We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2009 S Virginia Dare Trl Milepost 10, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7761
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$202
View deal
Booking.comUS$202
TravelocityUS$202
Hotels.comUS$202
PricelineUS$202
FindHotelUS$202
Trip.comUS$219
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (178)
Room & Suite (187)
Pool & Beach (46)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#8 of 20 hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Oceanfront hotel in the heart of the Outer Banks, NC. Outdoor pool, dune deck, rooms with balconies, FREE continental breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi, and more. Property wide improvements: new breakfast room, lobby, ADA ramp to the dune top deck with beach view (stairs required to sand). Major renovations completed in 2020, 2021 & 2022 in our Four Seasons Building, Sea Building, Easy Beach Access (interior rooms) and SELECT rooms in our Main Building (inquire at time of booking).
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Hiking
Children's playground
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Vending machine
Horseback riding
Water sport equipment rentals
Windsurfing
Fishing
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Seating area
Sofa
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
150Reviews14Q+A32Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 86
  • 27
  • 14
  • 15
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
delawarevisitor2018 wrote a review 14 Sep
Newark, Delaware11 contributions
This was one of the few reasonably priced motels I could find that had good reviews. We had a room in the back and although we didn't have a beach view, we had a small patio and a view of the dunes. But even if you don't have a beach view, you can walk to a couple of sitting areas overlooking the beach. We went up there for the sunrise. The rooms were painted a lovely shade of light blue and were very clean. The beds were comfortable. The people at the front desk were pleasant. We were happy to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Bobbi N wrote a review 5 Sep
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio10 contributions6 helpful votes
We booked a 3 night getaway and decided to extend another night. Rooms were efficient and clean. This property is not brand new nor a Ritz Carlton, but it is an affordable property directly on the beach. The front desk staff was friendly and accomodating to anything we needed - shout out to Erica, who helped book an extra night and kept us in the same room! ;-) We skipped the continental breakfast and decided to venture out to some local breakfast places. We can't wait to come back next year!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: We opted to stay in a basic room since we were steps away from the beach/ocean.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Bobbi J wrote a review Aug 2022
44 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
Our last minute trip to outer banks resulted in all the good rooms (meaning with balcony or some outdoor seating) already being booked. We decided on a “Standard King - Easy Beach Access” room, since that was the only king room available. I wasn’t sure what to expect since there were no pictures of the room on the website and I didn’t see anything this specific on the reviews here. I took a few pictures to help others out with what to expect. We were in room 518. Wins: -The room is nicely remodeled and very spacious. -The bed and all 6! pillows were comfortable. -The air conditioner worked great with standard noise level, not crazy loud. - Room was clean with a larger size mini frig. - Large clean walk in shower with hot water and good water pressure. - Lots of counter space, Separate area for coffee machine. - Only a few steps out the door and down the hall to the beach! - Ice machine close by, and another one a short distance away. - Nice big picture window to let in lots of light with nice room darkening curtains to keep room cool and dark for sleeping. Opportunities for improvement: - No place to hang wet towels and bathing suits. (No balcony or outdoor area for this room type) - Only 4 hangers, so I used those to hang towels. A few more hangers would be helpful. - Limited seating, only one small chair at the table. Overall resort: - Awesome property right on the beach. - Free breakfast, basic continental did the job. - Nice deck overlooking the ocean, nice for sitting in the morning with a coffee! - Pool and Playground for kids (we didn’t use this but others were enjoying) - Very friendly and accommodating staff at front desk! - The ocean front rooms looked amazing, I would love to try those next time!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from whitley mccoy, Marketing at John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Bobbi, Thank you for your review! We are glad we could accommodate you last minute. We really appreciate the feedback you gave us and will definitely take note of those things. We hope that you will be back to visit us in the future! Take care, Front Desk Staff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nick J wrote a review Aug 2022
Palatine, Illinois7 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Spent 2 fantastic nights here, lucky enough to get the penthouse suite overlooking the ocean. Gorgeous view, love the sound of the waves crashing in. Definitely paid for it $$$ Clean room, nice and polite staff. Direct access to the beach. We did meet a "local" late at night in the bathroom, but not unexpected in the south. Highly recommend this place!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Lots of parking even with full hotel. Take advantage of the convenient beach access
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from whitley mccoy, Marketing at John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
Responded 22 Aug 2022
Thanks for your review. We are glad you had a great time and we hope to see you again soon. However if you run into the problem of locals using our property please let the front desk know as we are a private property and our amenities are only for our guest.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Diana L wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
A friend and I enjoyed a 3 day mini vacation at John Yancey and had a wonderful time. Right on the beach. Fantastic location. Clean updated rooms. And a friendly staff. All in all a great hotel. Only downside was we could never get the wi-fi to work. Otherwise we had an amazing time! Definitely would stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from whitley mccoy, Marketing at John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
