We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cape Pines Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Cape Pines Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

282 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cape Pines Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 280: English reviews
pittsburgh pa
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Quant Motel in a great location on the plus side, but in much need of some TLC. Disappointing as we were just there a year ago. The room we had a very dark - dated décor. Last year we had a full kitchen which I thought we would have again this year , but only had a microwave and a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank razayes
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this review

We're disappointed this was your impression of us -- especially since you really enjoyed your stay last visit. You have not booked a suite this year which would have a full kitchen, but a regular room with a microwave and a small fridge. We are surprised that you did not report a non-functioning refrigerator. Small fridges take time to cool...

Reviewed 9 July 2016

We wanted an option this year for an early arrival onto the island. I did some digging, and really could not find too many pet friendly hotels. We always rent a beach house that accepts pets. Cape Pines does! No, this is not the Waldorf Astoria!! (yes....I have stayed there), but it much like being home! We booked suite 12....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy P
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this review

You're so welcome, Amy! It's just wonderful that you, Hunter, and Isabelle really enjoyed your stay. Can't wait to see you next year! All the best, Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Kennesaw, Georgia
Reviewed 3 July 2016

My wife and I were completely happy with the room. The beds were comfortable and the price was very fair for the beach in June. We were close to beach access either way when we left the hotel, plenty of places to eat and a great grocery store directly across the street for the late night snacks. We will return...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pjosephprice
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this review

It's wonderful you and your wife had a pleasant stay here! We look forward to welcoming you back. All the best, Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Plymouth, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 July 2016

There is much good to say about this motel. Rooms exceptionally clan, remodel tasteful, location prime. But a couple hings ruined a goodly part of our stay. On the second evening of a three night stay, a pacl of local teens descended on the pool, discouraging use by guests such as us. On the third day,a neighbor wacked out on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank news985
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this review

Again, we want to apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused. As soon as we were made aware of the situation, we took the appropriate action to make sure she wouldn't bother our guests again. Sincerely, Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Perry Hall, Maryland
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

Triple make sure your belongings are in tow upon checkout or they're gone for good. We stayed 2 nights and left an expensive beach towel behind. In a hurry to checkout, we forgot it and called the following morning expecting the staff would have found it as it was left in the most obvious of places inside the room. In...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MomOf2SillyBoys
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this review

This is the last impression we'd want to leave for any of our guests. We've had people leave things like phone chargers before, and every time we've made an effort to return lost items to them. If we did find your beach towel, rest assured that Monica would have been the first to tell you. We are still wondering, though,...

Baltimore
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

We traveled with our dog. Nice small place with a pool. Clean and updated on interior. Staff was very friendly and accommodating Location was close and convenient to area places for breakfast , lunch and dinner. Only a short drive to other towns. Lighthouse is a nice jog in the morning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FamilyGuy21128
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this review

It's great that you and your pup had a pleasant stay with us! We can't wait to welcome you back next time you're in for another lighthouse jog. All the best, Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Hot Springs, Arkansas
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

It is a convenient location across the street from a grocery store. Overall, it was ok but would probably try somewhere else next time. While it was very clean, it didn't smell very good and the beds were not that comfortable. The bathroom was VERY small and it seemed that the shower head was only functioning on one side. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LisaTravelTime
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this review

We're sorry if you didn't feel totally comfortable here, Lisa. Cleanliness is certainly a top priority of ours, so we would have looked into the smell if you brought it up to us. Likewise, we would have absolutely looked into the shower head. Still, we hope that you did have a relaxing trip here. Thanks for staying at our place....

Gloucester, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 June 2016

Rooms were very clean and it smelled like Coconut when we came in. Beds were comfy and it had a convenient location, with a Supermarket across the street. It's also pet friendly which is hard to find! Enjoyed my stay and would stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patricekelly
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this review

It's so wonderful you enjoyed your stay, Patrice! We try to keep things as clean as possible, so we're glad you found that here. Can't wait to welcome you back! All the best, Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Ozark, Missouri
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

Camp Pines Hotel was the most reasonable place I could find in Buxton. Room was clean and comfortable. Location near supermarket, restaurants, and ocean made it convenient. Dogs are allowed for $10 per night. I would stay there again. Friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gladewalker
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this review

It's tough to top a comfortable place at a good price, so we're glad you found both of that here! We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Hatteras. All the best, Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

Cape Pines Motel is a quaint, gem discovered on trip advisor. Our room was clean, updated bathroom comfortable. Pool great, propane & charcoal grills, convenient access to the ORV ramps/ocean grocery store across the street pet friendly, discovered a trail behind the motel leading to a neat gift shop. We will stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia O
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this review

This review's simply a treasure! We're so thrilled you enjoyed your visit to Hatteras, Julia -- can't wait to welcome you back. All the best, Angie & Bill R.- Owners

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
1.1 km away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
3.3 km away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
15.6 km away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 12 in Hatteras Island
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
261 reviews
1.3 km away
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motel
#5 of 6 in Buxton
136 reviews
15.0 km away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cape Pines Motel on Hatteras is in the beautiful Outer Banks of North Carolina. We are a small family owned and operated establishment, offering clean, comfortable rooms at a moderate price. Our rooms are so clean you would think your mother works here! Nestled in the heart of the quiet village of Buxton and situated in the midst of Cape Hatteras National Seashore, our guests are able to enjoy over 100 miles of clean, white sand beach as well as easy access to shopping, sightseeing, and the wide variety of activities offered by the Outer Banks, such as OBX charter fishing in the Gulf Stream, surf fishing, OBX windsurfing at Canadian Hole, board surfing, kite-surfing, swimming, birding, shelling and kite flying.Bring the whole family - we offer a complete range of accommodations from motel rooms to suites with living rooms. And there is no need to leave Fido home alone! Pets are welcome in designated rooms (advance reservations necessary), limit 2 pets per room with applicable pet fee. We look forward to welcoming you to Cape Pine Motel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cape Pines Motel

Address: 47497 NC Highway 12, Buxton, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Price Range: $117 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cape Pines Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Cape Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Pines Hotel Buxton
Cape Pines Buxton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cape Pines Motel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Marshall, MO
over a year ago
5 months ago
Oakland, MI
10 months ago
Suffield, Connecticut
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Cape Pines Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms looked good from what we could see”
 of 5 bubbles 23SusanC, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“With a pet # 8, two doubles, is closest to the pet area.”
 of 5 bubbles 433pierrej, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Every room on the first floor has a little bench outside your door which we used to dry our towels.”
 of 5 bubbles sober42, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you want a really cold room, ask for room 25!”
 of 5 bubbles honeyandwolfe, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Depending on your needs and # in your group-You have several options to pick from.”
 of 5 bubbles Y2482MFjanes, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay