We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Skyline Lodge and Restaurant

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 141: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

I would highly recommend never staying here. Everything I asked for upon booking they did not give us. Musty, old and very unfriendly and too expensive for not offering decent amenities! I said wifi was important; it didn't work in our room, the television went on and off. We asked for a view, no view; no fireplace and the hiking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
PAUL S, General Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review

..thank you ,,this is exactly the review we expected from you ....you did not disappoint us ....you did not stay here and you have never even seen our property ......

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Wife and I tried Skyline for the first time last weekend (FRI night). The lodge and rooms are dated - 1970's era. Single pane glass windows. 4 inch square tiles lining the bathtub with copious amounts of black mold on the grout/caulk (I have pictures). The fairly new combo heat - A/C unit stopped working (set on heat) in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron T
PAUL S, General Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review

Our guests write ; "Simply delightful, from our morning coffee on our corner balcony as the sun rose over the opposing mountain to drifting off to sleep to the soft music of a waterfall & a crackling fire in our fireplace. Amenities include pool, sauna, steam room, fitness center, tennis courts, fishing pond, hiking trails & more - no need...

Georgia
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Altitude is Skyline Lodge's restaurant. It has some pretty views. Unlike some popular restaurants in Highlands, it uses nice linens for the tabletops. It feels a bit more formal although the waitress we had was very informal. The prices were higher than I expected but the prime rib roast was delicious. The chocolate cake was a chocolate delight. It packed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laniappe
PAUL S, General Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review

..thank you for dining with us .........we always have fantastic views....and they are particularly spectacular in October ..so much colour ...happy trails

athens GA
Reviewed 12 October 2016

This cottage is beautiful and very comfortable. It offers all amenities for a glorious visit to the North Carolina mountains. Fabulous restaurant on property. 3 large bedrooms 3.5 bathrooms, large kitchen, fireplace and a gorgeous wrap around covered porch with rocking chairs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cator H
PAUL S, General Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review

......thank you and happy trails to you ...

Reviewed 30 September 2016

There is an echo in the mountain valley as the strings play "In the Pines" at the Community Center in Cashiers while we all ate fried fish. This small town is a few miles east over the mountain from the Skyline Lodge and Restaurant. Highlands is four miles west on Highway 64. If you enjoy gourmet food, then you have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dianne M
PAUL S, General Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review

..thank you for your kind words and review ....with so many menu items and features , we thought there was a good price variance ..and something for everyone ... happy trails to you .........

Seneca
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We initially booked this lodge because it was close to a wedding which we were attending and because like many of the hotels in the area, The Skyline Lodge didn't require a 2 night stay. Location is lovely and secluded. There really isn't anything that we would change in that regard! Our room was fine with a small balcony on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
PAUL S, General Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review

......thank you for your compliments and observations ,,yes indeed the server did get some bad news and it effected his attitude that day ..he is usually much much more fun ....I do thank you for taking the time to write and giving us a positive review overall ..... happy trails to you ..........

Ocala, Florida
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Simply delightful, from our morning coffee on our corner balcony as the sun rose over the opposing mountain to drifting off to sleep to the soft music of a waterfall & a crackling fire in our fireplace. Amenities include pool, sauna, steam room, fitness center, tennis courts, fishing pond, hiking trails & more - no need to leave the grounds....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry C
PAUL S, General Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review

you are so very welcome ,,,you took the words right out of my mouth ,,, thank you for staying with us .........happy trails

Brevard, North Carolina
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

When in Highlands, I wouldn't stay any where else. The staff was friendly and helpful, the food superb, and the seclusion was wonderful. I enjoyed the no ac, the sauna and the hot tub. They weren't really serving a lunch menu so we got to order what we wanted...within reason.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnnyv333
PAUL S, General Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review

........thank you for choosing to stay with us .....my staff does go out of their way to help our guests ( it is our job after all ) each and every day ....we all consider it a pleasure and privilege to have you at Skyline ... AND the property a no-stress zone !!!!.....

Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Vintage (in a good way), 1920's lodge in the beautiful Highland Mountains. This was our second time staying at this property; for the area this is by far your best value. Beautiful grounds and interesting mid century architecture. Restaurant and bar on site and several decks to relax on to take in the mountain views. We prefer the waterfall side...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
SkylineLodge, General Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review

...I wish that my own rooms were on that side of the Lodge ,because I live on property ,,,and there is no need of air conditioning ,,,great breezes , cool nights ... thank you for your comments ,,we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us ,,,, happy trails .......

Long Island, New York
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We stayed here for a local wedding. I love rustic but as soon as we got on the property the scent of mold was everywhere - in the rooms, outside the rooms, around the pool, in the workout center, etc. A few of us slept with the balcony doors and every window open and a fan on to help alleviate...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ctccac
SkylineLodge, General Manager at Skyline Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review

It is always unfortunate when someone is upset ,especially about something that happens previously ,and takes it out on the next innocent someone or business they are dealing with . One of Skyline's recent guest's review said ; I own a house in highlands, so I often send relatives to other hotels when we are busting at the seams. Last...

83 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
2.7 km away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
172 reviews
15.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
3.0 km away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#5 of 7 in Highlands
90 reviews
17.7 km away
Hampton Inn Franklin
Hampton Inn Franklin
#1 of 13 in Franklin
554 reviews
2.8 km away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Unbelievable is the word for the Skyline Lodge & Altitudes Restaurant...constructed of Redwood and Granite, begun in 1929 in the Frank Lloyd Wright tradition. Completed in 1965, Skyline offers a magnificent forty mile view and nestled 4,300 feet atop of Flat Mountain overlooking the banks of Big Creek's cascading waterfalls. From the comfortable rooms with balconies and beautiful views to the scrumptious meals at Altitudes , it's definitely a part of Highlands that should be visited and revisited ! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Skyline Lodge and Restaurant

Address: 470 Skyline Lodge Drive, Highlands, NC 28741
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Price Range: $185 - $1,558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Skyline Lodge and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Skyline Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyline Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Highlands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Skyline Lodge and Restaurant staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Lilburn, Georgia
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Skyline Lodge and Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 210. Corner balcony overlooking the gorge, secluded, fireplace.”
 of 5 bubbles larrycU8781HW, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 222 Eagles nest is air conditioned.”
 of 5 bubbles yev2, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Stay on the side the office is on. It MIGHT be better.”
 of 5 bubbles RayW35, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 101 to 110 don't have balcony but do have a fireplace. Most others looked to have a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles nswieder, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in the old building where the office is located. But then who knows what you'll get when you get there.”
 of 5 bubbles president2015, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay