We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards

Save
Share
214 Half Mile Dr, Highlands, NC 28741
Booking.com
StayForLong
Prestigia.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (262)
Room & Suite (282)
Dining (56)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Discover a luxury country inn surrounded by natural landscapes and mountain vistas just a five-minute drive from downtown Highlands, NC. An expanse of green lawn with vegetable gardens and view of glistening Apple Lake welcome you, while the rambling farmhouse, additional guest quarters and garden house grace the top of the hill. A complimentary chef-made breakfast, champagne arrival and afternoon hors d'oeuvres come daily with every stay, and the J. Henry Farmhouse Tavern features a full bar and light bites with daily features. Feel at home in beautiful guestrooms and cabins with rustic-luxe décor, fireplaces and balconies with tranquil views of the courtyard, lake and forest. Take a dip in the hillside heated mineral pool and whirlpool, trek the wooded trail, bicycle on a country road, canoe or paddle board the lake, and take a picnic basket to your own corner of the property. Half-Mile Farm is a peaceful getaway by Old Edwards Hospitality where guests age 18 and older can relax and recharge in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. Half-Mile Farm is a full-service hotel. A front desk is open and staffed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Daily housekeeping is included in the room rate. Private bathrooms are included in all accommodations.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Canoeing
Couples massage
Adults only
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Complimentary welcome drink
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Fishing
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
24-hour security
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
383Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 342
  • 22
  • 10
  • 6
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
bonnie pfeiffer wrote a review 2 Dec
Peachtree City, Georgia1 contribution
Having visited Half Mile Farm in August it was wonderful experiencing it in another season….and found it to be as enchanting in fall as in late summer. This lovely inn and its warm friendly staff will transcend you to another realm. The breakfasts are delectable and J. Henry’s Tavern great for a light bite and cocktails or wines. In our particular suite the decor was an eclectic blend of antique and contemporary furnishings. Very pleasing plus the added bonus of a heated bathroom floor! Highly recommend that you book this soon as they fill up quickly! Bonnie Pfeiffer
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jeremy G wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
+1
Oh how we enjoyed our stay at Half Mile Farm. So quaint and welcoming. Our room was beautiful and the staff was so helpful and seemed eager to please. The daily breakfast was always delicious. The friendly bar and bartender were also great. There are many nearby peaceful hikes to enjoy as well. We cannot wait for our next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Traveltrips123 wrote a review Nov 2022
Hartwell, Georgia50 contributions54 helpful votes
+1
Fabulous hide away mins from downtown Highlands! They offer a shuttle service into town which is extremely convenient! Offer map w plenty of hiking trails all around! Beautiful location and food is available for dinner should one decide your not interested in going into town!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: We had 2 different rooms and preferred our balcony fireplace room however both rooms were perfect...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
O6855RScharless wrote a review Nov 2022
Decatur8 contributions
We have been regulars to the plateau for 20 years, stayed all over and Half Mile is the best. I recommend a king wooded view suite with a fireplace, room 28 or 29 if you can get it. Vivian at the front desk is the best. No children is a real plus!!! B
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ragushill wrote a review Nov 2022
New Hampshire85 contributions41 helpful votes
Service, food, and ambiance left nothing to be desired. Several miles from downtown Highlands (easy drive or hotel shuttle) was a great way to take in the festivities of downtown and still enjoy a quiet stay. Recommend Halloween week as the town goes all out.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Joe K wrote a review Nov 2022
Our anniversary stay at the Half Mile Farm was spectacular. From the great service each day at breakfast, to the warm greeting from VIvian during check-in, everything was first class. The grounds were beautiful and the close location to downtown Highlands was a plus. We stayed in the Captains cabin which was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. This is the place to stay in Highlands.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Barb B wrote a review Nov 2022
9 contributions1 helpful vote
Half Mile Farm was disgusting. We were put in the attic of a RUSTIC cabin (up about 20+ outside stairs and we are in our late 70s). Shower is in an old claw foot tub. I would not risk getting in and out of THAT; property is definitely NOT ADA compliant. Room phone did not work. Thermostat was unmanageable. Sink drain was sooo slow (disgusting). We had to hike across a field and UP to the main building to catch a shuttle to town for our dinner reservation and there was no seating available on the shuttle (?!). Personnel was arrogant and unaccommodating. Wine in their bar cost between $15 - $20 per glass. Really? We left the property 2 hours after checking in. Half Mile Farm is a ripoff and a complete JOKE.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amanda Sullivan, Marketing at Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards
Responded 2 weeks ago
