We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

1770 Camping Ground

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seventeen Seventy
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
1770 Camping Ground
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 144: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed at the 1770 camping ground just for 1 night as we were passing through. The sites are pretty tight, however we have a camper so was no trouble for us. This camp ground is right on the water and boasts a spectacular sunset. Ammenities new and modern, not the cleanest but okay. I was particulalry impressed with the designated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cbm101
Gattikon, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is a dream. Directly at the beach. During our trip it was the most expensive camp ground. The amenities were not very clean. The powered sites have only shared power plugs and need therefore a long cable.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beat_Ki
Des C, Owner at 1770 Camping Ground, responded to this review

Yes we are blessed with a magic position, right on the beach at 1770. Thankyou. We respond to all reviews, time permitting, good or not, and we are always looking for ways to improve 1770 Camp Ground. We value all our local and overseas clientele, and strive to have them leave Australia with only "good word of mouth" opinions of...

Maroochydore, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned home after our annual 2 week visit to 1770 and we were not dissapointed. As usual we were greeted warmly by the Managers of the park, Greg and Cathy before setting up on a beachfront site. If you are looking for a family friendly camping ground with plenty of hot showers, a great camp kitchen and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Belinda F
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Caravan park looks great from the road, with grassy and shady sites. Until you check in and are packed in like sardines on the gravel section. We asked to move sites as our neighbours were loud, obnoxious and half on our site. Told no way, no how. Told that the shady grassed area was being rehabilated, but people were put...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kit_Katty109t
Des C, Owner at 1770 Camping Ground, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for the review, we are sorry to hear your experience was not a good one. Yes we do have section of the park closed for grass rejuvination, which is done every November. However, we do not condone our staff being unprofessional and unhelpful. We do hope that you will return to our park in the future. Kind...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Amazing location right in front of the bay, and the sunsets are to die for. But, the staff are pretty offish, and in fact quite rude and certainly not that welcoming. For the money you pay, it certainly is one of the more expensive camp sites in Queensland I'd expect a lot more.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miki L
Des C, Owner at 1770 Camping Ground, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed the park and the scenery it offers. However we are disappointed that the staff on duty were not accomodating. We do hope that this experience has not deterred you from returning to our park in the future. Kind Regards,

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Admittedly you do need to book some months in advance but we were fortunate to get a fantastic beachfront site for our recent weeks stay and loved it. Such a fantastic location and we were blessed with brilliant weather and gorgeous sunsets every night. Great, clean facilities and you must try out out the onsite bistro too - top value...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KimBrent
Des C, Owner at 1770 Camping Ground, responded to this review

Thanks very much for the great review. Please come again soon.

bangkok
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Stunning sunsets. Picturesque and lovely, nice walks, very accommodating. We had a good site and the amenities here are more than adequate. Waking up in the morning and walking around was just lovely. Good camp kitchen and right on the river and inlet to the ocean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abigmagilla
Des C, Owner at 1770 Camping Ground, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed our beachfront campground. Please come again soon.

Seventeen Seventy, Australia
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Currently booked for 3 nights with our Motorhome . Last minute plans for us so no booking & on a busy weekend . Requested beachfront site & happy to pay extra $9 for privledge. No one site available for the 3 nights ,but staff worked with us to accomodate & just need to move spots each day ,which is not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CruziSuzi
Des C, Owner at 1770 Camping Ground, responded to this review

With a campervan you are very mobile and we thank you for your understanding that we must honour forward beachfront bookings. Please come again soon.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

For $35 I camped approx 80 meters from the beach at 1770. Great spot for backpackers , travellers , families and anyone else who wants to chill out. A cool pub is located a short walk away. Heading up the nearby hill provide great ocean views. Well worth a look

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rancho R
Des C, Owner at 1770 Camping Ground, responded to this review

Thanks for the report and please come back soon.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2016

You have to book here a long time ahead. This is place is very popular and it's easy to see why. We booked with another 12 families and stayed in June 2016. The nights were cold but you can make a fire which is great. What's camping without a fire! The sites are a good size and grassy. The beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Troy H
Des C, Owner at 1770 Camping Ground, responded to this review

Thanks for your time to post a review. Beachfront sites and others are booked 12 months in advance and as you say a campfire in the winter is a must have. You are welcome any time. Thanks

107 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seventeen Seventy
3.9 km away
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Seventeen Seventy
179 reviews
5.8 km away
Agnes Water Beach Holidays
Agnes Water Beach Holidays
#3 of 18 in Agnes Water
293 reviews
2.3 km away
Captain Cook Holiday Village
Captain Cook Holiday Village
#1 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
1770 Beach Shacks
1770 Beach Shacks
#2 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
94 reviews
5.5 km away
Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort
6.8 km away
1770 Getaway
1770 Getaway
#2 of 18 in Agnes Water
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Absolute beachfront camping ground, with safe small boat anchorage, restaurant on site,free WiFi, 2 amenities blocks, gateway to the Barrier Reef. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 1770 Camping Ground

Address: 1770 Camping Ground 641 Captain Cook Dr, Seventeen Seventy, Queensland 4677, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Seventeen Seventy
Number of rooms: 97
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from 1770 Camping Ground staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Wallaroo, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from 1770 Camping Ground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beachfront sites book out quickly”
 of 5 bubbles 104belindaf, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A must on any camping trip!”
 of 5 bubbles abigmagilla, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Beachfront site!”
 of 5 bubbles 409sammit, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“book ahead for beachside spots...”
  • nightly sunsets are beautiful
  • view from our campsite
 of 5 bubbles kMorky, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“Sites A24 to A27 can be a bit windy. Even off peak it was busy to best to book ahead.”
 of 5 bubbles 243jacquiec, 1 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5