in front of the bed/dresser from the front door to the balcony door. -Dust coated the furnishings. -The bathroom vent appeared to have black mold all over it. -Floor tiles were cracked or broken in the elevator hallways and main lobby area. -Window was broken out at the hotel backside entrance and boarded up. And the first sign upon arrival this would be a bad experience… The main entrance to the lobby was closed off. Apparently a pipe burst a month prior and it still hadn’t been repaired. A month later. So to enter the hotel you have to go through a small single door at the pool. And they didn’t have luggage carts probably because it wouldn’t fit through the entrance. The staff were all friendly and polite. Although there was no way to fix the electronic card swipe lock which didn’t lock. That’s definitely a problem. We will never book here again after experiencing all of that unfortunately. Only gave 2 stars for the staff, and the breakfast was decent too.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie OBrien, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for providing feedback in regard to your recent stay. I apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory. We strive for all of our guests to be completely satisfied with their stay. We are in the process of getting new doors for the front of the building. They were damaged during a winter storm that we had in December. Unfortunately, this was not something that our maintenance department could repair. We had to order a completely new door and are having to wait for the delivery and lead time. Did you let anyone know about the door of your room not locking properly? We would have been more than happy to send maintenance up there to take a look at it or move the room for you. I do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Destination791783 wrote a review Oct 2022
Chesapeake, Virginia23 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel looks nice from the outside but outdated inside. Our room is big and roomy but everything says its old but clean. Beds are very comfortable as well as pillows and linens. Breakfast was included and food is ok.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie OBrien, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel
Responded 18 Oct 2022
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback in regard to your recent stay. We are looking forward to our renovation to begin next year. I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the future when you are back in town.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ChevalierdeNavire wrote a review Oct 2022
Cary, North Carolina20 contributions10 helpful votes
My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Boone, NC, Holiday Inn Express. Bottom line: Don't stay here. Probably a good place 20 years ago. My wife and I spent 3 days here. We made arrangement for late check in. Staff was friendly and helpful. Our room has obviously not been checked for occupancy. Bedside lamp was out, bedroom TV table had a light layer of dust. Bed was not properly made. Tiles over the bathroom sink were falling in, shower curtain was too short. Shower was missing tiles. Living room TV programming was out of date and unsatisfactory. Living room chairs had spots where the fabric had worn through. The bedside phone did not work, and no one responded to our trouble call about the phone. There are no spare phones in the hotel! Tip: Check the room before saying it is ready. Recommendation: It appears that some of the staff have given up on maintaining a level of excellence, and are waiting for the place to be upgraded. Maintenance can fix the bad tiles. The shower curtain can be replaced. TV programming can be updated. Someone can go get another working telephone. Someone in authority with attention to detail can go around and get things fixed. WKG
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: This hotel is in a vacation spot and in demand. Shop around early and pick a different place.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie OBrien, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel
Responded 18 Oct 2022
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback in regard to your recent stay. I will be sure to check the room that you were in while you were here and have our maintenance staff take a look as well so that we can replace the items that you mentioned. We value all feedback. I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the future when you are back in town.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pavle K wrote a review Aug 2022
Skopje, Republic of North Macedonia159 contributions64 helpful votes
Clean hotel, basic breakfast, good size rooms. The Internet was very good. A lot of good eateries around, Also decent shopping possibilities. It was easy to get in and out of parking. THe staff at the front desk was helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: It is better if the room doesn't look on the parking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie OBrien, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel
Responded 18 Oct 2022
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback in regard to your recent stay with us. We love hearing back from all of our guests. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon when you are back in Boone, NC.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
firebear1961 wrote a review Aug 2022
Clayton, North Carolina1116 contributions329 helpful votes
My wife had to be intown for work and this hotel was assigned to her. The hotel was easy to find, staff was very nice. All in all was great place. close to some good food. Breakfast was very nice good selection.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie OBrien, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel
Responded 17 Aug 2022
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. We love hearing back from all of our guests. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon when you are back in Boone, NC.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Willem K wrote a review Jul 2022
961 contributions200 helpful votes
Our family stayed here for 2 nights while visiting the Highland Games. Rooms were spacious with particularly impressive bath tub. Breakfast was decent. The pool looked a little silly - almost better not to have one than to have one this small. Plenty of parking.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie OBrien, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel
Responded 17 Aug 2022
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. We love hearing back from all of our guests. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon when you are back in Boone, NC.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Oscar L wrote a review Jul 2022
Breda, The Netherlands43 contributions6 helpful votes
While at a good location between downtown Boone and Blowing Rock, this hotel has seen better days. The rooms, a/c, lighting, outlets, furnishings are badly in need of renovations. The bathroom tub was rusted, there is no thermostat in the room, and no patio furniture on the balconies. The breakfast lacked fresh oatmeal. When asking the attendant if she could clean a table spill a previous guest had left, I was handed a rag. Guess that expresses the attitude towards guests.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie OBrien, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel
Responded 17 Aug 2022
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback in regards to your recent stay. We love hearing back from all of our guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BlacknGoldtraveler wrote a review Jun 2022
Sarver, Pennsylvania96 contributions89 helpful votes
Service was very good, ample parking. Lobby area and breakfast room were clean and suitable for about 50. The food is the same as all HIE, and also above average. The room had a few issues. It definitely needed a facelift. Small tv, no usb charger ports, no fan in the bathroom. The shower curtain rod was sagging bad. The bed was comfortable. We will be visiting Boone quite often to visit our daughter at App state. This hotel will be a 4th or 5th choice.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie OBrien, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel
Responded 17 Aug 2022
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback in regards to your recent stay. We love hearing back from all of our guests. We are planning a full renovation at the beginning of the year. We hope to see you again in the future when you are back in town.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kim M wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
Beware POOL IS NOT OPEN! We booked this hotel from the IHG App because it had a pool. When we arrived they never said one thing about their pool not even being opened this year. So when we went to check out the pool we were very surprised and disappointed. They did absolutely nothing to compensate us for this. No upgraded room, nada! When we asked if there was an area where we could sit outside we were directed to a small bench outside the door. We asked why we weren’t told about the closure prior to booking. The reply was it is on our website. Who uses a website when booking a hotel room while traveling?? We could have saved about $50 and stayed elsewhere. This was paid for in advance so not much we could do. My advice- skip this place and stay somewhere cheaper. The extra money spent was a complete waste. IHG really dropped the ball on this one.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Check before booking to see which amenities they say they will provide and do not!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie OBrien, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel
Responded 17 Aug 2022
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback in regards to your stay. I apologize that the pool was not open during your stay. We had some minor things that needed to be taken care of and also were waiting on the Health Department to come out and complete our pool inspection prior to opening. I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you and your family again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Majedma10 wrote a review Mar 2022
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia471 contributions118 helpful votes
Clean room and bathroom. Receptionist was welcoming & friendly, but during check-in I wasn’t recognized as Spire elite member. Breakfast was good with variety of options. Parking space is big. Many restaurants around the hotel also big shopping mall. Many attraction near by on the Blue Ridge area.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie OBrien, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel
Responded 17 Mar 2022
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and was able to partake in some of the many attractions and local things to do while in town. I apologize that your Spire Elite status was not recognized at check in, we do appreciate your loyalty to our brand. I will be sure to speak with our front desk associates and remind them of the importance of recognizing this status for all of our guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon when you are back in Boone, NC.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$101 - US$203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express boone hotel boone, holiday inn boone, boone holiday inn express
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina MountainsBoone
NUMBER OF ROOMS
129
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS BOONE, AN IHG HOTEL: UPDATED 2023 Reviews, Price Comparison and 263 Photos (NC) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Cornerstone Bookstore (0.1 km) and 10 High Country Lanes (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mint Cuisine of India, Coyote Kitchen, and Stick Boy Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Moses H. Cone Memorial Park (5.9 km), Flat Top Manor (6.3 km), and The Jones House Cultural and Community Center (3.3 km).
Does Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.