We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
47497 NC Highway 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Lowest prices for your stay
US$104
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$104
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.comUS$104
TravelocityUS$104
PricelineUS$104
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (67)
Room & Suite (29)
Pool & Beach (6)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 30/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 30/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 6 hotels in Buxton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Cape Pines Motel on Hatteras is in the beautiful Outer Banks of North Carolina. We are a small family owned and operated establishment, offering clean, comfortable rooms at a moderate price. Our rooms are so clean you would think your mother works here! Nestled in the heart of the quiet village of Buxton and situated in the midst of Cape Hatteras National Seashore, our guests are able to enjoy over 100 miles of clean, white sand beach as well as easy access to shopping, sightseeing, and the wide variety of activities offered by the Outer Banks, such as OBX charter fishing in the Gulf Stream, surf fishing, OBX windsurfing at Canadian Hole, board surfing, kite-surfing, swimming, birding, shelling and kite flying.Bring the whole family - we offer a complete range of accommodations from motel rooms to suites with living rooms. And there is no need to leave Fido home alone! Pets are welcome in designated rooms (advance reservations necessary), limit 2 pets per room with applicable pet fee. We look forward to welcoming you to Cape Pine Motel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Complimentary tea
Canoeing
Diving
Children's television networks
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Vending machine
Hiking
Horseback riding
Mini golf
Snorkelling
Windsurfing
Fishing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Telephone
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
368Reviews11Q+A77Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 219
  • 104
  • 31
  • 7
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
delawarevisitor2018 wrote a review Sep 2022
Newark, Delaware11 contributions
It was hard to find a reasonably priced motel on the Outer Banks but Cape Pines has a decent price. Our room was very clean and spacious and the beds were comfortable. The man at the front desk was helpful and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from D Shah, General Manager at Cape Pines Motel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for praising our efforts!! We love it when our guests leave happy.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jessica C wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Always a great stay at the Cape Pines! It’s not fancy but it’s clean, has cold A/C, comfy beds, and the rooms are spacious. The staff are always ready to meet any needs or requests you have. Perfect location! Walk across the street to Conners for any grocery needs and lots of great restaurants just down the street!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from D Shah, General Manager at Cape Pines Motel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you Jessica for your kind words. Your family is awesome as well. Thank you for being loyal Cape Pines Guest. See you again next year!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BeaPA wrote a review Aug 2022
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania135 contributions39 helpful votes
We had a large clean room, with a table and chairs. Outlets for the electronics and lots of room for our clothing etc. The pool is clean and you are only about a half mile from a beach entrance, We will go back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from D Shah, General Manager at Cape Pines Motel
Responded 22 Aug 2022
Thank you very much for your business. We appreciate your review recognizing our team efforts. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay at Cape Pines Motel. We hope to see you soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephane F wrote a review Aug 2022
Scottsdale, Arizona4 contributions2 helpful votes
This is an extraordinary motel. It may appear in pictures to be fairly standard, but it is special. The owners are loving, cheerful people who look for little ways to dote on their guests. And the rooms are clean and classic. There's a grocery store just across the street. There's are two fabulous breakfast joints (the Orange Blossom and Diamond Shoals) a minute or two away by car. And best of all, your fellow hotel guests are really friendly. It's just one of those hotels that feels really special, and when you meet your neighbors, it's like everybody knows how special the place is and shares the good vibes. Oh, and it's dog-friendly, too. Great little area out back to run the dogs in, and there's a nice quiet side street next to the hotel if you want a slightly longer walk. Last thing: The Parking is easy. I go with my trailer every year, and I never have problems.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Make sure you mention it if you're traveling with dogs. They've got rooms set aside for you.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from D Shah, General Manager at Cape Pines Motel
Responded 7 Aug 2022
Our goal is to have every guest enjoy the best time during their stay - what makes us achieve this goal is guests like you. Cape Pines is adored by kind, caring, loving, and loyal guests. You arrived as a guest and departed as a lifelong friend. Having Peluche and Soleil, guests with paws, was an added bonus. We will cherish memories for lifetime, especially Rummykub and star gazing. "making guests happy, makes us happy." Unknown.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
henry024 wrote a review Jul 2022
Tarrytown, New York146 contributions31 helpful votes
This is an old-fashioned motel, and that's great. The room has wood paneling and a hard wood floor. It is very clean and neat and well kept up. Stepping into the room is like going back in time 25 years - -which I think is great. The bathroom is fine and up-to-date. There is a desk, which I appreciate. The beds were comfortable. The property is fairly large. They have a great place to take a dog for a walk and provide pooper bags. There is a nice looking swimming pool that was being used and looked fine. We didn't use it. There are a couple picnic tables, which we used. The location in Buxton is good. There are a few negatives. The room is rather small. (We didn't really care.) The parking lot is small and could be a problem if you have a big 4-wheel drive truck. The TV had about fifty stations but half of them had very poor fuzzy reception.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from D Shah, General Manager at Cape Pines Motel
Responded 2 Aug 2022
Thank you so very much for your review and rating! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you had brought fuzzy reception to our attention during your stay, however we will look in to it. Plenty of parking at the end of courtyard to fit 4 wheel truck!! Thank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda W wrote a review Jul 2022
Raleigh, North Carolina4 contributions
This is a gem in Buxton, NC! Quaint, not fancy, but clean and located 3 minutes from the Cape Hatteras beach. The staff is amazing. Very reasonable rates. Plus pool and outdoor shower to rinse off the sand. Recommend!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from D Shah, General Manager at Cape Pines Motel
Responded 2 Aug 2022
Linda, Thank you for appreciating our efforts! We really appreciate your warm and kind words. We hope to host you in future:)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Candice S wrote a review Jun 2022
Powhatan, Virginia2 contributions
We have been traveling to the outer banks since the early nineties and in the last few years, have been staying in the Hatteras area as we love the ability to drive and park right on the beach. Cape Pines is a wonderful little mom and pop gem tucked right in the center of Buxton, near a local grocer and restaurants. We've always stayed in the pet friendly courtyard rooms, which are all nicely appointed with various bedding options. All have at a minimum small fridges and coffee makers and come with front and back windows and outdoor clothes lines on each room's front porch. There are grills available for cooking as well as plenty of picnic tables, spread throughout the property. The pool has beautiful landscaping around it along with plenty of lounging and seating options. Most importantly, the service is EXCEPTIONAL. We are always warmly greeted when we arrive for our " next stay" and if we are arriving late, the owner calls us to ensure our trip down is going smoothly and advises about how to obtain our keys after hours. Often times, we book the same room and as always, at a very reasonable cost. If we are fortunate enough, we see familiar visitors that have traveled and stayed there before too. So nice to be able to feel at home. Whether it's for a "pre-game" stay ahead of your week in the Hatteras area, or for a long weekend, we cannot recommend Cape Pines highly enough!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from D Shah, General Manager at Cape Pines Motel
Responded 16 Jun 2022
Thank you for your touching and warm words. Your note means the world to us, coming as it does from such a joyful person. Your review reminds us of why we pour our passion into our work. It is our privilege to have guests who quietly become old friends. And indeed, we're already looking forward to your next stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Willy wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
We enjoyed our stay and our room was clean and quiet. Management/Owners very friendly and helpful. I left my fishing rods in parking lot (not my finest moment) and owners went out of their way to figure out the rods were mine, reach out, and then ship them to me. Will stay again next time I visit. Thanks, Willy
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from D Shah, General Manager at Cape Pines Motel
Responded 12 Sep 2021
Your gear was found by one of our guests and brought it to the front desk, we are very thankful to wonderful guests that go out of their way for us. It was our duty to do the rest. Thank you for your appreciation. We sure would love to have you back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mudduck77 wrote a review Jul 2021
Vaughan, North Carolina117 contributions31 helpful votes
Our family stayed for a week at the last minute in July. The owners were extremely friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and functional. Location is convenient to the entire lower part of Hatteras Island. This is not a luxury hotel, but if you are looking for a friendly, reasonably priced, convenient location on HI, then look no further. This is the spot!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The parking on the left side of the hotel is “No head in parking,” that means to back your...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dipti Shah, General Manager at Cape Pines Motel
Responded 13 Jul 2021
Thank you so much for staying with us and having a good time at Cape Pines Motel. Your kind words help our team work even harder to help our guests have a great stay. We hope to see you in future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kevin wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Cape Pines has become my new go-to for starting my annual stay in Hatteras. I stay here for a couple days before my rental home becomes open on Sunday. Each time I have stayed here, the motel is clean, comfortable, and welcoming. As if driving by the beautiful dunes did not say "You're at the beach" enough, you are welcomed in the lobby by a beachy-themed, pet friendly lobby. Their friendly staff that makes you feel welcome and is eager to accommodate. Both times I have stayed here, the rooms have been exceptionally clean and look freshly renovated. They have a clean look and smell, and talking to the owners, they pride themselves on staying up to date with the latest in cleaning protocol due to COVID. All the usual amenities are present and functional (desk, internet, coffee maker, refrigerator, and such.) The room had plenty of sun if you wanted it, or plenty of privacy if you didn't. If pets are allowed at the hotel you would not know it. It seems they have separate sections for pet owners and non-owners. While I didn't bring a pet myself, the dog walk area was very nice. There is a fish-cleaning station that doubled for me as a place to rinse off my kite equipment, and it was clean and tidy. I always bring my jet ski, and they have a nice, convenient place to park it that the staff was eager to show me and help me with. It was easy to turn around on the not-so-busy street and park securely. This place is a great value for the money, clean, friendly, and accommodating. The owners really care about the quality of your stay and are eager to help with anything you need. It's all you can ask for to have a great OBX vacation at the beach!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Dipti Shah, General Manager at Cape Pines Motel
Responded 4 Apr 2021
Thank you for your kind words of appreciation, it makes our efforts worthwhile. Thank you for staying with us, we value your business. We look forward to serving you soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$106 - US$129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cape pines hotel buxton, cape pines buxton
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina CoastOuter BanksHatteras IslandBuxton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cape Pines Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Cape Pines Motel?
Nearby attractions include Canadian Hole (1.1 km), Uncle Eddy's Frozen Custard and 18-Hole Mini Golf (1.0 km), and Buxton Village Books (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cape Pines Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Cape Pines Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Cape Pines Motel?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Cape Pines Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cape Pines Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Buxton Munch Company, Diamond Shoals Restaurant & Seafood Market, and Orange Blossom Bakery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cape Pines Motel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Cape Pines Motel?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Cape Pines Motel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Cape Pines Motel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Cape Pines Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cape Hatteras Lighthouse (1.9 km).