We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sundale Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sundale Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sundale Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 24: English reviews
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I know the gold coast and the million and one accommodation stays to sort through HEADACHE or what! sometimes sorting through all the bull takes the fun out of it all.., For location, easy access to everything you need, like walking to a woolies and surfers just over the bridge,, busses,,beach and broadwater, stop and think the money you save...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank alan c
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Checked two rooms out here which were out the back and the top room especially was the most disgusting room I've ever seen and I've travelled a bit in Eastern Europe and most of Asia. The place should be reported to whoever monitors the standards of hotels/motels in Australia as its an international embarrassment and potential health hazard. Only good...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank MickMeMate
SundaleMotel, Owner at Sundale Motel, responded to this review

Harsh review to respond to isn't it? As the owner of The Sundale Motel I take these comments very seriously as my personal and business reputation is at stake here. I would love to apologise for the disgusting room this traveller alledgedly encountered but I actually feel I am the one owed an apology in this instance for an unfair...

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Due to circumstances we took our chances and booked last minute at the Sundale. The room was very rundown, small and poorly maintained. It was a terrible room which looked nothing like the photos on the website. Various things, eg the flush mechanism on the toilet, the venetian blind and the kitchen light were either broken or not working reliably....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Di D
SundaleMotel, Owner at Sundale Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing The Sundale Motel and rating our Location, Sleep Quality and Cleanliness as acceptable. We do agree that finding a room on the Gold Coast at the last minute in peak Christmas School holiday times for a single night without a reservation can be exceptionally difficult. The Sundale Motel has a convenient 24 hour online booking service...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Just stayed at the Sundale Motel. Has been freshly painted but not worth $150.00 a night at any time. It's advertised price at the entrance of $89.00 is a realistic figure. Our son stayed at the Vibe Hotel, 21st. floor for $160.00.In our room there was no A/C, no wardrobe, no bedhead, no box of tissues, poor quality towels, no...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Roger S
cairns
Reviewed 27 November 2011

good spot close to the pub easy walk to shops walk over to the broadwater for a swim with the kids. More helpfull and pleasant than the joint that mucked up our holiday booking.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marc j
SundaleMotel, Owner at Sundale Motel, responded to this review

Hello Marc J, Happy travellers are what we are aiming for so thank you for taking the time to tell us about your journey and the good time you had here at the Sundale Motel Southport. Yes, it is an easy walk over to the wonderful Broadwater Parklands and best of all it is FREE fun for the kids! There...

Gold Coast
Reviewed 18 November 2011

This is incredible value. Yes it is a cheap motel. But for around $50 a night you can get a beer out of the fridge, sit on the balcony overlooking the palms and pool, and you are on the Gold Coast. Water is hot, toilet seat stays up, TV's digital, and the people are very friendly and helpful. What more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
SundaleMotel, Owner at Sundale Motel, responded to this review

Hello Chris P, Thank you for taking the time to review my motel. We have enjoyed your company over the last few weeks and I'm glad that our weekly rate fitted with your budget while you worked here in Southport. I really do appreciate you taking the time to drop me a line to let me know we are getting...

Reviewed 3 November 2011

The owner or staff whoever the man there was very rude not welcoming at all when you are checking in. If you love giant cockroaches walking in the bathroom and spiders in bed room it's great!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ngima
SundaleMotel, Owner at Sundale Motel, responded to this review

Hi Ngima, Overall it seems that you were satisfied with our location on the Gold Coast and value for money here in Southport but I am truly sorry to see that your stay at the Sundale was spoilt by a spider/cockroach seeking shelter from the rainy weather we've been experiencing. I certainly understand how you must have felt to come...

Beaudesert, Australia
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The service was friendly and the price was perfect for the amount of time we stayed there... it was close to all amenities we were needing for a great night out on the coast.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eula_75
SundaleMotel, Owner at Sundale Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a lovely comment about our business. We really are trying very hard to get it right everytime and we look forward to seeing you again. Cheers, Janine - Owner.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Older style motel which we were prepared for, however facilities were extremely poor. Beds the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in, no air conditioning and couldn't really leave the door open as there was no privacy. Bed sheets were clean but bedspreads were clearly not washed for a long time. For "budget" accommodation, it was not particularly cheap and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Banksia B
SundaleMotel, Owner at Sundale Motel, responded to this review

The Sundale Motel offers comfortable and convenient Accommodation located in the bustling Southport Business Hub. The Sundale Motel is under new ownership as at 1 April 2011 and we are indeed striving to address all the issues raised in your review. I know so many guests are reluctant to tell a business owner about their experiences face to face so...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 21 January 2011

To begin, the condition of this motel was absolutely appalling. As we entered the room there was an unbearable odour which made you feel as though the room had been locked for years. There were ants in the shower place and not even one toilet roll was left for use. To make matters worse the bed sheets had large stains...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rickyshaz
SundaleMotel, Owner at Sundale Motel, responded to this review

The Sundale Motel offers comfortable and convenient Accommodation located in the bustling Southport Business Hub. The Sundale Motel is under new ownership as at 1 April 2011 and we are indeed striving to address all the issues raised in your review. I know so many guests are reluctant to tell a business owner about their experiences face to face so...

9 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
0.2 km away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Southport
2.3 km away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#16 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
818 reviews
1.1 km away
Earls Court Motor Inn
Earls Court Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Southport
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Rays Resort Apartments
Rays Resort Apartments
#8 of 10 in Southport
34 reviews
0.4 km away
Arrival Accommodation Centre
1.3 km away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Comfortable and Convenient Accommodation located in the bustling Southport Business Hub. Family Priced Dining, Entertainment and Shopping just a stroll away at the amazing Australia Fair Shopping Center. Close to Public Transport. Convenient for Eye Surgeon, all Specialist Health and Dental plus Gold Coast Hospital. Best Accommodation for Sports and Clubs including Southport RSL,Gold Coast Turf Club,Southport Yacht Club, Queen Street Tennis Club and Southport Pool - all moments away. Walk to family entertainmet free at Broadwater Family Park and Wetlands. Easy Access to all major Theme Parks including Seaworld 10 minutes and Dreamworld, Movieworld and WetnWild under 30 minutes. Central Surfers Paradise Night Life and Main Beach Restaurnt Row a short Taxi ride. Located at the start line of the Gold Coast Marathon and close to V8 Super Cars. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sundale Motel

Address: 20 Queen Street, Southport, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Southport
Price Range: $69 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundale Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sundale Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundale Motel Southport, Gold Coast
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sundale Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take an upstairs room if you're able to! @ least the fridge works & no leaking toilet!(But won't tune into ABC TV).”
 of 5 bubbles avivab2014, 18 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Sorry cannot.”
  • CHILD PROOF unless the CHILD has $10.00
  • The CHILD PROOF A/C
 of 5 bubbles dalekate777, 18 Sep 2014 | Read review
“if you choose to stay here, ask for a room at he back of the complex. ( probably quieter )”
 of 5 bubbles 231SteveN, 17 Sep 2013 | Read review
“nice and qiuet on south side all good”
 of 5 bubbles annep227, 5 Aug 2013 | Read review
“ask to look at all rooms available.. yes evry one as it could be the difference for your whole stay, ie wishing you took the room on the end for the side window, or near the bbq area cause ya love bbqing.. owner would be more than happy to want you to look at the rooms so you have a good stay”
 of 5 bubbles alanc269, 14 Mar 2013 | Read review
5 of 5