Graduate Chapel Hill

Graduate Chapel Hill

Whimsy on the furniture! UNC's mascot is the Ram.
Traveller (162)
Room & Suite (78)
French toast breakfast
Dining (5)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#4 of 17 hotels in Chapel Hill
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

This luxurious, destination hotel in the heart of downtown Chapel Hill, offers a personalized experience like no other.

This stylish hotel offers a sought after retreat in the heart of a vibrant city. Enjoy close proximity to numerous, bars, restaurants, shops, attractions and businesses in downtown Chapel Hill. Work out in the fully equipped fitness center, enjoy a round of golf at the nearby UNC Finley Golf Course, and enjoy complimentary WiFi throughout your stay.

Our personable and caring staff will make you feel at home and strive to create an unforgettable experience. Retreat to your luxurious guest room or suite and take in the view from your private balcony. And if you need a place to relax and be yourself outside of your room, join us in Refuge, our newly renovated cocktail bar on the first floor.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Kids stay free
Conference facilities
Paid private parking on-site
Car park
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Outdoor dining area
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Rate:Lowest Rate Available

Location

311 West Franklin St., Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 85 out of 100
85
Raleigh-Durham Airport
24.9 km
See all flights
970Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 724
  • 142
  • 58
  • 29
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Charlotte W wrote a review Jul 2022
Weston, Massachusetts3 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Loved staying at this beautiful boutique hotel. Friendly staff, fabulous decor and amazing location. Must stay when in Chapel Hill. The indoor carpet basketball court was fun for the kids. Wish we could have stayed longer!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wes Rowe, General Manager at Graduate Chapel Hill
Responded 19 Jul 2022
Thank you for the 5-bubble review, Charlotte W! We hope you and the family come back and stay with us again soon! Thanks, Wes
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer S wrote a review Jan 2021
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is in a great location along the main street in Chapel Hill and the decor was so much fun. There was a mock basketball court on my floor with a basket and nerf balls to play with. The front desk person checked in with me by text on day 1 to make sure I knew I could contact them with any questions during my stay or while I was out around town. Highly recommend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sanga Poonia, Guest Services / Front Office at Graduate Chapel Hill
Responded 14 Jan 2021
Greetings! Thank you so much for the lovely feedback. Our objective at Graduate Chapel Hill is to make sure all our guests feel at home during their time away from home. I hope you and you family have a wonderful day, and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Warm Regards, Sanga Poonia Guest Service Manager Graduate Chapel Hill
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Beachgirl111111 wrote a review Jun 2023
Dover, Delaware52 contributions56 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved the Franklin and were very skeptical to stay when it changed hands to the graduate. We stayed at the ac our past few times. However this time, we had to work remotely from the hotel and the graduate offered a 2 room suite that allowed my husband and I to work in different rooms without disturbing each other. The graduate serves this purpose and delivered so much more. From arrival, to the cleaning ladies, to Dax, the amazing bartender to check in, to the beautiful balcony, it all over delivered.
We were allowed early check in. While
Not guaranteed, it was clear that much effort was put into getting people comfortably into their rooms.
The room is beautiful. Take time to see all of the very unique big and small touches that will make your heart turn sky blue. The living room of our suite was spacious and had a sofabed comfortable enough to accommodate our 10yo.
The location is the best in town.
A huge bathroom was elegant and beautiful. High ceilings and big windows finished it off. The balcony and vet looked Franklin street from the 5th floor and was so beautiful to have coffee to start the day and a beverage to end it.
We enjoyed dinner at the trophy room restaurant. The drink menu is amazing, the food menu was good but limited.
Our room was spotless and cleaning was perfect.
Hotel parking was easy. Pull forward and push the button if the check in spots are taken.
A larger food menu would be nice.
This will be our go to any time we are back in town. Thanks for an amazing stay!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Abbey Tillman, General Manager at Graduate Chapel Hill
Responded 14 Sept 2023
Wow! We are so glad we were able to share an experience that was so refreshing and accommodating for you and your family. We look forward to having you with us every time you are in town.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dremma G wrote a review Sept 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
They offer no coffee. No breakfast. They place bottles of water in the room but be careful they are $5 a piece though they seem complimentary. I have stayed in many hotels during Covid. Most hotels during Covid make coffee, water and a breakfast “to go” kiosk available either in the room or the lobby. When I asked the front desk where I could find the morning coffee they offered to make me a Keurig cup that was located in their office. So to get coffee you have to ask them to make it for you. No one tells you this when you check in. I found out by chance.

Bottom line, if you want coffee or food in the morning you have to leave the hotel. Which to me is crazy.

I got the vibe that the hotels main goal is to make money off the alums who come for the games.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wes Rowe, General Manager at Graduate Chapel Hill
Responded 15 Jan 2022
Hi Dremma G, We appreciate the feedback. We have debated offering breakfast service in the hotel, but there is not enough demand by our guests for this service to be offered. With several options right outside our doors, most guests enjoy venturing out for breakfast and lunch. We are working on a solution to provide an in-room coffee option and we hope to have this rolled out soon. Regarding the bottled water, we do have cheaper options for bottled water down in our pantry down at the front desk. Thank you again for the feedback, and we hope you'll give us another chance when you're back in Chapel Hill. Take care, Wes
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MoreChampagnePlease wrote a review Nov 2020
Pelican Bay, Florida71 contributions99 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
While the hotel is located conveniently downtown within walking distance to restaurants and the University, this also comes with a price- a 6am wake up from the garbage trucks. Not exactly what we wanted on a leisure family trip. The restaurant and bar are closed so that was a big disappointment. You have to walk down to lobby for coffee, none in the rooms. Our shower was mildly warm at best, again another disappointment. The cutesy college decor is not enough to bring me back. Next time I’ll stick with my trusted Marriott brand and stay at the AC Marriott. I read Trip Advisor reviews religiously and this time I think I chose incorrectly.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sanga Poonia, Guest Services / Front Office at Graduate Chapel Hill
Responded 15 Dec 2020
Greetings, We greatly appreciate your feedback as these are ways for us to see what areas we need to target for improvement. We apologize for not having coffee machines in our guestrooms. In a pro-active effort to minimize cross-contamination, we decided to remove all our coffee machines from our guestrooms. Instead, we serve complimentary coffee in our Lobby area, or can be delivered to your room, per request. My team and I are working diligently to get our restaurant/bar operational again while strictly following State Government guidelines. When planning on your next visit to Chapel Hill, please do give us another opportunity to serve you. Warm Regards, Sanga Poonia - Guest Service Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kathryn D wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff was really friendly, decor charming. Parking easy, and I think the $22 fee is pretty standard for an urban location and it was well lit. All of that aside, would not stay here again because the shower water pressure was worse than my families camper in the 80's. I had to take a 3 min "pits and bits" shower because I was freezing and the water was nearly non existent. I checked the nozzle settings, etc.. and there really was no improvement to this situation.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wes Rowe, General Manager at Graduate Chapel Hill
Responded 15 Jan 2022
Hi kathryndW238UA, Thank you for the feedback! From time to time, we do have issues with shower pressure in certain rooms. Our maintenance team does a fantastic job of addressing this issue when it is brought to our attention. If you mentioned this to our team at the front desk, I'm certain we were able to get this addressed before the next guest arrived. If you're ever back down our way, we'd love to have you stay with us again. We guarantee a much better shower experience! All the best, Wes
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elle W wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I do not recommend staying at this hotel. There were no rooms available 15 minutes before check-in time. The one we got had a toilet that had not been cleaned. We never even got an apology for it. It was so obviously not cleaned that it makes you wonder what other things are not being cleaned as well. The AC sounds like a freight train and woke us up in the middle of the night. This is a known problem for years, but they refuse to fix it. You can hear EVERYTHING in the room next door. I do not recommend staying here if you want privacy yourself or you don't want your life to be forever scarred by what your neighbors may take part in while staying there. Parking is absurdly expensive, the lobby has a weird smell, there are no amenities - water is $5, you have to wait at the front desk for a cup of coffee.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not connect to another room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wes Rowe, General Manager at Graduate Chapel Hill
Responded 15 Jan 2022
Hi 861ellew, Thank you for the feedback. I want to formally apologize for your unsatisfactory stay. It sounds like you had several challenges that made your stay intolerable and that you won't be back to join us again. If you're up for giving us another shot, please email me directly at wrowe@graduatehotelchapelhill.com. I would love to host you again and provide a higher quality experience! Take care, Wes
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NC Kirk’s wrote a review Jul 2022
Charlotte, North Carolina2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
For a four-star hotel, the desk staff was rude, lacking in customer service skills and the King room was dank, poorly-appointed and a let down. The rooms have adjoining doors and you can hear everything from your neighboring room and conversations in the foyer area. Overrated to say the least.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wes Rowe, General Manager at Graduate Chapel Hill
Responded 11 Aug 2022
Thank you for the feedback, nckirks. It really seems like we dropped the ball during your stay, and I want to apologize for the poor experience you had at our hotel. Please reach out to me directly so that we can try to make it right for you. My email is wrowe@graduatehotelchapelhill.com. Hope to speak with you soon, Wes
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tara-2551 wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Our room was nice but shocked how poorly the outdoor balcony area was. It was moldy and made the view outside ugly. Also, as much money the rooms cost, i would expect kureg coffee makes in the rooms. Also, i was never informed that the hotel parking area ( which is not even Valet) cost $25 dollars a day. You would think that would be included in the room prices. Also i had broken my Ankle while there and wind, we came down to the lobby to check out and leave, I told the two people, a man and a woman at the desk that I had injured my ankle badly and not one of them offered to help get me to my car. No one offered to hold the front door open. We we’re leaving so she could take me to an urgent care.
Other than these issues, we did enjoy most of our stay. the hotel was convenient since we were in town, visiting UNC Chapel Hill. Just expected a whole lot more for the price. We will not be coming back to the Graduate.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Abbey Tillman, General Manager at Graduate Chapel Hill
Responded 12 Jun 2023
Tara-2551, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay, including the condition of the outdoor balcony, the absence of Keurig coffee makers in the rooms, the parking fees, and the lack of assistance when you had an ankle injury. We're sorry that we fell short of your expectations, and we appreciate your input. We will address these concerns to ensure a better experience for our guests in the future. Thank you for your valuable feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bigalobx wrote a review Oct 2021
Nags Head, North Carolina1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved the location on Franklin Street but did not care for the new brighter paint colors and furnishings. We liked the old Franklin much better. The hotel has been cheapened in our view. We will not be staying there again.