Responded 22 Aug 2022
Thanks for your review. We are glad you had a great stay other than the wifi issue. We will look into that problem and get it fixed as soon as possible. We hope to see you again soon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Explorethis wrote a review Aug 2022
New York City, New York85 contributions18 helpful votes
You definitely can't beat the location of this hotel. It has its own private beach entrance and is also conveniently located near a lot of other OBX attractions and eateries The breakfast had a decent variety, but it was the same items each day. The room was comfortable. Our only complaint was closing the door made a lot of noise because you really had to push it shut, so we heard other guests' doors opening and closing throughout the night. Just an FYI: Housekeeping does not enter your room and if you need more towels, you need to go to the main building and ask them there. Overall, it was a comfortable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from whitley mccoy, Marketing at John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
Responded 22 Aug 2022
Thank you for your review! We are glad you had a great time at our hotel. We really appreciate your honest feedback and will get the doors looked at and fix the issues you had. Next time you visit you can request a full housekeeping service at the front desk as well as a front desk staff can deliver towels if you do not want to pick them up at the front.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jamie_H2o wrote a review Aug 2022
15 contributions6 helpful votes
Customer service at the front desk was outstanding. Clean rooms and breakfast was very good. The young adults enjoyed the clean pool. The gazebo was a wonderful area for our bible lesson and walking distance to the beach.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from whitley mccoy, Marketing at John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
Responded 22 Aug 2022
Thank you for your review! We look forward to seeing you all when you visit! As always we are glad we could provide an awesome stay for your group and can't wait to have you back again next summer!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer R wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
This was my first visit to John Yancey Oceanfront Inn and I was more than pleased! The staff is great. The room was great. The view was great. The area is convenient with two close-by eateries. This hotel - part, not all - is pet-friendly and was great for my dog and myself. There’s also a small daily breakfast that is offered at no extra cost to guests. This is your perfect place for a beach-getaway!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from whitley mccoy, Marketing at John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
Responded 15 Jul 2022
Thanks for your review, we are glad that you had a great visit and hope to see you again in the future. Thanks, Front Desk Staff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laura D wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Our family came to the OBX for the 4th of July week. After checking in, we had a medical emergency and had to visit there ER. It was necessary to leave the next day after we were discharged. Therefore we only stayed one night. The hotel staff was amazing and very accommodating! They understood our family emergency and gave us a refund. The renovations are awesome! The rooms are tight, but that’s the hotel life! We were sad to leave but will be back for sure!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from whitley mccoy, Marketing at John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
Responded 15 Jul 2022
Thank you for your review, we are sorry for the unforeseen circumstances but we hope all is well now. We hope to see you again soon on better terms. Thanks, Front Desk Staff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bette P wrote a review Jun 2022
Cleveland, Ohio161 contributions136 helpful votes
Stayed three nights (it went way too quickly). The location is great - within walking distance of many restaurants. The beach is beautiful and calming. My ONLY small complaints - only one chair in the room. For two people. Really? Also, it would have been nice if the windows opened so we could hear the ocean.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from whitley mccoy, Marketing at John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
Responded 18 Jun 2022
Thank you for your review! We are glad you had a great time and we hope to have you back soon! We will take those points into consideration as we want to make our guest as comfortable as possible. If there is anything we can do to enhance your future stay please let us know!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$77 - US$194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
john yancey oceanfront hotel kill devil hills, john yancey quality inn, quality inn kill devil hills, kill devil hills quality inn
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina CoastOuter BanksKill Devil Hills
NUMBER OF ROOMS
108
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
Which popular attractions are close to John Yancey Oceanfront Inn?
Nearby attractions include OBX Mystery Dinner (0.4 km), Island Dyes (0.3 km), and American Classics Garage (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at John Yancey Oceanfront Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at John Yancey Oceanfront Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at John Yancey Oceanfront Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, barbeque facilities, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at John Yancey Oceanfront Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to John Yancey Oceanfront Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Beachcombers Tiki Hut, Country Deli, and Kill Devil Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at John Yancey Oceanfront Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at John Yancey Oceanfront Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at John Yancey Oceanfront Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to John Yancey Oceanfront Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wright Brothers National Memorial (2.3 km).
Does John Yancey Oceanfront Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.