We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Fontana Village Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Fontana Village Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

459 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Fontana Village Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 458: English reviews
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2014 via mobile

Ate at the village Resort restaurant for dinner approximately 5:30 pm. No reservations for 4 but many tables were open, it took 25 min. to be seated at a table right next to cashier desk up front ~ 5' away. It took another 25 min to get a waitress to come to ask for drinks and deliver menus. Our experience... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jerry G
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us. While reservations aren't required, they are highly recommended. This helps to ensure that everyone have a lovely dining experience. We apologize if your experience was not what you had hoped for. The feedback will be shared and we hope to... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2014 via mobile

We stay here as often as we can. The rooms are clean, spacious, and comfy. The food is delicious at the lodge. The have cabins as well that are pet friendly. The food at the grill is great too. The grocery store has basic stuff just incase you forget something.

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your continued loyalty with us! It is always great knowing that so many of our wonderful guests are repeat customers. We have great lodging, great food and other great onsite amenities. We hope that you always find time to relax and enjoy the area when you are staying with us. This time of year is a little... More 

Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
274 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2014

Very reasonable rates. Nice lodge room, very well appointed, super clean, perfect location to stay and do the Smokies or the Cherolha Skyway. See our separate review of their restaurant...the Mountview Bistro. Will go back here ASAP! (but not the restaurant unless they change their ways

Helpful?
Thank IAMAPI
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate the feedback you have given regarding your stay. Our facility is in a great location for those wanting to enjoy the beautiful mountains. This is a slower time of year for us and we hope that you can visit during our busier time as well so you can see all... More 

Niles, Ohio
Level Contributor
156 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2014

I have stayed here a few times over the years. Always greeted with friendly people and a clean room. I have Verizon cell service and it is really spotty on the grounds. The wireless internet service is a medium to slow speed. It is a bit pricy for a room with no breakfast included. I have a Dragon Slayer card... More 

Helpful?
Thank Motorcycle-tourer
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while in the area. The Cell and Wi-Fi services are spotty, but are items we are working to improve on. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to serve you again soon! More 

Washington DC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2014

The staff is why I'm giving Fontana 4 stars. They are always helpful, friendly and responsive. I usually stay in a cabin as part of a car club, but on my most recent visit I stayed in a Fireplace Room in the Lodge. The room was a "garden room" meaning it was not actually in the lodge. It was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank cactus1995
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your continued loyalty and patronage. We are happy that you have been taken great care of by our staff! The remoteness of our Resort is definitely the thing that makes it most appealing. We enjoy our return groups and are thrilled that you are part of one that stays with us. We also appreciate your... More 

Indialantic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2014 via mobile

This was our first trip to the area and we enjoyed the location. The restaurant was clean and the server "Ashley" was very friendly, informative, helpful and a pleasure to meet. The food was very good and fresh. The room was clean but we couldn't get a king unless we stayed outside the main building. The 2 beds were queens... More 

Helpful?
Thank harleyparts32903
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a nice review! We are happy to hear that you had such a great time on your very first visit with us! We are lucky to have such great staff and it sounds like they all took great care of you! We do have a variety of lodging types that are suitable for different... More 

Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2014

We were there for the 356 Porsche Club Meeting - the staff and customer service was very good. We had a larger cabin which was clean, well-appointment, and had been updated recently. One of our group got the room with the single bed; which creaked and rubbed with every move and the ill-fitted sheets wouldn't stay on the mattress. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karl V
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit with us, and your feedback regarding it! We really enjoyed hosting your group event. Everyone we encountered was so nice and seemed so relaxed and genuinely happy to be here! Its great knowing that you guys had such a great time. We appreciate your feedback regarding lighting and cabin numbers. We will definitely take... More 

Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2014

I have stayed in Fontana rooms and cabins while with both large and small groups of MINI Coopers. The staff has always been friendly and accommodating. It's not a 5 star luxury place, but who needs that when you're only there to sleep. The rest of the time is spent having a blast on the surrounding roads. I like the... More 

Helpful?
Thank beamer1127
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a nice review! We are so pleased to hear that you have stayed with us during multiple events. We love the Mini Cooper events; they are always so much fun! We have a very relaxing atmosphere here, which makes for a great place to relax and get away from everything! The Wi-Fi expansion has... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2014

Our room (already overpriced) had no shampoo or hair dryer. But worse was the dirty towel from previous guest left hanging on bathroom door. Yuck. No wifi and no cell service. Pool and lazy river were excellent.

Helpful?
1 Thank catchme888
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit with us. We are happy that you enjoyed the pool and lazy river. We hope you were able to participate in other onsite amenities as well. I sincerely apologize for the housekeeping error regarding dirty towels and no shampoo. I hope you were able to call the front desk and have the situation resolved... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2014 via mobile

I found this place online and knew absolutely nothing about it when I booked it. What a pleasant surprise when we arrived. The property is huge, there are so many things to do and the staff is so friendly! We went over Labor Day weekend where they had bands, a cookout and fireworks!!! We had so much fun staying here.... More 

Helpful?
Thank BlueEyez413
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a great review! We are so happy that you chose to spend your Labor Day Weekend with us! We have many onsite amenities for our guests to enjoy and it sounds like you were able to take part in those. We can't wait to have you and your friends back! More 

350 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (298)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (137)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana Dam
10.6 km away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
611 reviews
12.7 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Robbinsville
27.4 km away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.7 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Andrews
83 reviews
27.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Cades Cove Inn
35.0 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fontana Village Resort, a year round destination resort, is set amidst the pristine beauty of the Nantahala Forest of western North Carolina, gateway to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. The Village has a wide range of accommodations, including rooms in the intimate settings of The Lodge, suites, cabins in the forest, as well as RV & tent camping on Cheoah Lake. Add conference space, complimentary wi-fi service, restaurants and lounges, General Store, gift shops, outfitters, pools, marina, fitness center, mountain bike shop, miles of on-site trails suitable for biking and hiking, and it's easy to see why Fontana is a Great Smoky Mountain Destination. The resort offers an assortment of dining options including the Mountview Restaurant and the Wildwood Grill offering resort-casual dining and event catering. The Pitstop offers a fast fare menu for guests or travelers on the go. If watersports are on your itinerary during your stay, the Fontana Marina, located on the beautiful 30 mile long Fontana Lake, has an assortment of different watercraft rentals and equipment available. The Marina's ship store offers a complete line of tackle, light groceries and snacks and anything else guests might need for a perfect day on the water. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fontana Village Resort

Address: 300 Woods Rd, Fontana Dam, NC 28733-7603
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Fontana Dam
Price Range: $187 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fontana Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Fontana Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Village Hotel Fontana Dam
Fontana Village Fontana Dam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fontana Village Resort staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Rome, Georgia, United States
Longview, Texas
over a year ago
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Fontana Village Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some cabins have shower/sink in the bedroom, and private toilet. Check configuration cabin. Cabins are rustic,comfortable size.”
 of 5 bubbles RNYClakelanier, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Complete seclusion. Private decks. Spacious rooms. Full kitchen too stocked so we could cook our own feasts.”
 of 5 bubbles 349tracyw, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the lodge, which had great views”
 of 5 bubbles 719HDTraveler, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The hotel/lodge rooms were much nicer than the cabins”
 of 5 bubbles marylynneo2016, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Resort is a bit spread out, you will need a car to effectively utilize the resort.”
 of 5 bubbles 127MichaelK, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay