We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Comfort Inn On The Ocean

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

431 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn On The Ocean
See the most recent reviews
Showing 423: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed recently with a group - 10 rooms, 19 people and we had excellent service. No problems with room types and everyone was happy! Food in the lobby was excellent, loved the pool and the beach was only steps away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank busybea9
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our goal to make sure that every guest is happy and has a great stay with us. We are happy to hear that we met the goal with you. We hope to see you on your next visit to The Outer Banks!...

Midwest
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Nice beachfront hotel. Room with oceanfront view and balcony. Only downside was windows were not washed - covered in salt brine from the ocean. Stayed there two nights... second day got a hand towel soaked in water and cleaned windows myself. WOW. Great view! LOL. There is some remodeling going on - getting to room requires stairs to get to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Travel2Much_2008
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to let us know. Although we are embarrassed that your windows were not clean for you, we are glad that you thought the view spectacular. It will be hard for you to get closer to the sunrise without being in a boat....

Nashville
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Honestly, this hotel was not THAT bad. The hotel itself was sort of dated, packed, and busy. It was two separate buildings, which was weird. But I expect that's what most beachfront hotels are like. There were lots of families staying there, but no one was really annoying or rude. Having the beach super accessible (right out the back door)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tennissinger12
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. It is true that our location on the beach is perfect. We are sorry to hear that Arthur put a damper on your plans and hope that you do decide to join us again on...

Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We started on the 4th floor in a very dingy and dated room. I could see outside from under the balcony door. When we discovered that our cable didn't work we were offered a different room. The staff at the front desk was absolutely awesome. Every time we went through the lobby, they were always very pleasant and seemed genuinely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amber B
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

Thanks you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We apologize for the difficulty you had with your original room. We are glad however that it was quickly resolved. Providing great customer service is something all of our staff strives for and I'm glad that their goal was met with you. We do hope that you...

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel is located near a lot of area attractions. We enjoyed the abundant food at breakfast. Better variety than at a lot of hotels. Disappointed that only one computer was available at business center and it always seemed to be in use. The computer was in a front hallway and would not afford much if any privacy during use....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SCarolinatraveler
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We agree with you that our breakfast selection is great. We like to think that it is the best complimentary breakfast on the beach. We realize that the elevators may seem unusual, but having two allows our guests a better ease of access to the rooms. Thank you again for letting...

Virginia
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We just made an impromptu trip to Nags Head and stayed two nights here. We got a really good deal as it is not high season yet and our room was not on the ocean side of the hotel. As others have said, the hotel is old and undergoing renovations. We were never bothered by the work crews so that...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank rlm50
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to let everyone know. We are also glad you felt that your room was comfortable and that our staff treated you great. We know you hated to leave, but look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to The Outer...

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We booked five nights and picked this hotel as it was ideally located in the Outer Banks. The staff on the front desk were very polite and helpful. We paid a little extra for the ocean view and it was well worth it. Breakfast was super and the constant supply of coffee 24 hours a day in the reception area...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ExplorerChris
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. Our entire staff is happy to hear that you enjoyed your week with us. We are glad that your room was comfortable and that our central location was just what you were looking for. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to The Outer Banks! Thank you again.

High Point, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 June 2014

There are several positives to the hotel. The staff is very friendly. We were walking to the car one morning carrying a cooler and the gentlemen working the complimentary breakfast asked if we needed ice. He came back with a big bucket of ice and would have gotten us more if we wanted it. The location is great. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bruce J
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. Our staff strives to provide every guest with exceptional customer service. We are happy to hear that they met their mark with you. We understand that the double elevators may be slightly different, but we felt that the second elevator would provide our guests with further ease...

Apex, North Carolina
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I traveled with our almost adult children and had a couple of rooms. Ocean access meant we could all come and go as we chose and we found a fabulous restaurant for a family dinner! The rooms are clean, spacious, and offer enough bathroom space for two teenage girls! I appreciated the front desk having hot coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wendy C
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay. We are happy to hear that there was more than enough room for you. Our staff is always working towards provided excellent customer service and we are glad that they made you and your family feel welcome and appreciated. We hope to see you on your next visit!. Thank...

North Carolina
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We checked in May 18th. We were greeted in a friendly manner by Leslie. She was very helpful. The elevator situation is strange but they are going thru renovations. Our room was very clean and we loved our view and balcony. I had problems w/my key getting into the building after a walk on the beach the next morning. Another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LEGrayNorthCarolina

161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
2.4 km away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
1,058 reviews
0.1 km away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
2,262 reviews
11.5 km away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
1,099 reviews
4.3 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
760 reviews
6.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Breakfast Available
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Comfort Inn On The Ocean

Address: 1601 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7754
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: $75 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn On The Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Clarion On The Ocean
Clarion Kill Devil Hills
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Comfort Inn On The Ocean staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Comfort Inn On The Ocean staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get an ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles sawdust444, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“there are better choices”
 of 5 bubbles patrickmJ3736ZY, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The Ocean front rooms have great sunrise views!”
 of 5 bubbles 586rayl, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go for ocean view room”
 of 5 bubbles 245amerd, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We like the ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Mocenigo4, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay