We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University

Show Prices
#15 of 83 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,007 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,000: English reviews
Whitehouse, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed during the week for college tours. Room and location were very good. Only complaint was that the heat was not working until 11:00 pm and our room was cold. Fortunately we were exhausted and just went under the covers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Ann L
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spent 15 days at the hotel for work. It was a terrific experience. The hotel is in a great location close to NC State, great food and entertainment. The staff was so helpful and friendly especially at the front desk--Haddy, David, Anne-Marie, Reginald and Marie McLean; at the Harvest restaurant LeShanda, Erica, Charletta and Patricia; Manuel who maintained the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Regina H
Clemmons, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great hotel with a staff that seem to like what they do. Room was perfect and very nicely set up. We checked in, got an upgrade, met with smiles from staff. They did not have cookies ready when we got there, so the host who checked us in met us with them in the lobby. She forgot nothing. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
Charlotte, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

air conditioner did not work in my room - got to 76 degrees in the middle of the night. Also, lots of outside noise including conversations in the parking lot 5 floors below and garbage trucks at 6am. And there is no mini-fridge in the room. during checkout, I was told I should have alerted them at check-in to my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C1572XZcarolinek
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff was very nice and I had a stay with no complaints. Free parking is always welcome. Walking distance to NC State University and a slightly longer walk to downtown Raleigh. Breakfast was pretty good as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marshall S
mobile
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

average in every way. nice people. location near several universities. lots of university kids walking around the area. I can't see any reason why you wouldn't want to stay here. It's just like any other hotel. Conference area was nice a separate from regular guest area. parking is free and easy. that is always a plus in a hotel in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dirtybanker
Raleigh, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room smelled of feet. The heat takes an hour to turn on.Check out is a mess. Employees don't know how to check out if there was a charge that morning at breakfast. I expected a lot more for $189 per night. Location is awful - college town and no parking or things to do.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glover P
Calvin P, On behalf of the hotel staff at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We’re very sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of service. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We’ve addressed these issues with our staff and hope that next time you’re in the area, you’ll visit us again and experience...

Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for the City of Oaks race weekend. The location was great, it was easy to get to on our drive into town and so close to the start/finish line. Plenty of parking, friendly staff, nice clean rooms. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay here again for this race weekend or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pam C
Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our large extended family all stayed at Doubletree Raleigh - Brownstone for a wedding. There were MANY other events going on that weekend and the hotel was full. We booked three of the King Suites along with several other rooms. The suites were moderately sized, comfortable, and mostly updated. This is an in-city hotel, so they are not as spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank psdmd
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel only turns on the heat when the temperature outside drops below 51 degrees.My room is now at 65 and falling but there is no way to turn the heat on in my room.It is an old system that cannot be controlled by the guest in the room.This is totally unacceptable.The front desk offered a space heater,but they can't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James O
Calvin P, On behalf of the hotel staff at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review

We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel as your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give...

229 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (102)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
King Executive (20)
Viewed
King Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)
Viewed
Two Queen Room (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (87)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (18)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
1.5 km away
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
0.4 km away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#27 of 83 in Raleigh
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Raleigh Marriott City Center
5.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
2.1 km away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#45 of 83 in Raleigh
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the newly remodeled Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh - Brownstone University. Whether you are visiting for business at North Carolina State University (2 blocks), the Research Triangle Park(8 miles), the new Raleigh Convention Center and Downtown Business District(1.5 miles), or you're here for a leisurely stay to attend an event at the RBC Center, Time Warner Pavilion at Walnut Creek, Progress Energy Center for the Performing Arts, State Fairgrounds, or a visit to one of our three museums in downtown Raleigh (Art, Science, History), we can offer you the best balance of location, convenience, and value. With features like a new, modern spacious lobby, brand new guestrooms for 2012, a new restaurant and bar and all new fitness center by Precor along with an expanded business center,we have everything you need to insure a pleasant and productive stay. Best of all, you can walk to more than 20 different restaurants and nearly 100 shops at Cameron Village(a historic, upscale, outdoor walking mall), ride the train, paddleboats or play on the playground at the all new Pullen Park or take advantage of all the businesses and restaurants on Hillsborough Street across from NC State University's campus-each of these is less than .5 miles from the hotel. Come see why Raleigh was again listed as 'One of the best cities to live and work in' by Forbes Magazine in 2012 and why the all new Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh Brownstone University is the best place to stay to be in the center of it all; and please don't forget that parking and internet are always free! ... more   less 

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University

Address: 1707 Hillsborough St, Raleigh, NC 27605-1640
Region: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Price Range: $152 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Raleigh Brownstone - University Hotel Raleigh
Holiday Inn Brownstone
Holiday Inn Raleigh
Raleigh Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#17 Family Hotel in Raleigh
#22 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors are quieter. It's a great hotel. Very pleased.”
 of 5 bubbles JeanH30, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to request a room away from the parking lot. The noise wasn't bad, but it was enough that we noticed it.”
 of 5 bubbles MaryB604, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Top 3 floors are reserved for Hilton Honors members”
 of 5 bubbles GreyPod, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles PlanoCW, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Be sure to join the Honors program to get additional perks and value (when/where available).”
 of 5 bubbles KarlaRick2016, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay