Econo Lodge

Econo Lodge

Traveller (27)
Guest room with king bed(s)
Room & Suite (34)
Breakfast area
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

1.5
#4 of 4 motels in Gastonia
2.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
2.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
2.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Thank you for choosing our Hotel and being our guest! Since we are all aware of the critical situation that is happening around the world with COVID-19 we would like to assure you as our guest that our Hotel is taking standards for hygiene and cleanliness very seriously and are taking steps to ensure the safety of our guests and associates. The health and safety of our guests and associates is our top priority. In accordance with recommendations from public health officials including the CDC, we have implemented enhanced operating protocols from check in to check out and everything in between. This includes the following: Guest Rooms: We are using cleaning and disinfecting protocols to clean rooms after guests depart and before the next guest arrives, with particular attention paid to high-touch items. Public Spaces: We have increased the frequency of cleaning and disinfecting in public spaces, with a focus on the counter at the front desk, elevators (and elevator buttons), door handles, public bathrooms and even room keys. Back of House: In the spaces where associates work “behind the scenes,” we are increasing the frequency of cleaning and focusing on high-touch areas like associate entrances, laundry rooms and staff offices. Simplify travel with an easy stop on the road at the Econo Lodge® hotel in Gastonia, NC near Rankin Park. Our Gastonia hotel is located off Interstate 85 at exit 17, making it convenient to explore area attractions like: Schiele Museum Martha Park Rivers The Little Theater of Gastonia Lineberger Park Gaston Pickers We help you stick to your budget by providing economical and reasonable amenities like: Free Easy Starts® continental breakfast Free WiFi Seasonal outdoor pool Business center Free parking Your clean and inviting room will make your stay more enjoyable, as will amenities like a flat-screen TV with cable, microwave and refrigerator that are available in each one. The Econo Lodge is easy to find, easy to book and easy on your wallet. Gastonia hotels like ours make travel easier on everyone so you can focus on the important reasons why you travel. Book now.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Self-serve laundry
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Hotel links
Special Offer:Stay 2x, Get a $50 Gift Card
23Reviews1Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1
  • 1
  • 3
  • 2
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Wendy N wrote a review Oct 2020
Aliquippa, Pennsylvania11 contributions
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Where do I begin?
Let's start with the positive.
1. The front desk clerk was very nice and helpful.
2.The rooms were cheap.
3. The sheets and bed were clean.
4. The microwave worked and was clean.
5.It's located right off of the exit from I 85 and they offered smoking rooms.
Now the negative.
1. Our room key repeatedly didn't work and we had to go to the front desk to have it rescanned.
2. The ceiling light inside the front door flickerd like a strobe light and had exposed wires.
3. The walls, ceiling and door frames were covered in dirt and mold.
4. The bed covering was thin and covered with cigarette burns.
5. The pillows were thin and for a king size bed, they only had three pillows.
6. The refrigerator was not clean and still has remnants of food inside.
7. There was a standing lamp without a bulb.
8. The corners of the ceilings had cobwebs.
9. The bathroom doorknob was broken and it appeared as if someone had kicked it open.
10. The front door safety latch was not placed correctly and did not prevent the door from being opened.
11. The front door appeared to have been pried open as the door had a large dent in the side.
12. The smoke detector was in the desk/dresser and was missing from the ceiling. Totally inoperable. Not cool especially since it was a smoking room.
13. The toilet paper was on the sink area since they did not install a toilet paper roll holder.
14. There were no towel bars. They only provided two small hooks on the door.
Summary, we would only stay here again if there is no other choice. The place needs a thorough scrubbing and maintenance overhaul. There is no reason in the world that this room should have been so filthy and run down. During this time of Covid, I don't particularly trust rooms that appear dirty. That means that they certainly haven't been properly disinfected. Thank goodness I had my own disinfecting gear with me or we would have stayed somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tina M, General Manager at Econo Lodge
Responded 9 Oct 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the situations you encountered during your stay. Please know, your description of your stay is highly unusual and does not represent the high standards we aim to achieve. We take all reports of lacking service and your suggestions for improvement, particularly those that you have raised. We greatly appreciate your time in bringing a number of important matters to light and we hope that you will find your expectations to be far surpassed during your next stay with us. We hope you allow us another opportunity to exceed your expectations on your next trip to the area.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
suzi l wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our worst hotel ever. We had to ask people loitering near front entrance to let us pass to get to front desk to log in. The fridge and smoke detector did not work. Filthy room. Broken toilet seat. Broken towel rack hanging halfway off wall. Filth, gum etc. on floor and walls. People loitering outside room all night arguing about "give me your money etc". Our one little dog barked when hearing the commotion outside our room and then those loitering outside where making noises trying to entice the dog to bark more. In the morning there was debris everywhere outside - towels, empty food containers, bottles, kids toys and junk strewn everywhere. At 6:30 am while walking our dogs we were approached by a guy that wanted to sell us drugs. Just awful. Immediately went in room and packed our belongings and found a hotel elsewhere. Felt scared and unsafe. As we were leaving a man pulled in and was slouched over in the car behind the wheel. Going to write letter to NC Division of Public Health and Safety.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Do not stay here. This hotel needs extreme cleaning of rooms and updates to broken equipment and...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Econo Lodge
Responded 10 Apr 2023
Dear 155suzil, Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and detailed review regarding your most recent stay. I hope you will accept our sincerest apologies for the fridge, smoke detector, toilet seats, cleanliness, and these maintenance mishaps that you have encountered and that you did not receive immediate action regarding the necessity of correcting such issues as quickly as possible. We have briefed our housekeeping staff, and we will ensure a more stringent approach from here on, especially when it comes to enhancing our regular quality checks. It is through feedback like yours that we are able to quickly address housekeeping, maintenance, and staff courtesy issues. We promise to deliver and match your expectations in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rosita b wrote a review Nov 2015
6 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Terrible experience, booked on Expedia quickly to find a place to stop for the night. There were shady people all around, the lobby was stinky...almost left and then decided we would just crash out and hit the road. We requested. Non smoking room but the room smelt like someone just smoked inside, no shampoo, broken lock on the door (looked like it had been kicked in..a few times). Pulled the cover off the bed and there it was...bodily fluid all over the bed and it looked wet 😳...I decided that was way too much ...I am still working on a refund! I left 10min after arriving and stayed a hotel close by. They gave a run around that I had to speak to a manager but only at 7am...I called the next morning and the manager said he would call me back because there was a fire in one of the rooms!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge
Responded 3 Dec 2018
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! I regret to hear that you weren't impressed with the surrounding environment. Rest assured that there will be no harm that will come to our guest as we ensure strict security for everyone's safety. Please keep us in mind for your next stay in the area.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda S wrote a review Sept 2012
Washington, District of Columbia, United States6 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I planned the trip to the Charlotte NC suburbs in a hurry--wanting to be a part of the live audience hearing President Obama, Sept 6. Because many hotels were booked, I thought the Red Carpet in Gastonia would be clean and safe, in a close by suburb of the city, and that would be acceptable. I expected small towels and tiny facecloths, but what I didn't expect was a door that appeared to have had forced entry, and either knife or bullet holes in the nearby window drape. I also didn't count on people walking around late, or feeling the need to check on my small car with a NE-US car tag/election campaign bumper sticker throughout the night as I wrestled with the temp controls of a window/heating air conditioning unit. When I asked questions, requested help from the staff--they were pleasant but refused to give the name of the hotel owner/manager or to make any amends. They got fees for 2 nights when I stayed only 1. I have traveled many places, enjoying family owned, small business hotels, guest houses, inns and BnBs. I'm not picky. But I must be safe when I travel. This is one hotel I cannot recommend. Dr. Linda L. Smith
Read more
Date of stay: September 2012
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Visit the room BEFORE paying. If you choose to spend $$ staying in the hotel, ask for a room...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Prav77 wrote a review Aug 2010
Syracuse, New York3 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a really good price... the rooms and the pool was really clean and had no problem just relaxing for a night.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2010
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anthony C wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed the night and I was in a rush to leave in a morning so when I checked out I left some money in the drawer and as soon as I noticed I called up there thinking they would be honest but they took $400 and no one else stayed in the room yet so it had to be a coworker. And they say anything left in the room is there’s and now I can’t pay my bills
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge
Responded 21 Jan 2020
Hi anthonycS4763EU, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the situations you encountered during your stay. Please know, your description of your stay is highly unusual and does not represent the high standards we aim to achieve. We will communicate and forward your feedback to the management team to look into this and address it as soon as possible. Once again we apologize for the inconvenience caused. Thank you for your feedback and we value your business.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wanda M wrote a review Oct 2018
Columbus, Ohio9 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
2 nite stay for 2 people over $200. 1. The key card would take several tries to get it open.
