We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Durham Marriott City Center

Show Prices
#23 of 70 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Durham Marriott City Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

371 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 360: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms are newly renovated, and they're some of the nicest I've stayed in! Definitely recommend staying here. Beds were comfortable and the overall experience was great. The staff were all very nice also, could tell they want to do whatever they need to to make your experience a great one.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travis W
Michael M, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear Travis W, It is always great to be able to share such great feedback from our guests about their recent stay here with us at Durham Marriott City Center. Thank you so much for taking your time and providing our future guests with knowledge of what to expect when they stay with us. I can assure you that I...

Ashburn, Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was in Durham for a wedding, and this hotel was conveniently located to our destinations... Unfortunately, during our stay, the hotel was undergoing some significant renovations... The area around the elevators was a construction zone, and often only one elevator was in use... That made the waits unbearably long... Check-in was a breeze, but parking is not... I opted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GoBa2015
Michael M, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear GoBa2015, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your recent stay here with us. It is always fantastic to be able to share this type of feedback with not only my staff but with future guests as well. I am truly sorry that the renovation caused an inconvenience for you as well and we are...

W-B,Pa.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had stayed in September and didn't have a very good experience. I received an email from a Marriott manager who was very concerned and wanted to make my stay right. Which they did. They gave me a small discount which I felt was the proper thing to do and I would definitely stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank orlandovisitor
Michael M, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear Orlandovisitor, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your stay with us back in September! I am truly sorry that you did not have a very good experience, but very happy that our Manager was able to contact you and do everything it takes to ensure you were taken care of. We truly hope to...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was having a business meeting. Adem from Tunisia showed a very tallented service and assistance skills . My colleague and I felt the warmth and the real hospitality in his tone of voice and smilling face. That was for a business purpose. I wonder how would it be for leissure purposes i can`t wait to taste that amazing feeling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank malek a
Michael M, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear Malek A, Thank you for taking the time to leave such amazing feedback about Adem and your recent stay here with us at Durham Marriott City Center. It is always great to be able to share feedback like this with the team especially when a staff member is recognized by their name. Adem is a extremely talented and valued...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

This hotel has the most professional customer service employee. Friendly and focused on clients. Antonio, customer service associates delivers outstanding service . The General Manager is visible and available

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Michael M, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such positive feedback about your recent stay here with us at Durham Marriott City Center. Your feedback is very important to us, as it lets us know what we are doing fantastic at and what we as a team can improve at. Your comment will be shared...

Athens, Georgia
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Hotel room was very clean and had been upgraded to that newish "modern" look that I've seen at other Marriotts. I did not encounter any problems with the renovations and noise as others have reported, but we were there the night before Thanksgiving and all was pretty quiet. This was the first time I've encountered the "M Lounge," which is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank friedpixie
Michael M, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear Friedpixie, Thank you very much for leaving such great feedback about your recent stay here with us at Durham Marriott City Center! We are very pleased that you were able to have such a great "Quick and Happy visit" with us. Our staff takes great pride in making sure we are doing everything possible to ensure our guests have...

Reviewed 25 November 2016

Where do I begin? First, when I booked this hotel, I was never informed that the hotel was under construction. Arriving to a lobby that was partially covered in plastic was surprising. We were told when we checked in that there would be construction noise. This information might have been helpful before our arrival. .The first night I wanted to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RP1128
Michael M, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear RP1128, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback about your stay with us. We are truly sorry for your negative overall experience here with us due to the renovation taking place and other multiple issues during your stay. I can assure you that I will share your feedback with my entire team to make sure...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Great hotel and location! Close to restaurants, bars and highways. Great bar and food internally along with friendly and most accommodating staff! A+ hotel and will always stay there when traveling to Durham.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe G
Kevin_T_Griffin, Front Office Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback and giving us a perfect score on Trip advisor! I am so excited to share your kind words with our staff. Our service and taking care of our guests is our number priority. Please come back soon! Sincerely, Kevin Griffin

West Orange, New Jersey
Reviewed 31 October 2016

I would choose a different hotel until the construction is completed. We came for a wedding and all of the out of town guests stayed at this hotel. There is renovation and noise in the lobby during the day. The gym is being renovated so need to go to another one nearby. Our room was near the elevator on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rochelleforster
Kevin_T_Griffin, Front Office Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience at the Durham Marriott City Center. I am very sorry to hear that your stay was not 100 percent satisfactory. Yes, we are currently undergoing a major renovation to our lobby and restaurant areas. It is going to be absolutely beautiful when it is finished sometime...

Blue Ridge Mountains, Virginia
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We very much enjoyed our stay. The hotel gave us a quiet corner room (as requested) and everything was clean and tidy. There were some renovations going on down in the lobby, but it did not affect us. Check in was friendly, staff was courteous, and the valet parking gentlemen were nice as well. The bedding was high end and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunflower35
Kevin_T_Griffin, Front Office Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for giving us a perfect score on Trip Advisor! Your kind feedback about our staff is fantastic. We take such great pride in our staff service here, it really is a joy to hear these comments and share them with my team. I am also very happy you had the pleasure of enjoying one...

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.5 km away
Aloft Durham Downtown
Aloft Durham Downtown
#25 of 70 in Durham
114 reviews
0.2 km away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
0.1 km away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#19 of 70 in Durham
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
2.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
6.0 km away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
2 Zero 1 Restaurant
2 Zero 1 Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Durham Marriott City Center. Situated downtown, you'll love how the hotel and the city seamlessly blend the modern and the historic. The Durham Marriott City Center is connected to the 44,000 square foot Durham Convention Center and adjacent to the beautifully restored Carolina Theatre. Minutes away from Duke University, Duke Hospitals, and North Carolina Central University, this modern hotel compliments the heritage and classic architecture found throughout the city. Designed for both the business traveler and family vacationer, our comfortable accommodations and outstanding Marriott service ensure a memorable and productive visit. The Durham Marriott City Center is known for its helpful and knowledgeable staff that will ensure you get the most from your stay. Rooms at the hotel include Marriot's luxurious revived bedding package accompanied by high-definition flat screen televisions. Guests on the concierge level enjoy the added benefit of the concierge lounge serving appetizers and snacks Sunday evening through Friday morning. All guests appreciate the state of the art fitness center highlighted by eight units with 17 inch TV screens. Dining options include the 2 zero 1 restaurant with continental American dining and a casual atmosphere. The 2 zero 1 lounge offers nightly specials and a relaxed setting. So what are you waiting for? Book your room today! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Durham Marriott City Center

Address: 201 Foster Street, Durham, NC 27701
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Price Range: $214 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Durham Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Durham Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Marriott City Hotel Durham
Marriott Durham
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Durham
#12 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#19 Business Hotel in Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Durham Marriott City Center staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Staten Island
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Durham Marriott City Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles rochelleforster, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“further down the hall”
 of 5 bubbles orlandovisitor, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“King room is better appointed than double”
 of 5 bubbles jswATL, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you want a desk, do not get a corner room. Halls are noisy, so pick a room where lots of people will not be walking by your room.”
 of 5 bubbles 29Lorenzo, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Do not let the bellhops call taxi for you!”
 of 5 bubbles cssnoopy, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay