We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort

40 Captain Cook Drive, Agnes Water, Queensland 4677, Australia
Special Offer
Sandcastles Wedding Packs
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Reef 2 Beach Surf School
    0.4 km
  • 4 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 2 days ago
HUGE & Comfy Motel Rooms
Sandcastles offers both motel rooms and fully self contained... more
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 104: English reviews
Gold Coast, Qld
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Sandcastles offers both motel rooms and fully self contained holiday houses (which are more like apartments). The property extends from the road to the beach with a path running through a treed area to the sand. The motel rooms are closest to the road , reception, restaurant and pool. The apartments are closer to the beach and have a private...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tassie531
Mark H, Manager at Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your nice review, glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you can come and stay a little longer next time.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Situated very close to the beach with no roads to cross, just two minutes from our accommodation through a short pathway. A short walk to the Agnes water shops and about a 5 minute drive to 1770. We booked a two bedroom 'beach house', however they were stacked apartments and therefore the beach house description didn't quite fit. The apartments...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria S
Mark H, Manager at Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As explained in an earlier review response, nowhere do we state that our Beach Homes are 'houses', it states on the website, "these fully self-contained standard beach home apartments are spacious, modern and perfect for families." There is no 'beach house description' Also explained previously is the 'no air-conditioning', which most people are happy with,...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, to beach and town centre. Beach house was open and light and airy. A Balinese style design that worked well. Plenty of room for the 7 of us. The Green Turtle cafe was great value and relaxed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrispB73AU
Mark H, Manager at Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort, responded to this review

Nice to hear you enjoyed your stay and our Green Turtle Cafe & Bar. Hope we see you back here soon.

Emerald, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We found the rates to be so reasonable for high season & love the beach homes with their own private plunge pool. Our children were swimming at every chance they could get. I expect modern furnishings & a king size bed wherever I go & this doesn't disappoint. Very relaxing holiday & affordable!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank melleandglenn
Mark H, Manager at Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort, responded to this review

Thanks guys, it was pleasure having you stay and see your children enjoying a great family holiday. Hope to see you back next holidays.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ideal if you want a relaxing break with great accomodation... I would recommend the 2 bed apartment with private pool as nicer than the complex communal pool... (and not really overlooked). Very spacious accomodation, great kitchen area, (loved the breakfast bar), large lounge and both bedrooms have own bathrooms... Pool and patio with BBQ was a really good entertainment area!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
Mark H, Manager at Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and good to hear you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about your experience in our Green Turtle Cafe. We did have few issues with staff but I'm happy to say all have been resolved. We have great new chef and front of house manager and the feedback we are getting has been very good.. Please come...

Gold Coast
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a Beach House at Sandcastles. So when we arrived and found that a Beach House was really a 2 bedroom unit it was a bit of a surprise. We would not have booked if we've known that. I found that quite misleading. The free wifi - oh that didn't work in the Beach Houses. No airconditioning in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank krisbarr
Mark H, Manager at Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. I think it is more a case of confusion on the part of the reviewer than a case of misleading as suggested. We don't have Beach Houses. Nowhere on our website or on any other marketing does it say that our Beach Homes are 'houses'. In fact on the first line of the description it...

central queensland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

These houses are superb for anyone looking for a relaxing family holiday. You constantly feel outside while you have heaps of space inside. Not having air conditioning and wifi was a blessing. Top location

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank visitor064
Mark H, Manager at Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and weren't bothered by any small issues. Hope to see you back soon.

Gladstone, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed at the sandcastles many times now, one of the best places to stay in Agnes Waters. If staying here make sure you dine at the restaurant one night, well worth it you won't be disappointed

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SurfieBoy22
Mark H, Manager at Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for a great review and look froward to welcoming you back soon.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really enjoyable stay, great facilities and very well furnished. Staff were all very friendly and the complex is very modern and well maintained. Only one thing was our apartment didn't have aircon, which on some days would have been good. Great area to visit, certainly not been over developed which was a bonus.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank adrian163
Mark H, Manager at Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Adrian. We do have great staff who are freindly and do teriffic job of maintaining the pools and grounds and keeping the apartments clean and tidy. The Beach Homes are designed to make the most of the seabeezes. Most guests find that that, and the ceiling fans is usually enough to keep cool. In fact we find blankets...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We chose Sandcastles because it looked modern and was a walk to town, a walk to the beach etc. We weren't disappointed. The walk to the beach is more a stroll. And it is only 250m along the sand to the patrolled area. The beach is long and perfect for morning and evening walks. The surf was wonderful, the water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J0hnnyG13
Mark H, Manager at Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort, responded to this review

Thanks John, it was pleasure having you stay with us. Always friendly and accepting of any small issues, making the most of our resort, the beautiful beaches and other attractions of Agnes Water / 1770. We have the best location of all the resorts and our Green Turtle Cafe & Bar is popular with guests and locals. So happy you...

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agnes Water
1.5 km away
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Seventeen Seventy
188 reviews
1.7 km away
1770 Getaway
1770 Getaway
#2 of 17 in Agnes Water
114 reviews
1.5 km away
The Edge On Beaches
The Edge On Beaches
#5 of 17 in Agnes Water
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Pavillions on 1770
Pavillions on 1770
#1 of 2 in Agnes Water
152 reviews
0.6 km away
Agnes Water Beach Holidays
Agnes Water Beach Holidays
#4 of 17 in Agnes Water
301 reviews
4.9 km away
1770 Beach Shacks
1770 Beach Shacks
#2 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located at the gateway to the Southern Great Barrier Reef, Sandcastles 1770 Motel and Resort offer a range of accommodation options to suit every traveler, including: - Beach Home Apartments with optional plunge pool, - Self-contained Garden Villas, - Deluxe, air conditioned Motel Suites. Privately tucked amongst palm trees and lush tropical gardens, our primary resort is located alongside coastal creeks and cabbage palm forests. It enjoys direct beach access 60 seconds from bed to beach), a lagoon-style pool & heated spa, tour booking desk as well as an on-site cafe and bar. The resort also features a function room - an ideal venue for wedding receptions, corporate events and other group functions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort

Address: 40 Captain Cook Drive, Agnes Water, Queensland 4677, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Agnes Water
Price Range: $107 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastles 1770 Hotel
Sandcastles 1770 Motel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Woombye, Australia
11 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It's a big place , so choose rooms carefully”
 of 5 bubbles tgh05, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“No airconditioning in beach houses”
 of 5 bubbles saralA9759OH, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have great breezes”
 of 5 bubbles Aussiegirl056, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Plunge Pool Villa's”
 of 5 bubbles amandabZ1662AN, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs Beach Houses probably better than downstairs due to better outlook but otherwise all are good.”
 of 5 bubbles danbU497YQ, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5