We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village

Show Prices
#24 of 175 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

805 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village
See the most recent reviews
Showing 796: English reviews
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewed 16 May 2016

This is a lovely hotel and the staff is quite accommodating. The hotel is not near a lot of restaurants as we had hoped, but the restaurant had great selections and we were quite happy with all that we ate.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Netta0309
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you return in the near future. Safe travels.......

Creston, United States
Reviewed 13 May 2016

Business stay. Wasn't that great. Receptionist wasn't very friendly and I had a hard time understanding his English. Although I didn't plan on using the pool, I noticed it was closed. If I'd brought my family with me this would have been a disappointment. Parking situation was weird. Hard to see where I could check in so parked in the...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies for poor stay. Your comments have been shared with the department managers and we are taking the necessary steps to ensure it doesn't occur in the future.

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 11 May 2016

My experience was great with the hotel service. They were very professional and very accommodating. The rooms were very clean and comfy. It's a nice location to downtown and the highway. I just hated that the parking was just a little walking distance from the hotel. In other words the parking garage is not directly connected to the hotel building....

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 673cheyennez
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate the kind words regarding the rooms and the location. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Conway, South Carolina
Reviewed 11 May 2016

The staff was super helpful and flexible, the room was crystal clean, and there was not a single bad thing to say! The closest I can come is that you have to pay for parking, but the staff were very transparent about the charge before check in was completed. Super experience!

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 167victoriav
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. We’re glad you had a taste of our warm, caring service (along with our delicious cookie at check in). We look forward to welcoming you back.

Richlands, North Carolina
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Staff was welcoming, very informative about the area and things to do. The accomadations were clean, comfortable, rooms were quiet, and nice size. I will definately stay at this hotel again in the very near future.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebeccawU3045PI
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review

We are very happy to read the comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and amenities of our hotel to your satisfaction. Hope to see you return soon....safe travels.

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 9 May 2016

My wife and recently stayed one night at this property. The staff is great, friendly and very efficient. The hotel is getting pretty dated, especially the rooms. The colors are not very good or soothing for the eyes. The location is good if you are working in the Gateway complex or visiting Johnson & Wales University, otherwise it is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lv2CtheWorld
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our rooms are not scheduled for renovation in the near future however we would love to hear suggestions on the updating our rooms that we could share with our designers as we enter the design phase. Please feel free to contact me directly with what you might like to see...

California, Maryland
Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

the rooms are decent and the people are nice. The location is okay. Be sure that you ask for a quiet room not on Trade St. It is a good location if what you want is nearby, if not, it can be a little out of the way. I am not trying to scare you away, it is fine if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank creativity2001
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments about your recent stay with us. Hope to see you return again soon. Safe travels.

Minneapolis, MN
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel because the Hilton Uptown on College Street was booked. I was very disappointed by the quality of the rooms - very dated, not soundproof, and not particularly clean. Starbucks on site is nice. I would not stay here again. Very expensive for the quality of the rooms. Staff was super friendly and tried to help...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MNWorldTraveler
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies regarding the cleanliness of your room. Your comments have been shared with the Director of Housekeeping and she is taking steps to ensure it doesn't occur in the future. Our rooms are not scheduled for renovation in the near future however we would love to...

Fair Hill, Maryland
Reviewed 28 April 2016

I try not to stay at the DoubleTree, for the price. I prefer not to stay at this property. The staff are excellent, and the ground floor remodel is excellent. The guest rooms however are in need of improvement, specifically; soundproofing. The noise from the hallway and adjoining rooms is much louder than other hotels. The bathroom, specifically the toilet,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cindy K
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is with this information we can only improve. We will share your comments regarding the room improvements with our designers when we enter the design phase of our next guest room renovation.

New Bern, North Carolina
Reviewed 27 April 2016

From check in to check out I can not complain! The front desk staff was wonderful (greeting/complimentary warm cookies). There was always someone available to answer your questions, or greet you whether you were leaving or coming in. I can't say enough of the comfort of the beds! Wonderful nights rest.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review

Your comments about your stay with us made me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable (along with our great location). Hope to see you again soon,

167 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (79)
Viewed
Accessible Parlor Room (14)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Pool (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Standard Doubles Room (20)
Viewed
Standard King Room (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
First Ward
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Third Ward
Courtyard Charlotte City Center
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#31 of 175 in Charlotte
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village

Address: 895 W Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-1122
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Third Ward
Price Range: $209 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charlotte
Doubletree Charlotte
Charlotte Doubletree
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#39 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#44 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in room 818 and had a nice view of the stadium”
 of 5 bubbles txmed215, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“6th Floor is HHonors”
 of 5 bubbles CindyKlemencic, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I had a room close to the elevator on the even side facing the street and it was quiet”
 of 5 bubbles BeachGirl_CoffeeLuv, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't get room #301 if you can avoid it.”
 of 5 bubbles esllera, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“very nice rooms”
 of 5 bubbles courteneyj527, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5