We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The VanLandingham Estate

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 46: English reviews
Start your review of The VanLandingham Estate
 Click to rate
Elkview, West Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the estate. We love history and enjoyed the travel back in time. The breakfast is generous and delicious. The fireplaces are relaxing and inviting. We walked the grounds together and had coffee by the pond watching the birds and fish. It's very close to downtown attractions. We used Uber to get around....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LizzWelch
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While the staff was friendly, the overall condition of the property was poor and desperately in need of upgrading/a facelift. I was in the guest house and a fire almost started in the room below me. After midnight the fire dept. showed up (used a big fan to blow the smoke out), I was left to decide whether to sleep...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Betsy M
Billy M, Manager at The VanLandingham Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience. However we must take exception with one important aspect of your recollection. Unfortunately at 11:04 pm the guest in the room below you did burn a piece of pizza in the in-room microwave, setting off the fire alarms. Once the situation was deemed safe and the smoke evacuated...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 25 January 2017

My son and future daughter in law booked their wedding for October 2017 back in October 2016. Paid a deposit. They received a call today and where told their wedding was cancelled due to the fact the property has been sold and new owners do not want to do weddings. They should have been told up front that property was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lavery52017
Reviewed 15 January 2017

I booked a room through Hotel Tonight which was a great deal for my last minute stay. All the receptionist were really helpful. Breakfast was in need of some work. The eggs were overcooked and the bacon was burnt so I skipped it all together even though it was included in my stay. I would stay again but eat out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 27 December 2016

We stayed in December, so the grounds were not in bloom. We walked around and could imagine how wonderful it is during spring and summer, when the weddings are held. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We like how all the rooms are different, and we will stay here again. You can walk to bars and restaurants easily. We...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tbonelynch
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewed 28 November 2016

This is a very comfortable and well located place to stay in Charlotte. However, if you are there for business it is not in the downtown. Be aware that Google maps sent us to the sister location near downtown.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
Reviewed 3 November 2016

We were immediately welcomed by a friendly staff member. She gave us a great tour of the estate and made us feel very welcome. She made sure we had everything we needed and we were informed of necessary information. One thing I would recommend is that the Estate install some lights on their roadside signage - it is a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewed 24 October 2016

I booked the Estate for a business trip because it was centrally located and close to the convention center (I drove). Upon check-in, I was brought to my room, The Magnolia Room, which was in the carriage house. I am very glad that it was on the second floor. There were two rooms that were literally on either side of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank valie520
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Staying here I got more than just a room I got an experience. Well worth my time, I loved being here. I stayed in the Pine in the Carriage House which was nice and secluded just the way I like it. Nothing disturbed me and the 5 acres of garden are breathtaking. Staff is amazing; I would definitely stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Candence T
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

I had to evacuate my home in Myrtle Beach, SC due to the incoming storm. I found this establishment and was excited because it was one of very few locations still available that accepted pets. Check in was fast, easy, and friendly. I stayed in the Magnolia room in the carriage house. It was a clean and spacious room with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amber C

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown
Second Ward
Sheraton Charlotte Hotel
Sheraton Charlotte Hotel
#80 of 176 in Charlotte
295 reviews
First Ward
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Le Meridien Charlotte
Le Meridien Charlotte
#66 of 176 in Charlotte
246 reviews
Third Ward
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The VanLandingham Estate is a beautiful place to rest your soul, host spectacular events for weddings or rehearsal dinners or gather for productive business meetings, seminars or retreats. The Estate welcomes guests with its unique combination of warm hospitality, grace, subtle southern elegance and fine foods. Our Historic Inn is located in Plaza Midwood just minutes from Uptown Charlotte, The Estate includes the Harwood Home, a distinctive California bungalow-style estate.Excite your senses with a stroll on our magnificent five acres of grounds, the oldest premier gardens in Mecklenburg County. Or escape to a private nook in the Carriage House. Considered one of the finest hotels in Charlotte, and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Historic estate has lodging rooms and accommodations available year round for leisure, lodging, private business meetings, picnics from two to twenty and social events. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The VanLandingham Estate

Address: 2010 The Plz, Charlotte, NC 28205-3032
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Price Range: $190 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The VanLandingham Estate 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The VanLandingham Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanlandingham Estate Charlotte
Vanlandingham Estate Hotel Charlotte
The Van Landingham Estate
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The VanLandingham Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The temperature in the coach house is on a single system. If it is too warm, close the registers to block the heat. We like to sleep with it cool and this worked great. ”
 of 5 bubbles tbonelynch, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The larger, more expensive rooms are on the bottom but right next to the main door entrance which can be loud.”
 of 5 bubbles valie520, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The Randolph Scott (the attic room) is spacious and gorgeous! I think I'd love to stay there next!”
 of 5 bubbles candencet2016, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't trust booking agents. Follow up behind them.”
 of 5 bubbles Just4Wong, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Main house is awesome, for more privacy they have a cottage with 4 guest suites.”
 of 5 bubbles lisacB1562EZ, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5