We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Days Inn Durham/Near Duke University

Show Prices
#39 of 72 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Days Inn Durham\/Near Duke University
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Durham/Near Duke University
See the most recent reviews
Showing 198: English reviews
Bladenboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 27 March 2016

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lauralF288BB
kenco00, Manager at Days Inn Durham/Near Duke University, responded to this review

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

Nice recently renovated & clean rooms. Super friendly staff. Good breakfast included in rate. Great location near Duke. Kroger, Starbucks & restaurants across the street. Outside corridor rooms, which, I prefer. Great value for the price .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank William B
kenco00, Manager at Days Inn Durham/Near Duke University, responded to this review

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here. We will keep working harder everyday to make our Days inn better and better. Please do come back.

Andrews, North Carolina
Reviewed 26 March 2016

Rooms were clean and smelled good. Very nice and helpful workers at front desk. The only thing we didn't like was the fact that continental breakfast was included but you had to easy in the dining room. No food could be taken back to the room. My husband doesn't feel well due to having stage 4 cancer. This being the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chanteahj
kenco00, Manager at Days Inn Durham/Near Duke University, responded to this review

Your comments are taken very seriously and we will try to make it better. Thank you so much for staying here and please come back.

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 21 March 2016

This place has great rooms and service. We stayed here for 4 weeks for hospital visits and they treated us better than family. Very hard working staff. Keep it up as we will come back. We really wish the huge pool was open.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jemes k
kenco00, Manager at Days Inn Durham/Near Duke University, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are very happy that you enjoyed you stay here . Please do come back as we will be opening the pool soon.

Sparta, North Carolina
Reviewed 19 March 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob E
kenco00, Manager at Days Inn Durham/Near Duke University, responded to this review

Winchester, Virginia
Reviewed 16 March 2016

This property has been totally renovated and the staff is very nice and fast. They helped me so much with directions to several places i had to go.Rooms are very well decorated with new carpet and granite furniture. Very clean and convieniently located close to Duke hospital. The rates are very very reasonable.We will always come back here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jerry m
kenco00, Manager at Days Inn Durham/Near Duke University, responded to this review

Thank you very much for liking our service and rooms. We at Days inn are always willing to help our guests. Please keep coming here. Thank you very very much.

Asheville
Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile

Decided to stay here based on the price (it was 1/2 the price compared to some other motels in the area), the free breakfast, and based on the online reviews (many of which were positive). Upon arriving, our first impression was very good. The room appeared to have been recently updated, carpet, etc. Upon showering that night, the water kept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Buddy R
kenco00, General Manager at Days Inn Durham/Near Duke University, responded to this review

Thank you for staying here. We will take your comments very seriously and will make it better. Sorry for the issues you had here.

Taylorsville
Reviewed 28 February 2016

We stayed in a room that is in the process of being renovated. The bed and the TV as well as the main room looked complete. The bathroom really needs work. Broken tiles and very weak shower. The door was hard to open (had to push hard to get it to move.)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
kenco00, General Manager at Days Inn Durham/Near Duke University, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the Days inn. We have done a major renovation and our next project is renovating our bathrooms. Sorry for the issues you had here. Please do come back as we work harder everyday to please our customers.

Oakland, California
Reviewed 17 February 2016

I stayed here for four nights with a group of friends, some of whom were on a tight budget and who had selected this property. There were many issues. Two of us had very limited heat the first night. My room finally got to room temperature by morning, but since we had made reservations well in advance, and the outdoor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 367kathrync
kenco00, Manager at Days Inn Durham/Near Duke University, responded to this review

Sorry for the issues you had here, but we took care of any maintenance the room needed. The temperatures a few weeks ago were very very low in this area. Please do come back.

Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Reviewed 11 February 2016

We live out of town so when we have to visit Duke we have to get a hotel room, this is the first time we have stayed at the Days Inn and will not stay anywhere else again. they have wonderful staff and great rooms. Thanks to the front desk lady for all the directions and help with everything, you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica J
kenco00, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn Durham/Near Duke University, responded to this review

Thank you very very much for staying with us. We really helping our customers. Please do come back.

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (93)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (38)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.5 km away
Comfort Inn Medical Park
Comfort Inn Medical Park
#40 of 72 in Durham
40 reviews
0.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park
2.4 km away
Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The University Inn
The University Inn
#36 of 72 in Durham
77 reviews
1.6 km away
Brookwood Inn Durham
Brookwood Inn Durham
#33 of 72 in Durham
288 reviews
1.3 km away
Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
•All rooms Newly Renovated in 2016 with New Pillow-Top Mattresses, Granite Tops, and Carpet. •Spacious rooms with Microwaves/Refrigerators/Coffee Maker/Hair dryers. •42" Flat Screen TV with over 140 HD channels by DIRECT TV including ESPN, HBO & Cinemax. •Washer/Dryer available on site. •Business Center •Variety of local restaurant within walking distance. •Complimentary breakfast which includes: o Sausage Links o Biscuits & Sausage Gravy o Hot Waffles o Egg Omelets o Frosted Flakes / Corn Flakes o Raisin bread / Fruit loops o Yogurt o White, wheat Bread o Oatmeal / Grits o Muffins o Cinnamon Rolls o Coffee / Hot Tea (Regular and Decaf) o Milk / Apple and Orange Juice •Beautiful outdoor pool with awesome color lights. •Vending Machines & Ice Machine •Free strong WIFI •We are convenient to Duke university, Duke Hospital, VA Hospital, Raleigh, Chapel Hill and surrounding areas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Days Inn Durham/Near Duke University

Address: 3460 Hillsborough Rd, Durham, NC 27705-3009
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Price Range: $95 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Durham/Near Duke University 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Days Inn Durham/Near Duke University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn - Durham Hotel Durham
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#6 Best Value Hotel in Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Days Inn Durham/Near Duke University staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Campobello, South Carolina
over a year ago
Campobello, South Carolina
over a year ago
Newport, NC
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Days Inn Durham/Near Duke University staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“very nice pool... one of the biggest I have seen at a hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles johnsonbarry172, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Nice bright lobby to sit and work in.”
 of 5 bubbles 652jayeshp, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Have stayed there a number of times all rooms occupied by me and my wife have been clean and Quiet..”
 of 5 bubbles G5006PDpatrickh, 22 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Level 1 easy access and view”
 of 5 bubbles 483beverlys, 10 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Don't stay here. Period. You Have Been Warned”
 of 5 bubbles benjamin672015, 24 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay