We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2508 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9248
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (14)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (2)

About

#5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Nags Head
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Sandbar is a three story beach cottage in the heart of Nags Head. The inn features three guest rooms, all on the second floor, and is just across the road from the beach. Restaurants, shopping and art galleries are within walking distance. Local attractions are all close by. The owner lives on the third level with his dog. The inn is managed by Beata Faulkner. We delight in pairing comfortable rooms with southern hospitality.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
51Reviews0Q+A12Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 34
  • 9
  • 5
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Linda O wrote a review Aug 2018
Destin, Florida118 contributions48 helpful votes
This b&b is very nicely maintained. We stayed in Pier View Room which was large and had everything we needed. Although we did not use it, it has a nice little pool. Continental breakfast is set out everyday and early evening fruit, cheese, wine as well. Mike is very nice and we enjoyed our stay. Our dogs loved it too!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
John P Roberts III wrote a review Jun 2018
Reisterstown, Maryland6 contributions2 helpful votes
We just got back from an 8-day-stay at the Sandbar (Ocean room) and I couldn't have been happier with our choice. Mike, Carla, Diane and all made us feel right at home. We're not hard to please, but I have absolutely no doubt if there were an issue, they would have been right on it. It's a great value. I think we'll do the roomier Mermaid room next year.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
nakamark wrote a review Oct 2016
Northern Virginia, Virginia281 contributions108 helpful votes
A quaint, personal, bed and breakfast at Nag’s Head – a great find, especially since it was PET FRIENDLY! A three story building with character, we stayed in one of the smaller rooms, but it was a great room for our short stay. It consisted of two twin beds, small tv, a bit tight for the both of us and two dogs, but we did not spend much time in the room, we were in the Outer Banks! We were able to see the larger room (with the balcony), yup, a more comfortable room, two beds, living room area, pull out couch, and a balcony – we will make reservations for the larger room for our next visit. We visited at a great time, the weekend after Labor Day so the crowd was back home, weather still good, and the many great restaurants remained open. Plus: • Pet friendly • Quaint, homey, personal bed and breakfast with character • Community kitchen with a full sized fridge, Keurig coffee maker • Daily pastries, juice, fruits, in the morning; wine and cheese in the afternoon • Community “beach” gear in the closet as well as beach towels to use when you go across the street to the beach * Small pool in the front, but the beach is across the street! • Located in Nags Head, in the middle of OBX, makes it convenient. Minus: • Bring your supply of shampoo, soap, etc. limited, small selection offered • No fridge or microwave in room, but it is available downstairs in the common area * Small television, about the size of a small monitor, in the room, but you are not in OBX to watch television – although during football season, you want to be able to watch your team We will be visiting OBX again and staying at Sandbar again – the next time, we will call in time to reserve the larger room!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for the larger room, with the balcony...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Geobiscuits wrote a review Sep 2016
Albany, New York130 contributions133 helpful votes
After looking at hotels in the area that were at least $200+, we found the Sandbar....and what a find! We stayed in the "ocean room"...has 2 bed (twin and double). There is complementary breakfast, complementary happy hour from 4 to 7pm, complementary just of beach equipment/towels/sunscreen/bikes/pool. What a value! We'll be back! Thanks to Beata, the lovely manager, and Mike, the owner, for your hospitality!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Nav1go wrote a review Apr 2016
Virginia1042 contributions311 helpful votes
This place was perfect for us and our corgi for a quick getaway. We arrived to 3 bottles of wine, crackers cheese and olives about 530. The house smelled freshly cleaned and it's nice that it stays unlocked (your key goes to your room alone). This place truly reflects the casual beach atmosphere that is the Outer Banks. I remember reading a review that it was "too beach" - you're kidding me, right? That's what OBX is - homey, shabby and nick nacky. After a couple of glasses of wine it was time for a walk across the street and on the beach to let our pup stretch her legs. It's also within a block of Red Drum bar which had great calamari, oysters and scallops. And we didn't have to worry about driving after after more wine. We had the place to ourselves and after another walk for our dog, she had some water from the large dog bowl provided and then napped on the tile floor while we relaxed on the couches and watched tv. Our room was small but comfortable and as described. The house was a bit warm for us so we opened the windows and enjoyed the sea breezes. To another reviewer who was disappointed there were no light blocking curtains, I would say that is true, but also not what you find in a beach house. The OBX houses all seek to let in the light. The bed was firmer than we like but in excellent shape and comfortable nonetheless. The bathroom was clean and I'm guessing pretty recently repainted a lovely shade of lavender (I think they missed a few spots - lol). If I were to make a couple of suggestion to the owner I would suggest foam toppers to soften the beds, and some disposable or plastic cups in the bathroom for water. But those are minor minor details and we loved the relaxed, honey and comfortable feel of this place that gladly welcomed our 4 legged baby. We will be back for sure!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mary H wrote a review Sep 2015
1 contribution
We have stayed at the Sandbar for couple of days. The place is extremely clean, conveniently located right across the beach and close to everything. Love the nautical décor. Mike, Beata, Kelli and Princess were wonderful hosts. We will be back again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
3musketeers11 wrote a review Sep 2015
Phillipsburg, New Jersey72 contributions27 helpful votes
We booked this B & B for 6 nights with Beata. Nice lady, helped us with reservations and followed up to confirm. We arrived and were disappointed with the outside - drift wood and coastal decorations all over the place, pool littered with toys. Not to mention the dog poop everywhere around the property! Checked in, went to grab a bite and came back for an early night as we had driven 400+ miles. We slept on the beds and they were extremely creaky and sagged!! Called Beata and she sent the house keeper who could do nothing about the mattresses! We explained to her that for $185+ a night, the least they could do was provide a comfy bed! Beata said that there was a room available the next day if we were willing to pay the difference. There was nothing they could do and she recommended a few other places. So, we checked out into another hotel at 9:30 with a kid and a pet in tow! Few things - we were told there would be wine, cheese & finger sandwiches at 4 for all guests - got there at 4:25 - nothing & no one around. The carpets could use a thorough cleaning! So disappointed with the whole experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SandbarInnkeeper, Manager at Sandbar Bed & Breakfast
Responded 4 Oct 2015
Ms. Padma I appreciate every review we receive from our guests. However your review is far from what have really happened. Yes, our bed and breakfast is decorated with coastal items, but we are on the beach and that is what you will find anywhere in costal region. All of our guests love the décor and we always get lots of complements about it. You have mentioned that there was no one at your arrival- I was there! I greeted you, checked you in and we have talked on several occasions throughout that day. I even offer to walk your dog while you were away from the Inn. You saw me that day at least 4 times. I also have set up happy hour that day. And you know it was set up as you mentioned sandwiches. This was the first time we started offering sandwiches as we normally don't serve them. The Innkeeper came by to clean up Happy Hour - I have her time card for referral. Lastly, you have called me after 9pm that day complaining that the beds weren't comfortable. The Innkeeper came in less than 5 min to the Inn to resolve the problem. We have offered to move you the next day to a different room for the rest of your stay (this room was not available for the first night of your stay). You said that either you get new mattress NOW or you are leaving. At 9:30 pm on Sunday, I couldn't do anything. If there was mattress store open at 9:30 on Sunday, I would have buy you a new mattress. After you left, we have inspected our mattress just to find out that they are extremely comfortable. Beata Faulkner, Property Manager Sandbar Bed & Breakfast
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennie B wrote a review Jun 2015
Durham, North Carolina13 contributions25 helpful votes
We came here for our honeymoon and it was absolutely amazing! The Mermaid room was beautiful with a great porch for relaxing. I was first drawn to the Sandbar because of it's positive dog-friendly reviews, and it did not disappoint. Our dog was treated wonderfully by the staff and we loved having visits from Princess as well. The location right off the beach was perfect for taking dog walks whenever we wanted. The breakfast in the mornings was fantastic and I loved the wine & cheese in the evenings. I had worried that a B&B can sometimes lack privacy but we felt totally at home but also like we could ask questions if need be. My only complaint was that the construction across the street started very early in the morning and made it difficult to sleep in some mornings (but by the look of the construction stage, it should be over soon). We will definitely return on our next visit to the Outer Banks!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Mermaid room is worth the extra price, loved having a stocked fridge for drinks during the day
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
andiegav123 wrote a review Jun 2015
Miller Place, New York44 contributions34 helpful votes
We stayed at the Sandbar Bed and Breakfast for 2 nights the last week in May. The weather was perfect! The house is very cute and the people working there to greet us were very nice. It was very convenient for us, as we could walk across the street to the beach. There's also a great frozen yogurt place down the street that we walked to at night. We went with another family, so we felt like we had the place to ourselves (I think there are 3 rooms, and we had 2 of them). Since we have young kids, it was really convenient to be in this "house" atmosphere and put them to bed at night, and we could go downstairs to the common area and have a drink and relax (we brought our monitor with us). There was also a washer/dryer right outside our room we could use to get our towels and bathing suits clean and dry. The pool was small but nice. I wasn't thrilled with this place because it certainly is starting to show it's age, and there was mold/mildew in the shower of the bathroom (we stayed in the largest room, the mermaid room). I think for the money, it's probably one of the more affordable options in nags head, but I don't know if I would go back. There are definitely positives to this place, but it did not blow me away.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
AMSC70 wrote a review May 2015
Dracut, Massachusetts61 contributions12 helpful votes
This was my 2nd trip to the Outer Banks and this time around opted for a B&B instead of a hotel. The owner and his dog were very friendly and greeted us upon arrival. Our room faced the ocean; which was very nice but the road could be a little noisy. We had our own deck to sit out on. The room was clean and comfortable. Continental breakfast was put out in the morning and wine and cheese in the afternoon... it was nice to come home to a glass of wine at night. I would recommend this B&B.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina CoastOuter BanksNags Head
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SANDBAR BED & BREAKFAST: See 51 Reviews, Price Comparison and 24 Photos (Nags Head, NC) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sandbar Bed & Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Sandbar Bed & Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Seagreen Gallery (0.4 km), Gulf Stream Gifts (0.05 km), and Seaside Art Gallery (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sandbar Bed & Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Is parking available at Sandbar Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sandbar Bed & Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Surfin Spoon, Dirty Dick's Crab House - Nags Head, and Red Drum Taphouse.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sandbar Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Sandbar Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Sandbar Bed & Breakfast?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wright Brothers National Memorial (3.5 km) and Fort Raleigh National Historic Site (7.9 km).