Also we were awakened several times on Friday and Saturday nights from sleeping by very loud guests playing basketball in the lobby of floor #3. We stayed in room 304. I had to open our door at 1am to ask them to be quiet. Not good.

The wifi would not work with my current Windows 11 laptop. The front desk tried but could not get it working for us. That was disappointing.

For the price paid we expected a more relaxing environment.
Please post my review for others to see.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wes Rowe, General Manager at Graduate Chapel Hill
Responded 15 Jan 2022
Hi bigalobx, Thank you for the feedback! We know the new decor is quite different from the decor of The Franklin, but most of our guests really enjoy it. We understand that it may not be everyone's cup of tea. We've also addressed the issues you had with the noise from the basketball court and your wi-fi issues, and we haven't received many complaints regarding either recently. While we understand you may not want to stay with us again, if you decide you would like to give us another chance, please reach out to me directly wrowe@graduatehotelchapelhill.com, as I would love to show you all a better time! All the best, Wes
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from WesRoweNC
1 contribution
Hi Tisha, Thank you for your patience. We do not provide a complimentary shuttle to and from the airport, but we can help arrange transportation, if needed. If you give our front desk a call at 919.442.9000, they will be happy to arrange this for you. Thanks, Wes
Answer from Goin2Carolina
Chapel Hill, North Carolina32 contributions18 helpful votes
Hello, This is an excellent hotel and perfect for convenience and location. No Metro trains or real train system. Buses are for college and local transportation. N.C. does not have train system. Uber and Lyft are exceptional. Perfect Hotel location, Ask for Wes as the Top Of The Top Manager!
Gothospitality asked a question Aug 2019
Charlotte, North Carolina215 contributions115 helpful votes
Is this hotel not a part of the Hilton Curio Collection anymore?
Answer from Korrie H
Concord, North Carolina25 contributions16 helpful votes
Well it was when we stayed there in June but sure doesn't appear to be now! 😯
Answer from rsatterley
London49 contributions46 helpful votes
Hi. Sorry I only just saw this! No pool. Very small gym.
Vivian A wrote a tip May 2024
Culpeper, Virginia8 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay somewhere else."
Read full review
Nicole S wrote a tip Apr 2024
Newton, Massachusetts78 contributions31 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"I needed slippers for the floor (I always travel with them). It is a cool parkay floor that look like a basketball court."
Read full review
WineLuvr00 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Lower Allen Township, Pennsylvania11 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms facing Franklin street can be a bit noisy if you are a light sleeper. Recommend bringing ear plugs or using a sound machine app."
Read full review
Katherine K wrote a tip Apr 2023
Malibu, California2 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are many other hotels in the area. If you want to be comfortable and not pay $5 for your morning coffee stay elsewhere."
Read full review
One-Lonely-Nomad wrote a tip Dec 2022
Hong Kong, China163 contributions148 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a room with balcony. You won’t be disappointed."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chapel Hill area.
PRICE RANGE
S$289 - S$435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
franklin hotel chapel hill
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Franklin Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaChapel Hill
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GRADUATE CHAPEL HILL: UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 197 Photos (NC) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Graduate Chapel Hill
Which popular attractions are close to Graduate Chapel Hill?
Nearby attractions include Cat Tales Cat Cafe (0.3 km), He's Not Here (0.4 km), and Lantern Restaurant (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Graduate Chapel Hill?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Graduate Chapel Hill?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Graduate Chapel Hill?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Graduate Chapel Hill?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Graduate Chapel Hill?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mediterranean Deli & Catering, Al's burger shack, and Kipos Greek Taverna.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Graduate Chapel Hill?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Graduate Chapel Hill located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Chapel Hill.
Does Graduate Chapel Hill offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Graduate Chapel Hill?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Graduate Chapel Hill?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Chapel Hill Cemetery (0.6 km) and Horace Williams House (1.5 km).
All Chapel Hill HotelsChapel Hill Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Chapel HillHotels near Graduate Chapel Hill
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire