We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Durham Marriott City Center

Show Prices
#23 of 70 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Durham Marriott City Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

371 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Durham Marriott City Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 360: English reviews
Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Very good location but under considerable construction. Only one elevator was working for long period of time. I would not recommend this hotel until the construction is completed. As a Platinum Member, very disappointed with my stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jasper100ish
Kevin_T_Griffin, Front Office Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for giving us your feedback and posting on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that your stay with us was not what you were anticipating with the renovation. We always strive to maintain the highest standards. Unfortunately, this sometimes requires essential renovations in our guest areas. These renovations will be done very soon and will truly be...

Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Do yourself a favor and find another hotel. We were in town for a wedding and renovations were ongoing at the hotel. The front desk was using a coffee table and a couple side tables to place their computers and accessories which severely hampered check in times and key reprogramming. My key would work once and then need to be...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rick M
Kevin_T_Griffin, Front Office Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not what you anticipated. I have shared with my staff the number of issues you experienced over the course of your stay. I am sorry it wasn’t an ideal stay with us but I...

Crozet, Virginia
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Nice and clean. Very friendly staff and accommodating. Valet parking. Room was rather small but a nice corner unit with a great king bed. I am a Marriott member so I always stay in one of there hotels, Great location. I used points which comes in handy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FAC86
Kevin_T_Griffin, Front Office Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to submit a 4 Star review on Trip Advisor! I have shared all the nice comments with my staff and we are thrilled you had a excellent stay. I love the corner room units as well, fantastic views of downtown Durham. I hope you decide to come stay with us again so...

Mooresboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

While the room was comfortable, the door to the next room did not allow for quiet evenings. Unfortunately, the people in the next room were not concerned with keeping their party contained. I can't fault the hotel for their behavior though. The room provided me with all I needed for my stay. The front desk staff was courteous and helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kramer6492
Kevin_T_Griffin, Front Office Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your 4/5 review on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled you had a great stay and we will always be happy to have you stay with us again! I do apologize about the noisy neighbors, but know that if this were to happen in the future our security team will address...

W-B,Pa.
Reviewed 26 September 2016

It needs a lot of updating which it is in the process. The rooms are updated, but there's nothing special. They finally put refrigerators in the rooms,but no microwave. They only have one chair to sit in and a small table that's too heavy to move. The bathroom has a sliding GLASS door. It does make it look modern, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank orlandovisitor
Kevin_T_Griffin, Front Office Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking your time to post on Tripadvisor. I would like to first thank you for choosing the Durham Marriott City Center. I am sorry to hear that overall feel and look of the hotel was not what your were anticipating. I have shared your comments with our different departments to help improve our hotel property...

Atlanta
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We spent one night at this hotel to attend a nearby wedding. The rooms and many of the common areas appear to have been renovated recently and were very nice. Some areas were still under renovation. Beds were comfortable and our room was well-appointed with a sofa, 60-inch flat screen and desk with chair. Some other friends at the wedding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jswATL
Kevin_T_Griffin, Front Office Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I want to thank you for using Trip Advisor and your feedback on your most recent stay with us. You are correct; we have renovated our guest rooms recently. We felt that the need for a more stylish and updated look and feel was needed to satisfy guest. Marriott’s new room concept is a mix modern sophistication with...

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel was under renovation so that was the downside but the rooms are well done and when they are complete the place will be great. Didn't eat there so no review of that. We valet parked and it was easy and quickly ready for us in the am. The staff was really helpful and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank olehig
Kevin_T_Griffin, Front Office Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for posting your feedback on Trip advisor. It is so kind of you to give such nice complements to our staff. I am sorry that we are undergoing some new lobby and restaurant renovations. However, just like our new guest rooms, this will truly spruce up the place and create a beautiful environment for...

Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

My extended family had a beautiful wedding at the Durham Arts Council historical building. Our hotel accommodations were at the Marriott. The service as well as the rooms were excellent. I would select the Marriott for future visits.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ToughcatCompany
Kevin_T_Griffin, Front Office Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your kind words and posting your review on Trip Advisor. Durham is a very popular destination for weddings utilizing historic buildings as beautiful ceremonial and reception areas. I am so happy you enjoyed your accommodations with us, especially in our newly renovated guest rooms. Congratulations to you and your family! Please come see...

Reviewed 14 August 2016

The hotel rooms have recently been renovate and are an improvement with not carpet but laminate hardwood appearing floors, sliding door to the bathroom, and new comfortable beds. However, the room have modern decor with darker wallpaper which makes the room appear dark at night. There was a bull on the wall above the headboard (Durham bull). The concierge lounge...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aly7859
Kevin_T_Griffin, Front Office Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your review on Trip Advisor. I am happy you liked our recently renovated new and improved guest rooms. We’ve reinvented our spacious rooms to accommodate the new ways in which you live, work, travel, and recharge. It is a bold design that is stylish and intuitive. Soon...

Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

I was very pleased with the level of customer service received - I arrived five hours before the check-in time and they were able to accommodate me for an early check-in into a corner king room. The room was updated to include modern touches like the backlit headboard with "Durham Bull" artwork and frosted glass, barn sliding bathroom door. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fancy03
Kevin_T_Griffin, Front Office Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your perfect 5 star review on Trip Advisor. We take such great pride in our customer service; it really means the world to us with such kind comments about our staff. I am so happy you like our new rooms! It is a modern, chic, and innovative...

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.5 km away
Aloft Durham Downtown
Aloft Durham Downtown
#25 of 70 in Durham
114 reviews
0.2 km away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
0.1 km away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#19 of 70 in Durham
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
2.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
2.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
2 Zero 1 Restaurant
2 Zero 1 Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Durham Marriott City Center. Situated downtown, you'll love how the hotel and the city seamlessly blend the modern and the historic. The Durham Marriott City Center is connected to the 44,000 square foot Durham Convention Center and adjacent to the beautifully restored Carolina Theatre. Minutes away from Duke University, Duke Hospitals, and North Carolina Central University, this modern hotel compliments the heritage and classic architecture found throughout the city. Designed for both the business traveler and family vacationer, our comfortable accommodations and outstanding Marriott service ensure a memorable and productive visit. The Durham Marriott City Center is known for its helpful and knowledgeable staff that will ensure you get the most from your stay. Rooms at the hotel include Marriot's luxurious revived bedding package accompanied by high-definition flat screen televisions. Guests on the concierge level enjoy the added benefit of the concierge lounge serving appetizers and snacks Sunday evening through Friday morning. All guests appreciate the state of the art fitness center highlighted by eight units with 17 inch TV screens. Dining options include the 2 zero 1 restaurant with continental American dining and a casual atmosphere. The 2 zero 1 lounge offers nightly specials and a relaxed setting. So what are you waiting for? Book your room today! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Durham Marriott City Center

Address: 201 Foster St, Durham, NC 27701-3211
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Price Range: $207 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Durham Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Durham Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Marriott City Hotel Durham
Marriott Durham
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#12 Family Hotel in Durham
#19 Business Hotel in Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Durham Marriott City Center staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Staten Island
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Durham Marriott City Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles rochelleforster, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“further down the hall”
 of 5 bubbles orlandovisitor, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“King room is better appointed than double”
 of 5 bubbles jswATL, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you want a desk, do not get a corner room. Halls are noisy, so pick a room where lots of people will not be walking by your room.”
 of 5 bubbles 29Lorenzo, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Do not let the bellhops call taxi for you!”
 of 5 bubbles cssnoopy, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay