We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort

    40 Captain Cook Drive, Agnes Water, Queensland 4677, Australia
    011 61 7 4913 0628
    Hotel website
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    29/10/201730/10/2017
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    US$90
    US$87
    SAVE US$3
    US$90
    US$87
    Traveller (53)
    Room & Suite (32)
    Pool & Beach (10)
    Overview
    • Excellent43%
    • Very good36%
    • Average17%
    • Poor3%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “beach house” (22 reviews)
    “private pool” (7 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast Available
    Beachfront
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Suites
    Bar/Lounge
    Kitchenette
    Spa
    Wheelchair Access
    Conference Facilities
    Babysitting
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    29 Oct30 Oct
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      US$87
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$90
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$87
      View Deal
    View all 45 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (125)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages

    1 - 5 of 121 reviews

    Reviewed 6 days ago

    Check in was easy and the lady behind the reception desk was extremely helpful in explaining the local tourist spots. Our room was above the restaurant (30 steps for those who may have mobility issues). The room was smallish but well equipped with a kitchen...More

    Thank NauticalDreamer3010
    Property's Favourite Review
    Reviewed 15 March 2017

    We arrived at Agnes Waters on 23/12/16. No shopping centres, no McDonalds, KFC no multi-nationals just locally owned small businesses. A truly fantastic experience the beach was fantastic and no crowds. Clean, pristine and peaceful,. Sandcastles and the owners and staff very friendly, the Christmas...More

    Thank Shell182015
    Response from Mark H, Manager at Sandcastles 1770 Motel & ResortResponded 12 April 2017

    Thank you Shell for your very nice review of Sandcastles and our great little laid back town. Look forward to having you back.

    Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    Upon arriving we were shown to a small cabin style room that was utterly filthy. It was nothing like the pictures online and I was extremely disappointed given the cost. The tiles were cracked, there looked like some dirty red liquid staining the inside of...More

    Thank kirstenj9
    Response from Mark H, Manager at Sandcastles 1770 Motel & ResortResponded 1 week ago

    Sorry to hear you had such a bad experience. It certainly wasn't brought to my attention at the time you checked in. As most of our reviews are generally quite favourable it is disappointing and bewildering that one could be so negative. We do concede...More

    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    This place needs a lot of maintenance, we booked in for a two night stay and I have to fix the bathroom door handle first because it fell off the door then I had to fix the air conditioner which was not working, staff are...More

    Thank Bernie R
    Response from Mark H, Manager at Sandcastles 1770 Motel & ResortResponded 4 weeks ago

    Sorry to hear that the room needed some maintenance. We would have rectified the defects had they been brought to our attention. Surely if a door handle comes off one would contact the reception to have it fixed. I am somewhat confused about the guest...More

    Reviewed 10 August 2017

    We stayed 3 nights in a 2bedroom unit with pool, for a family wedding, so booked well in advance. Nowhere in any correspondence did they mention we would only get the one set of towels for entire time and if we wanted clean ones they...More

    Thank mbsbw
    Response from Mark H, Manager at Sandcastles 1770 Motel & ResortResponded 12 August 2017

    The Beach Homes are self contained. Toiletries are provided and most guests who stay for more than a night or two generally have their own. Two rolls of toilet paper per bathroom are provided. Same with coffee, tea etc. We provide a 'starter' supply. If...More

    Oaks Grand Gladstone
    288 reviews
    #1 of 22 hotels in Gladstone
     
    Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
    240 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Seventeen Seventy
     
    Mercure Gladstone
    284 reviews
    #2 of 22 hotels in Gladstone
     
    Bororen Motel
    36 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Bororen
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    • Beachfront
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Spa
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Banquet Room
    • Conference Facilities
    • Babysitting
    • Breakfast Available
    • Room amenities
    • Refrigerator in room
    • Microwave
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Outdoor pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Spa
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$83 - US$205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Accessible rooms ,
    • Suites ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 50
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Australia >
    • Queensland >
    • Agnes Water
    • Also Known As
    • Sandcastles 1770 Hotel ,
    • Sandcastles 1770 Motel
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (53)
    Room & Suite (32)
    Pool & Beach (10)
    Dining (2)
    Hotel & Grounds (31)
    Bathroom (2)
    Family and Play Areas (1)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
    Nearby
    Oaks Grand Gladstone
    288 reviews
    77.45 km away
     
    Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
    240 reviews
    1.54 km away
     
    Mercure Gladstone
    284 reviews
    75.25 km away
     
    Bororen Motel
    36 reviews
    41.38 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Cafe Discovery at Agnes
    128 reviews
    .58 km away
    Getaway Garden Cafe
    371 reviews
    1.61 km away
    Plantation Bar & Restaurant
    99 reviews
    1.51 km away
    Off the Hook Fish and Chips
    211 reviews
    .40 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Discover 1770 Tours
    86 reviews
    .48 km away
    1770 Distillery
    69 reviews
    1.59 km away
    Discovery Coast
    76 reviews
    .94 km away
    Agnes Water Museum
    8 reviews
    .89 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Chrissie B
    22 February 2016|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from luxurious22 | Reviewed this property |
    Not sure but call them and ask manager as they are very helpful
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Try for beach side"
    Read review
    "Beach homes are bigger and better located than the garden ones."
    Read review
    "Some rooms have a balcony. The beach houses were nicest but dearer."
    Read review
    "we had a 1 bed unit would love to stay in one of the beach houses"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing