We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Colonial Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Colonial Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 137: English reviews
Franklin, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We rented a cabin in Franklin, NC and we decided to come to Franklin four days prior to getting in our cabin. We stopped at the Colonial Inn and looked at a room, spoke with management and decided to stay here until we could go to our cabin. We stayed here all four days and was very happy with our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ruthfowler2010
BESTCOLONIALINN, Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking valuable time to rate our small business

Spalding, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My first impression of The Colonial Inn was that it was very dated in decor, I don't think it has been redecorated since the 1980s. Don't let the decor put you off though, as this motel was the cleanest I've seen recently - the bed was ridiculously comfortable and the shower was great. Something to note is that the card...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kara D
BESTCOLONIALINN, Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking valuable time to rate our small business

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

along the countryside with dark fast approaching and no room reserved anywhere. We were given the number to the Colonial Inn and were able to obtain a room at last minute. Being that it was dark and we were not familiar with our surroundings and have no GPS, we had to call the office several times for directions. Everyone there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen S
BESTCOLONIALINN, Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking valuable time to rate our small business

Homosassa, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Colonial Inn is a great place to stay at a great price. The price was so reasonable, that I was leery of staying there. But, after reading the reviews, I booked a room and was not disappointed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We were given access to wi-fi, coffee in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roseiacovella70
BESTCOLONIALINN, Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking valuable time to rate our small business

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is an older property and I expected an average or poor experience as I usually stay in higher in properties. The owner was courteous and kind, even though I showed up after hours (11pm) to check in. Room was clean, bathroom was spotless and bed was comfortable. Very pleasant experience from an owner who really cares about his business.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wdmiller99
BESTCOLONIALINN, Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking valuable time to rate our small business

tamj999
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We only stayed one night passing thru, but it was a comfortable place. Close to lots of eating places and in nice area. The room was dated but good for price. The only issue we had was the heat/air unit was up high and had to climb on chair to turn it on. I found that strange.. But overall room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tamj999
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The motel, inside and out, was clean and fresh. Simple but very nice. Everything you would want in a quick, inexpensive place to stay, but nicer and cleaner than most others you would imagine. Staff was friendly. One of the cheaper places we found for a late night stop while travelling through. Definitely got our money's worth and more.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travis M
BESTCOLONIALINN, Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking valuable time to rate our small business

Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I just spent a week at the Colonial Inn and were happy with our stay. It's a basic road side property, but the owner (Patel) prides himself on keeping a very clean property. We were also pleased that our bed was comfortable especially since the rates are so reasonable. Another plus was that the motel is not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChildofChrist
BESTCOLONIALINN, Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking valuable time to rate our small business

Austria
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Clear room, peaceful. But they prefer cash and give you a "penalty" for paying with credit card. Booked the hotel online, but where suprised that for all you pay with your kredit card, they charge you 2 dollars extra per transaction. We found this "information" only at the reception of this motel ... not online and not on booking.com.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theaustrian82
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff, clean rooms, peaceful. Will stay again. Family had 8 rooms for 3 nights, Labor day weekend. No complaints! Have been staying here for 8 years. Will continue every labor day..Owner and his wife and a handyman named Gary made it a great stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
BESTCOLONIALINN, Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking valuable time to rate our small business

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franklin
7.2 km away
Hampton Inn Franklin
Hampton Inn Franklin
#1 of 13 in Franklin
554 reviews
3.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Franklin
7.0 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 13 in Franklin
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Knights Inn Franklin
Knights Inn Franklin
#6 of 13 in Franklin
36 reviews
17.0 km away
Mountain Valley Inn
Mountain Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Dillard
83 reviews
17.6 km away
Knights Inn Dillard
Knights Inn Dillard
#3 of 3 in Dillard
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Colonial Inn Franklin is located near many of North Carolina's most appealing sites such as the Smokey Mountain Center for the Performing Arts, Scaly Mountain, Sheffield Mine, Gold City Amusement and the Great Smokey Mountain Railway. This Hotels affiliate offers guests free high-speed wireless internet access, free parking, seasonal outdoor pool, fax/copy service, guest laundry and pets are accepted with additional charges in select rooms only.Online reservation customer need to call for availability of pet friendly room ... more   less 

Additional Information about Colonial Inn

Address: 3157 Georgia Rd, Franklin, NC 28734-7343
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Franklin
Price Range: $71 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Colonial Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Franklin, North Carolina
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Colonial Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Old fashion motor court style. The rooms farther from the main road would be better.”
 of 5 bubbles roseiacovella70, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Nice more-for-your-money spot”
 of 5 bubbles 483travism, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All first floor rooms. A/C units are in the rear of the room so you can sit outside in a rocking chair without the noise.”
 of 5 bubbles benj889, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are on one level”
 of 5 bubbles judygY5801WH, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All on one floor, a few steps to room.”
 of 5 bubbles 165earlg, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay