We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shutters On the Banks

TravelocityUS$159*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$159*
US$159*
US$159*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Shutters On the Banks
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

958 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 951: English reviews
Start your review of Shutters On the Banks
 Click to rate
Maryville, Tennessee
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed at this hotel while enjoying the Taste of the Beach festival in March. We had stayed here a couple of years ago and had a good experience, so we were excited to return. The staff are exceedingly attentive and friendly. We had a double queen room facing the dunes. Very nicely appointed, although the bedding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Friendly staff and a very good breakfast. They had eggs, bacon, muffins, biscuits and gravy. Also fresh fruit, cereal, waffle maker and a few other items too. To drink they had coffees, milk and 3 different juices. Clean rooms nice beach access.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Micklight
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in the Newly Renovated Tower King Suite w/ Ocean View! Simply Beautiful view! We got earlier enough and saw several dolphins swimming in the ocean!!! Words cant express how much we enjoyed staying @ Shutters! Great staff, friendly. Enjoyed the Belgian waffles!!! The hotel is very clean. You cant go wrong staying here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prophetess Sand... W
Karen V, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review

Dear Prophetess Sand...W, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are so happy you had a chance to experience one of our newly renovated rooms in our tower building. Being on the 3rd or 4th floor to see the ocean views is breath taking and to see the dolphins just "Wow"! So happy you got to...

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrival and check in was easy. Staff was pleasant. We stayed on the fourth floor overlooking the ocean. The room had recently been renovated and they did a good job. There was a crack under our front doorway for bugs to crawl in. We put a towel down to keep them out. The view was nice. There is a large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SueT1980
Karen V, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review

Dear SueT1980, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. We appreciate your kind words on our newly renovated rooms. We are very pleased on how they have turned out. My apologize to you for not having a hair dryer in your room. I will look into why the staff could not locate a hair...

Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose this site since the recent renovation was completed. The top floor (4th) had some great views of the ocean and comfortable chairs on the balcony made for a a very relaxing stay. Beds were comfortable and all the furnishings were new. B'fast was self-serve with waffles, boiled eggs, yogurt, juice, toast. Location was ideal near Wright Memorial.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DotLF
Karen V, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review

Dear DotLF, Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to write about your recent stay. We are happy to hear you had a nice stay. We love our 4th floor rooms over looking the ocean what a beautiful view. Enjoy yur summer ad hope to see you again.

Woodbridge
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I understood this room to be a 'parking lot view', had no idea this meant we still had our own private balcony w/ views of the ocean?!?! We were so very happy w/ our room and you cannot beat the price! Would definitely return again! Also very clean... I am extremely picky about cleanliness and staying in older hotels around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nonnahsvd85
Karen V, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review

Dear nonnahsvd85, Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you were happy with your room that had a balcony and ocean views. We hope to see you again soon.

Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband, daughter, 18 month old grandson and I stayed here in April 2017 on recommendation from our oldest daughter and son-in-law. They are currently in the midst of a major renovation. We had a lovely ocean view room in The Tower. The reno is being done with high quality materials. Our only "complaint" at this time is that in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Valerie S
Karen V, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review

Dear Valerie S, Thank you for your review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and had the experience of our renovated rooms. Yes, we are still putting the finial touches on each room. Sorry you had inclement weather during your stay but at least you still had a chance to get wet! We hope to see...

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We planned a three-night stay at Nags Head and were surprised on our arrival that our room had been upgraded. Wow! Were we lucky! We had a beach view in the tower, with a balcony and a newly redone room. The staff was nice, breakfast was typical and it was in a good location. The only negative we had was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jmits1
Karen V, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review

Dear Jmits, Thank you for your review. We are delighted you had a renovated room and enjoyed your stay. We are sorry you had the 20 mph winds it does get a little breeze here on the beach. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here on a last minute trip. Glad we stayed here. Nice place. Clean. On the ocean. Nice views! The staff were very helpful also. Breakfast was good. Indoor pool nice and clean. Would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 4Askews
Karen V, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review

Dear 4Askews, Thank you for the your review, we appreciate your time and sending in your comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. All my best,

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You can tell that this hotel was recently remodeled. The rooms are fresh and clean, and the beds and linens are very comfortable. They have a walkway leading straight to the beautiful beach. The only real negative was the toilet was very very low. Also, we were on a ground floor and the people above us were very loud.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bill K
Karen V, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this review

Dear Bill K, Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms. We are so lucky to have our walkway to the beach our guest just love it just like you did. We apologize for the noise the guest above you made, and the toilet being low. We hope to see you again...

511 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (262)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (93)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (223)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Beach (3)
Viewed
Double Queen Room with Dune View (26)
Viewed
Efficiency Room (22)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (8)
Viewed
Junior Suite (29)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (4)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Sunrise Suite (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)
Viewed
Tower Room with Dune View (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
2.7 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
814 reviews
0.3 km away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,163 reviews
8.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
0.2 km away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
816 reviews
11.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator,in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. Complimentary continental breakfast. complimentary passes to the YMCA. Newly renovated rooms and efficiencies for 2016. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shutters On the Banks

Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: $196 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters On the Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Shutters On the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shutters On the Banks staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Shutters On the Banks staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick a top floor bedroom in the tower. You cannot see the ocean at all on the bottom floors.”
SueT1980, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Top floor.. 4th”
DotLF, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“All hotel rooms have a private balcony, even though it appears to be 'motel style'.”
nonnahsvd85, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“The Tower rooms are the quietest as they are further from the street and directly on the ocean,”
ValerieS154, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“No elevator. There are rooms that face the ocean in the regular hotel, ask.”
Bucket4Me, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$159* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$159
Orbitz.comUS$159
Hotwire.comUS$159
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates