We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Traveller (216)
360
Panoramas (24)
Room & Suite (142)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 30/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Inn at Corolla Light
Updated 30/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Corolla
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Charming waterfront inn on the Currituck Sound featuring classic Outer Banks wrap-around porches, gas fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, and breathtaking views. Located in the renowned ocean-to-sound Corolla Light Resort, all amenities of the Resort are available to the Inn's guests. Free breakfast, wifi, and loan of bicycles. Easy access to see the wild horses of Corolla.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Mini golf
Children's playground
Kids pool
Parking
Wifi
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Vending machine
Raquetball
Water sport equipment rentals
Fishing
Patio
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Refrigerator
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
459Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 239
  • 119
  • 49
  • 28
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ryan P wrote a review 3 May
Richmond, Virginia22 contributions8 helpful votes
Wow! What a perfect place if you’re looking for a couple quiet days of relaxation and peace. We were a little skeptical after reading some reviews about the rooms, but don’t listen to the negative Nancy’s. We originally requested room 26 “Keepers Watch”, is it looked vary spacious online and we had our 2 dogs with us, but it was already booked so we stayed in room 33 right on the sound. What a quaint room! It was a bit on the smaller side, but comparable to an average hotel room. Fireplace, kitchenette, nice little table for two to dine at. And the view, best sunsets we’ve seen in all the years we’ve been coming to Corolla. They have two high raised chairs per room on the deck right outside your room door-the views are the reason you stay here. Couple cons about the room (minor to us, as we came for the view and not expecting to stay at a 5 star resort): -AC was not very cold but we went early May so actually felt great to sleep with window open. -TV cable box wouldn’t power on so we just watched on our iPad; again wasn’t there to watch TV. -Screen door was off track and made the loudest screeching noise every time we opened/closed. Pros: room was extremely clean. Looks like it’s had some recent updates: newer flooring, newer shower, box frame and bedding looked fairly new. King bed was VERY comfortable. -Staff extremely friendly, especially the gentleman that worked the breakfast every morning, which btw the home made muffins were so good! -Free bikes to use and big carts for your luggage. -Incredibly dog friendly, we enjoyed seeing all the other dogs on vacation. There is a great walking trail right along the sound from the Inn almost all the way to Whalehead/Corolla Park-beautiful walk in the mornings! Also the pier from the Inn is beautiful at sunset and they have two double seated swinging chairs. The pool looked nice, although confused why it was open in early May but not heated or anything. Also wish there were a hot tub (we thought the little pool attached to big one was it but it’s def not a hot tub). Highly recommend if you’re looking for something different to do in OBX-somewhere quiet, pet friendly, and insanely beautiful at sunset!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet McComas, Innkeeper at Inn at Corolla Light
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate all of your feedback and take it seriously in order to continuously improve. We hope that you will come and stay with us again!
Read more
eginda wrote a review Apr 2021
Williamsburg, Virginia30 contributions10 helpful votes
The Inn is cute- no doubt. The location was excellent for our needs. The staff was exceptional! The room, however, was not nearly worth the 250.00 plus we paid per night. For that we should have had a sound side view! There is a nice little kitchen area in the room, but was not well stocked -at all. There was literally one fork two butter knives and no glasses- covid or not! If wooden cooking utensils are supplied,( which hold many more germs) and two plates, shouldn’t a glass would be? Wine opener? Forks? Our standard king room view was very disappointing. The wooden walking ramp is too close to our window view and it exposed our bed directly to everyone passing so having the curtains open was an issue. There is only one comfortable chair in the room and with an exceptionally small tv. The closet and dresser space for two people is insufficient should they be staying longer than one night. The noise above us was also an issue. The Inn breakfast (covid or not) was hardly worth the cost. Bottom line, the room is about 100 dollars too expensive for what you’ll get. Wish we had stayed in a hotel for the same cost.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet McComas, Innkeeper at Inn at Corolla Light
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Your feedback is important to us as we constantly strive to improve. We apologize for any inconvenience that was caused during your stay. As we work to recover and restock as COVID restrictions are lifted, we hope that you will give us another chance and return to stay with us again. Please feel free to make requests while you are here if you find in room amenities lacking. Thank you!
Read more
raj0302 wrote a review Jan 2021
Swansboro, North Carolina872 contributions418 helpful votes
If my review is helpful, please give me a “thank you” vote. 1. Expectations/frame of reference for my remarks. While traveling for business in the U.S. I am required to stay at a chain such as Marriott (Courtyard or Marriott Residence Inn) or Hilton (Hilton Garden Inn or Hampton Inn). While traveling on vacation, I typically look for a unique, independent/”boutique” small-medium size hotel that is comfortable and clean with a professional & helpful staff with good amenities/services but not anything opulent. This was my second time to stay at the Inn. I was motivated to stay here again based on the good experience I had the first time. 

 2. Date of my visit/trip. Friday 13 November and Saturday 14 November 2020. 3. Location. Check the hotel’s website for up-to-date information. I plugged the address into my iPhone’s navigation app and it took me directly there. 4. Parking and access 4.a. Paved / no fee / approximately 30 spaces. 4.b. Passenger vehicles. Easily accessible. 4.c. RVs and vehicles pulling trailers. I do not consider the parking lot to be accessible to these type of vehicles; I recommend looking at imagery of the inn on Bing or Google Maps. 5. Hotel grounds and aesthetics. The inn is situated on the “sound side” and not ocean side. Some rooms have a very nice view of the sound. Some rooms (I do not recall which room numbers) have lounge chairs on a deck facing the sound. The inn appears to be well-maintained in a quiet neighborhood of private residences, other small hotels, small businesses and small cafes. 6. Lobby. The lobby is on the second floor of the hotel; it is clean, comfortable and well-appointed. 7. Breakfast area. It is adjacent to the lobby. I did not partake of breakfast but due to COVID restrictions, I believe they were offering “to-to” breakfasts. First Light Café (approximately 5 minute drive south) is a very good alternative. 8. Room. I stayed in room # 25. It is large and has a fireplace and a very nice view of the sound (especially at sunset). I will definitely request it the next time I visit. It was very clean, well-maintained and comfortable. 9. Pool and outdoor areas. The pool was not open during my visit (too cold). 10. Weather. I recommend checking weather conditions via Accuweather or another online source. During my visit (November 2020), the weather ranged between 50-60 degrees F. Be advised that due to the ocean breezes, it may feel colder. 11. Handicapped access. I am not handicapped but I realize knowledge of handicapped access is helpful. There are ramps to access approximately half of the rooms (those on the first floor). Access to all second and third floor rooms is via stairs. 12. Transportation 12.a. Walking. Walking is fine if you are just going to the beach but all attractions, restaurants, etc are not within walking distance. 12.b. Bicycles. I believe the hotel has bicycles available for rent. The area seems to be bicycle-friendly, with dedicated bike/walking paths off of the roadway. 13. Clothing and equipment. I have include this information for those who may not be familiar with weather on the Outer Banks. 13.a. Clothing. During my visits to the area during warm months, I wore Teva sandals, lightweight cargo shorts and lightweight collared shirts everywhere I went. A light jacket or fleece may also be preferred for those who are cold-natured. I would recommend a wide-brimmed straw hat for anyone who will be outdoors for any extended period of time. During this trip during cooler weather, I wore: cargo pants, t-shirt, light fleece jacket and a lightweight outer shell jacket. 13.b. Equipment. While I was out & about, I carried a small backpack everywhere I went. It contained the following: backup battery charger for iPhone/camera; hydration system; water bottle(s); small travel towel (for sweat and after rainstorms); sunscreen; chapstick; sunglasses. 13.c. Other equipment. I frequently purchase artwork while on vacation and routinely take a telescoping plastic tube (typically used for maps and blueprints). In this manner, I can carry them on my return plane ride/vehicle ride without the risk of damaging my artwork. For carrying flat art prints, I take two large pieces of heavy cardboard with me. If I purchase artwork, I can "sandwich" the artwork between the cardboard and place it in the bottom of my luggage. 14. Nearby attractions. 

 14.a. Currituck Lighthouse. I visited the lighthouse on the same weekend that I stayed at the Inn but did write a review of the lighthouse. It is well-worth the visit. 14.b. Whalehead Club. This is an historic home constructed as an opulent hunting lodge for the wealthy. See my review dated 16 Nov 2020. 14.c. Wild Horse Adventure Tours. This is a company that conducts tours to see the wild Spanish Mustangs on the beach and inland areas; I highly recommend it. See my review dated 17 Nov 2020. 14.d. Wright Brothers Memorial. In Kitty Hawk, NC. This is a nice museum that outlines the evolution of flight. 15. Photos. I have not included any photos. The photos on the hotel’s website and TripAdvisor are accurate depictions.

 16. Conclusion. I will definitely stay here again when I return to the area and enthusiastically recommend it to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Recommend getting a room with a view of the sound.
See more room tips
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Victoria Hallowell, Innkeeper at Inn at Corolla Light
Responded 9 Feb 2021
We appreciate your taking the time to leave us your feedback! We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Chinita C wrote a review Oct 2020
4 contributions1 helpful vote
The good: There’s a great view and when you expressed concerns/complaints the staff was pretty nice. The bad: We arrived at night and the office was closed. It was difficult and kind of scary trying to find our room. The lighting is poor and there’s an abundance of spiders, spider webs, and fuzzy bills (large gnats) EVERYWHERE! Our door was covered in bugs, the room was full of bugs (dead and alive). The patio door was covered and there was a huge hole in the screen of the patio door. We literally felt trapped in our room. The room was not a room you would want to be trapped in. The linen was stained (luckily we brought our own), the headboard was wobbly and leaned away from the wall, the pillows were thin and old, the mattress was old and worn, and the tv didn’t work. There was no staff there, so we had to wait until the next morning to address our concerns. They did replace our patio screen and got us another tv. They were supposed to clean our room but didn’t. They were also supposed to spray the bugs, but didn’t. They did finally clean our room after our 3rd night. However all of the same dead bugs were still there after they ‘“cleaned”. Unfortunately we couldn’t find another Pet Friendly hotel near by and they refused to give us a refund when we asked. We were not willing to just give them $1,000. We also had concerns about our bill, which changed three times. It was just a horrible experience all around. Completely ruined our anniversary and vacation. This place has potential but needs a makeover and better cleaning and maintenance staff. I think they have become complacent with the bugs and don’t even try any preventative measures and assume that the worn look and feel of the accommodations adds to its charm. Unfortunately, that is not the case.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Victoria Hallowell, Innkeeper at Inn at Corolla Light
Responded 28 Oct 2020
Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the room that need updating. It is a pleasure to announce that we will be implementing many of these upgrades to the property within the next couple of months. Our rooms will be getting new mattresses, updating, accessories, and much more! In taking great care of our charming hotel, our main priority is to be able to offer a very well-maintained and comfortable atmosphere. I hope that I can convince you to change your mind about another visit to our property. It would be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back to our new and improved hotel!
Read more
Jasclt48 wrote a review Oct 2020
2 contributions
Booked our room a month early. Was told # 19 was not available so upgraded to #18 to be on the first floor, or so I thought. Was never told that they do not guarantee specific rooms only room type. So why was #19 not available when I booked? They could not answer that question. Was told at check in that they could not give me #18 since the quests there had decided to stay over. We had to accept a second floor inferior room. They were not apologetic only defensive and combative. Ruined our visit to Corolla. Facilities not that bad but guest relations are terrible.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Victoria Hallowell, Innkeeper at Inn at Corolla Light
Responded 2 Oct 2020
Thank you for staying with us recently and providing feedback. Customer satisfaction is important to us, so we thank you for sharing your comments. While we always do our best to deliver a smooth experience, occasionally mistakes happen. I have shared your concerns with our team as we continually work to improve our guest experience.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$123 - US$290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
inn at corolla light hotel corolla, inn corolla
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina CoastOuter BanksCorolla
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Inn at Corolla Light
Which popular attractions are close to Inn at Corolla Light?
Nearby attractions include Whalehead in Historic Corolla (1.1 km), Outer Banks Center for Wildlife Education (1.1 km), and Flying Smiles Kites (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Inn at Corolla Light?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Inn at Corolla Light?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Inn at Corolla Light?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Inn at Corolla Light?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Inn at Corolla Light?
Conveniently located restaurants include Northern Lights Bakery, Uncle Ike's Sandbar & Grill, and Fat Crabs Rib Co. & Seafood Shack.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Inn at Corolla Light?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Inn at Corolla Light?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Inn at Corolla Light?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Whalehead in Historic Corolla (1.1 km) and Currituck Beach Lighthouse (1.4 km).
Is Inn at Corolla Light accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.