Barb, we are sorry that you did not read the notice in the website room description stating that stairs are required to reach these particular cabin rooms. And also that this is, in fact, a separate cabin located down the lawn from the main house, as opposed to one of our modern farmhouse guestrooms that are configured more like standard hotel rooms. It sounds as if one of those would have been more suitable for your specific needs and preferences. Had you mentioned any physical limitations during our confirmation call to go over your details, we would have ensured you were aware of the stairs. The clawfoot tubs in the cabins are in keeping with the historic character and are another reason the cabins are not listed among our ADA accommodations. The dinner shuttle runs every hour, and when you mentioned you didn't want to be in town that early before your dinner, we offered to take you at a customized time, but then you decided to catch the next shuttle instead, and it turned out to be full given that it was Halloween and everyone was heading into town for the festivities. We appreciate your feedback on the slow sink drainage and are looking into that. (The phone and thermostat were found to be in proper working order.) We are also examining our wine list with an eye toward adding a few value options at a lower price point. We hope when you return to Highlands you are able to find accommodations more suitable to your specific needs, and we wish you well in your future travels.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JD wrote a review Oct 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
I honestly can't say enough wonderful things about this property. I've stayed at many luxury hotels and this truly lives up to my expectations of luxury due to the accommodations, property, and most of all the service of the employees. If I could take my room home, I would. We stayed in a Woodland Suites Luxury King Balcony, which came with a Nespresso maker, heated bathroom floors, fireplace, one of the most comfortable beds, scenic balcony, and soaking tub. Plus plenty of closet space!!! Nothing better than sitting on the balcony with a coffee in the morning looking at the beautiful trees. The food was delicious every morning, as were the items served in the bar at night. The grounds were peaceful, quiet, and restorative. Every person I interacted with was kind, hospitable, and helpful. Leaving was hard and I can't wait to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kellie wrote a review Oct 2022
Charlotte, North Carolina340 contributions163 helpful votes
+1
Add another 5-star review to the pile! Half-Mile Farm is worthy of all the praise. From the other reviews, you already know it’s amazing, so here are the things I wish I’d known before I got to our Woodland Suites Luxury King Balcony Fireplace room. Room toiletries & amenities – our bathroom came equipped with Molton Brown shampoo, conditioner, bath gel, body lotion, bath salts, loofah, nail file, shower cap, cotton balls, and Q-tips (and heated floors). There were also two robes and two pairs of slippers, along with a safe, TV, Nespresso maker and pods, remote-controlled fireplace, and private balcony. Definitely worth splurging to get this room! Pillows – the only terrible part of the entire weekend. I should have snagged the extras in the closet to make one full pillow. Food/beverages – the bar opens at noon, and they serve small bites along with sandwiches/burgers; you could definitely make it work for dinner. Free coffee is in the main house before breakfast begins (at 8 am), and there are free cookies all day, too; free S’mores packages await you in the evening. There are water stations on the property where you can fill up your water bottle, so be sure to bring one. Breakfast is included, but you don’t know what it is til that morning when the staff posts a chalkboard menu outside the dining area. There’s one appetizer and one entrée, and it changes daily from sweet to savory. Shuttle – there’s a shuttle that will take you downtown, and the staff was super accommodating to take us early since we had dinner reservations before the shuttle officially started running at 6 pm. Animals – we saw a bear and her cubs and a deer and her fawn on the other side of the pool where the apple trees are. Staff – just the best. No request went unattended to, and everyone was SO friendly. We can't wait to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
andrewtallred wrote a review Oct 2022
Atlanta, Georgia2 contributions1 helpful vote
Half-Mile Farm is a wonderful place to stay. The warm greeting and tour (and Champagne!) set the tone for a great weekend stay. It would be tough to stay anywhere else on our next trip to the Highlands. The room was charming, tastefully appointed, and included many creature comforts (gas fireplace, soaking tub, and heated floors). The grounds were beautiful, serene, and well-kept. The breakfasts were very well done - it was nice to walk downstairs and have an excellent, hassle-free meal. The evening social our was a favorite. It was nice to be able to sip wine by a warm fire outside and chat with the other guests. Every single person on staff was warm, helpful, and service-minded. We would recommend Half-Mile to anyone, and we will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
the inn at half mile farm hotel highlands
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina MountainsHighlands
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HALF-MILE FARM BY OLD EDWARDS: UPDATED 2022 Inn Reviews, Price Comparison and 661 Photos (Highlands, NC) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards
Which popular attractions are close to Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards?
Nearby attractions include Highland Excursion (1.9 km), Dry Falls (3.7 km), and Glen Falls (1.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a free welcome drink during their stay.
Is parking available at Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ristorante Paoletti, Wolfgang's Restaurant & Wine Bistro, and Kilwins Highlands.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Sky Valley Overlook (14.6 km).
Is Half-Mile Farm by Old Edwards accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.