2. Opened the door and the smell almost knocked me down, there were 2 spray bombs in the floor! First thought was oh no bugs, but it was hospital disinfectant bombs. There was a big puddle under one can. We cleaned it up with towels that turned black! We were too tired to change rooms, but I was up and down all nite coughing from the flumes. 3.The next morning told manger asked for a mop, didn't get till after 1pm. Housekeeping sat it inside the door and said here's your mop. 4.My pillow didn't have a pillowcase. 5. I asked for non-smoking and there were cig. burns in the room. 6. Smoke Detector had no cover or battery and thats only the 1st 6 complaints!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge
Responded 3 Dec 2018
Thank you for sharing your experience, and I apologize if you did not feel that our housekeeping met your own standards of cleanliness, though our own standards are very high and include checking up to ensure that rooms are as clean as can be. We want to assure you that the issues which you have brought to our attention are being addressed with renewed efforts to improve upon our policies to ensure that each guest has a pleasant and comfortable experience in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DMtraveler58134 wrote a review Apr 2016
Roanoke, Virginia26 contributions19 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This used to be a decent place, but it has gone way down hill. Even when the condition of the inn was better, there were some "dealings" going on in the parking lot, and someone called my room, asking if I wanted some company. For a better room and a safer stay, go next door to the Motel 6 and get a room on the back side with a view of the Red Carpet Inn and its parking lot. You will be entertained.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Run, do not walk, to another inn.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge
Responded 3 Dec 2018
DMtraveler58134, Thank you for rating your recent experience at our hotel. It is our goal to provide the best lodging experience to our valued guests and your comments are enlightening and revealing. We want you to experience the best value for your money, to feel comfortable, and to have your expectations exceeded; I hope that this will be the case during your next stay with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Conniep1978 wrote a review Jul 2015
Montana5 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
smoking side not worth money . The staff was great as they changed my room 3 time's the breakfast was ok your not allowed to eat in room.But the door's to the room should be fixed on all 3 room's and the pool was out of order looked like it had been for some time.Cleaning staff was very friendly also there are papa john pizza ,dunkin donut and a gas station near bye walking distance and finally the cop's were there 2 out of 5 night's we stayed
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: nice staff wouldn't do it again
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge
Responded 3 Dec 2018
Conniep1978, Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey and share your experience! Your satisfaction and enjoyment are very important to us and we appreciate your comments regarding the pool and the door of our rooms where we can improve . We will address the maintenance task right away for the benefit of our future guests, which hopefully will include yourself.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tobi14 wrote a review Apr 2015
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the worst place I have ever seen! If you stay make sure you look at the room first! I made the mistake of paying first and when I got to the room there were drywall screws holding the door frame together. The smell was awful the floor creaked there was a 1/2" gap were you could see outside with the door closed and black mold in the bathroom. I went back to the office and asked for my money back as I wouldn't be staying there. She pointed to a sign on the deck and said no! I have never posted a review before but I felt like I had to try to help other people not fall victim to this place. It needs a bulldozer period.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge
Responded 3 Dec 2018
Tobi14, Thank you for pointing out the issues with housekeeping so that we can work to improve upon this aspect of the guest experience at our hotel. It is disheartening to learn that you did not enjoy your stay and that the room was not properly and thoroughly cleaned and maintained according to the high standards of our housekeeping and maintenance staff. We hope you'll return someday to see how we're improving.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Getaway46907491350 wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't stay here was kicked out during tornado for.Calling corporate about the loud noises at 2am . NO REFUND NO BREAKFAST. NOTHING BUT TRASH"
Read full review
suzi l wrote a tip Apr 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not stay here. This hotel needs extreme cleaning of rooms and updates to broken equipment and some sort of security to protect patrons. "
Read full review
boberg6 wrote a tip Feb 2019
19 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not make reservations there."
Read full review
DMtraveler58134 wrote a tip Apr 2016
Roanoke, Virginia26 contributions19 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Run, do not walk, to another inn."
Read full review
Conniep1978 wrote a tip Jul 2015
Montana5 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"nice staff wouldn't do it again"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Gastonia area.
PRICE RANGE
S$91 - S$107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
motel 6 gastonia, motel six gastonia, gastonia motel 6, gastonia motel six
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Red Carpet Inn & Suites - Gastonia
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaGastonia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ECONO LODGE: UPDATED 2024 Motel Reviews, Price Comparison and 88 Photos (Gastonia, NC) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Econo Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Econo Lodge?
Nearby attractions include The Schiele Museum of Natural History (4.6 km), Rankin Lake Park (0.8 km), and Xtreme Xcapes (4.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Econo Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Econo Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Econo Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Econo Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Webb Custom Kitchen, Tony's Ice Cream, and Ray's Country Smokehouse-Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Econo Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Econo Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Econo Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Gastonia HotelsGastonia Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GastoniaHotels near Econo Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire