We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
6701 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9119
E-mail hotel
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$99
Agoda.comUS$99
Vio.comUS$99
Official SiteUS$99
EtripUS$99
StayForLong
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (684)
Room & Suite (389)
Pool & Beach (94)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 13 hotels in Nags Head
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Our hotel is located right on the beautiful shores of the Atlantic Ocean with breathtaking views from every room. We are one of the #1 Hotels on the Outer Banks because we know what our guests want and we strive hard to give it to them every day. Since 1984 our family owned and operated hotel has been making first time visitors long term guests with our Carolina Hospitality coupled with our exceptionally clean and well appointed rooms. Our professional and friendly staff are here 24/7 to assist you with any needs or questions. Also here to offer you advice on local places to see, shop or eat at as well. We are open year around and located in the heart of Nags Head. The hotel is in close proximity of area attractions, shopping, restaurants and more. Included in every stay is a wonderful Continental breakfast, use of our outdoor pool, indoor pool and Hot tub. We also host an afternoon wine social with snacks for our guest. We look forward to having you as our next guest.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Children's television networks
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Seating area
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
2559Reviews37Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,797
  • 562
  • 135
  • 31
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Bruno wrote a review Yesterday
Missouri24 contributions5 helpful votes
Excellent location directly on the beach. Very clean, comfortable and large rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent free breakfast. Excellent shopping and restaurants near by. Very easy access.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
gcflash wrote a review Sep 2022
12 contributions11 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Family has been vacationing in OBX since the 1960's. Sadly experienced the rise of huge rental homes pushing out small family and couples vacationers and eroding the charm of the Outer Banks. We decided to try the Surf Side several years ago and it has become our annual beach hotel. The OBX charm is alive and well at this hotel. All staff are kind and friendly. It is obvious that they take personal pride in their responsibilities. Comfortable and clean from the parking lot to the guest rooms and everything in between.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Murray, General Manager at Surf Side Hotel
Responded 10 Sep 2022
Dear gcflash, Thank you so much for being a continued loyal guest of Surf Side, and for taking the time to leave this amazing review. We certainly take pride in our responsibilities and just hope everyone has the same experience as you have had in the years of coming to stay here. I can't wait to see you again. Sincerely, Melissa Murray General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dave H wrote a review 3 Dec
Queenstown, Maryland89 contributions26 helpful votes
I have stayed a lot in the past and the place deserved the good ratings,but not any more. Ask to check in early,told no problem. When I arrived,told room was not ready,I thought it should have been,only about ten people staying. They said they would call when the room was ready,never called. Another guest told me it was a new policy,no one could check in before four.The check in crew were nasty and rude.The rooms are getting long in the tooth,place is old with no upgrades.Place smells of mold.In fairness the lady that does breakfast still does a great job. You can do a lot better,for less money.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Stay away
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Murray, General Manager at Surf Side Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Dave H, Thank you for taking the time to leave to a review and feedback. I am sorry to see you were disappointed with your most recent stay with us. We do try to accommodate our guests for early check in when possible, we are slowing down but we are also working in the rooms. If you could please email me all your information so I can look into your check in I would appreciate it as customer service is very important to me. Sincerely, Melissa Murray General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CarsonCityMc wrote a review Nov 2022
Carson City, Nevada52 contributions15 helpful votes
Loved the staff, the breakfast, the room cleanliness and upkeep. I'm glad they are replacing that elevator, it's a bit noisy (you can hear it in the rooms as a loud buzzing if you're in a room close to it).
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Murray, General Manager at Surf Side Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear CarsonCityMc, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and feedback. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay here with us. I hope you will come again soon. Sincerely, Melissa Murray General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rich g wrote a review Nov 2022
Hanover, Pennsylvania43 contributions14 helpful votes
Went down with my wife and parents for Thanksgiving. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The views are incredible. Loved the first floor deck for soundside views. The breakfast food and staff was amazing. Every member of the staff were so friendly. Parking was never a problem. We had to leave a day early because of my dad's health issues but would have added on more days.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Murray, General Manager at Surf Side Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Rich G, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this lovely review. I am so glad you were able to enjoy your stay here with us, and hope all is well with your father! This is the experience I hope all guests have when coming to stay at the Surf Side! I hope you will come and stay with us again! Sincerely, Melissa Murray General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
arthurstern2022 wrote a review Nov 2022
Nokesville, Virginia1 contribution
My wife and I stayed at the Surf Side Hotel for the weekend. From start to finish the stay was amazing! An absolutely wonderful hotel right on the beach. We would highly recommend Surf Side Hotel to anyone looking for a terrific stay at the Outer Banks.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Murray, General Manager at Surf Side Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Arthurstern2022, Thank you so much for choosing Surf Side for your stay and for taking the time to leave a review. I am so glad you were able to enjoy your stay. I hope you will come visit us again! Sincerely, Melissa Murray General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
thardi836626 wrote a review Nov 2022
Mooresville, North Carolina1 contribution
Great place to stay when visiting the OBX. central location to everything. Staff excellent. Check in fast. Enjoyed wine get together in the evening. View of ocean very nice. Rooms very nice and clean.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Murray, General Manager at Surf Side Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Thardi836626, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am so glad you were able to enjoy your stay here, as well as the amenities. I hope you will come again! Sincerely, Melissa Murray General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marilyn S wrote a review Nov 2022
Norfolk, Virginia13 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
I had a truly excellent experience at the Surf Side. I was impressed by the staff from the first moment. They were so helpful, friendly and kind. The lobby was lovely. Since I was there in November, I was lucky to get an oceanfront room with a balcony even though I had no reservation. I was early so had to wait a little while until the room was ready. Several guests I chatted with asked if it was my first stay and seemed surprised that I said yes. Several sad they come every year or twice a year and that they love it because the staff is so nice and it is so clean. That was a win for me. My room was indeed very comfortable. The rocking chairs on the balcony were a delightful place to watch the ocean waves and then later the moonrise and the sunrise the next morning. A hot breakfast was included with the room. And in the lobby they set out complimentary wine, cheese and crackers in the early evening and cookies in the later evening. There was an outdoor pool which looked nice but the weather was too cool to want to get in. There is also an indoor pool and hot tub in a building just across the parking lot. I really enjoyed the hot tub as the evening was cool. The hotel also offered some nice simple things like an outdoor shower and foot rinse off area to let you get the sand off before heading back inside. There is an outdoor deck in the back looking out over the ocean. There is an outdoor observation deck on the second floor facing west if you want to sit outside to watch the sunset. I just keep thinking of more things to rave about. This is a great place to stay. I will go back as soon as I can.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Miller's restaurant is nearby and a great place to watch the sun set over the sound.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Murray, General Manager at Surf Side Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Marilyns899, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time to write this amazing review. I am so glad you were able to rest, relax and enjoy your time here. This is what I hope everyone experiences when coming to stay here. This review has put a huge smile on my face, and I am sure it will my staff when I print this off and show them. I hope you will come and stay here again. Sincerely, Melissa Murray General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bill M wrote a review Nov 2022
Chocowinity, North Carolina414 contributions101 helpful votes
Very Disappointing one night stay. The room that the desk assigned us to was for disabled. We did not reserve nor need one. On top of that the room was in need of heavy maintenance. Old, outdated and not clean. Door to mini refrigerator falling off, drain in bathroom wasn’t draining, rust in the bathroom, table on side of bed was severely damaged, light over sink needs to be replaced. Would not be good for anyone who is disabled to stay in that room.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Patrick Staib, Other at Surf Side Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Bill: I'm very sorry that you had this experience. We don't want any of our guests to have a disappointing stay, so I would be very grateful if you could email me at patrick@seaboardhospitality.com, so that I can determine what room needs attention and reimburse you for a portion of your stay. Sincere regards, Pat Staib VP Operations Seaboard Hospitality
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
grammapa2022 wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Very clean/friendly great views from balconies sunrise/sunset restaurants close by.Breakfast was great and a surprise to have a full breakfast meal.Beach was a great place to walk around and enjoy the views of the birds and wildlife all day and evening
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Murray, General Manager at Surf Side Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear grammapa2022 - Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am so glad to see you enjoyed your stay here with us. I hope you will come again. Sincerely, Melissa Murray General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$110 - US$123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
surfside hotel nags head, surfside nags head
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina CoastOuter BanksNags Head
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SURF SIDE HOTEL: UPDATED 2022 Reviews, Price Comparison and 911 Photos (Nags Head, NC) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Surf Side Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Surf Side Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Mutiny Bay Adventure Golf (0.3 km), Outlets Nags Head (0.9 km), and Full Throttle Speedway (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Surf Side Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Surf Side Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Surf Side Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Surf Side Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Surf Side Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Miller's Waterfront Restaurant, Owens' Restaurant, and The Dunes Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Surf Side Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Surf Side Hotel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Surf Side Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Island Farm (6.3 km), USS HURON Wreck (1.3 km), and Roanoke Island Maritime Museum (6.2 km).
Does Surf Side Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Surf Side Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.