We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Bodie Island Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Bodie Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bodie Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 49: English reviews
Wilson, North Carolina
Reviewed 7 August 2013

If you read the reviews posted about the Bodie Island Resort it is clear that there is a big difference between the experience of those who stayed in a remodeled unit and those that did not. We stayed in a wonderfully remodeled unit (207, available for rent at the VRBO website) for a very reasonable price. If you like oceanfront...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JJB27896
Connellsville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We love Nags Head and this is our family's summer vacation rental. Yes, it needs updates, but the price, location and staff all make this perfect for our family. The staff is working on updating the building, but that takes time. The view is spectacular, you can't get any closer to the beach, and Mike and Lisa are just amazing....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brenda F
Hurt, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Our first stay in the OBX and yes it is somewhat run down. But our room was clean and the staff was awesome. We loved the access to the beach and enjoyed the surronding area and attractions. we made lots of memories and loved our stay. Thanks Rusty for everything! Mike and Lisa you guys are awesome! We will be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
Santa Clara, California
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This was our first time in Outer banks. This place is pretty decent. Saw some negative reviews on this place being rundown and was skeptical. The management informed us this place is being renovated. However , this wasn't the case. The lift worked good. Our room was on the third floor and was very clean. The carpet, sofa, bedsheets -...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nizantz
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed here for a guys weekend of fishing and golfing and for a bunch of guys it was fine. The condo itself, 304, was ok, clean and fairly clean carpets. the building is in major disrepair but did not bother us too much. The room was right on the ocean that made up for all of the imperfections. Elevator...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rts1234rts
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This place is so run down and needs a bulldozing. It' a mess. I wouldn't stay here unless you are a surfer just for the night because it's right there on the ocean. We found bugs in the beds and bathrooms. the mattresses are so uncomfortable and the furniture in the lilving room is as well. I wanted to le...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colleen W
Richmond,Va
Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

This was our 2nd time staying at bodie island resort. Our room was ready when we got there. Check in was very easy. The elevator was WORKING!! We were on the 1st floor. Our room was fairly nice. Carpet was a little dirty. Everything was workings in our room a/c work great. Pull out couch was uncomfortable but we had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Burton811
NagsHeadRental, Guest Relations Manager at Bodie Island Resort, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your vacation. We are working very hard to revitalize the resort. It sat dormant for eight years before our company took over in 2009. It is a huge project & undertaking that will take time. We hope that you return next year to see the improvements!

Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed at the Bodie Island Resort and we had the best service. First of all, we arrived early and our room was ready before check-in. Everyone at the resort was soooo nice. The room was nice and clean. The view from my balcony was amazing! We were within walking distance to Jennette's pier. I wish there was a Bodie...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmyGk
NagsHeadRental, Guest Relations Manager at Bodie Island Resort, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your vacation! Hope to see you next year!

Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I booked about 24 hrs before arrival and the very end of season and scored a great last minute deal for unit 106 which has the most amazing balcony view and 2 sliding doors (mstr and l/r). I note this because my deal certainly makes me more forgiving - If I had to pay full price my review might be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer D
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewed 27 August 2012

we booked this place last minute. should have read the reviews..the ones that indicate this place is horrible are absolutely correct. i have a feeling we got stuck in the unit that a previous reviewer said they left early. (guy did say someone checked out early... now i know why!). the only worthwhile description is "oceanfront". anything else would include...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vacationertoo
NagsHeadRental, Guest Relations Manager at Bodie Island Resort, responded to this review

I am sorry you had a bad experience during your vacation here. The building and property sat dormant for eight years, between 2003 and 2010. My company took over the project in 2009, and began renovations in 2010. However, it is a HUGE project, and undertaking. We are working revitalizing hard at revitalizing the resort, and it will take time.

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
5.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.9 km away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#9 of 13 in Nags Head
171 reviews
14.2 km away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
1,057 reviews
24.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Bodie Island Resort

Address: 8123 S Old Oregon Inlet Rd, Nags Head, NC 27959-9491
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Bodie Island Hotel Nags Head
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bodie Island Resort staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Bodie Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Definitely pick the building that is directly oceanfront. There are 3 buildings and only one is directly oceanfront. And get a unit that is remodeled. From what I heard there are units that are not remodeled.”
 of 5 bubbles Penney1000, 7 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Ask for room 305”
 of 5 bubbles Chuck-Colburn, 7 Nov 2013 | Read review
“Unit 207 is great.”
 of 5 bubbles JJB27896, 7 Aug 2013 | Read review
“1) Carry your own supplies of toiletries 2) Top floor provides great view of sunrise and moon-rise”
 of 5 bubbles Nizantz, 28 May 2013 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere it ruined my image of nags head.”
 of 5 bubbles ColleenW347, 18 Sep 2012 | Read review
5 of 5