We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Guichen Bay Motel

Expedia.comUS$76*
View Deal
#4 of 8 Hotels in Robe
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Guichen Bay Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 151: English reviews
Start your review of Guichen Bay Motel
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A lovely little motel in the centre of town. The owners are helpful and friendly. Cafe next door for breakfasts. Great place to stay. Rooms are older but very clean. This motel is central to everything.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ljd135
Reviewed 1 week ago

We turned up just after they closed, thanks goodness David the owner let us in and happy to assist. It was my birthday, and he didn't mind to let me check the room quickly before booking. Then he shows us the map and was very informative on where we can celebrate and best place for breakfast the next day. He...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reginaholidayreview
David F, Manager at Guichen Bay Motel, responded to this review

What can I say, 'thank you for the kind words' just does not seem enough. We treat people the way we would like to be treated ourselves and as a little three star motel at the very least we should be a clean, comfortable and friendly one. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of having you back one day and...

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

All was great - clean, well located and quiet. Rooms have been done up with a small Kitchenette. We got a double room to have a break from the kids. The toilet was off/through their room but it worked regardless. Small pool/spa.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
David F, Manager at Guichen Bay Motel, responded to this review

Thanks guys glad you had a good time. Room 11 is great if you want to prepare some meals and the second bedroom gives you that little bit of privacy.

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We found our motel room to have everything we needed including a sofa. Our room was clean and tidy and the owners were very friendly and very helpful with lots of suggestions for places to have a meal around town. Even though the motel is on the main drag, it was very quiet and relaxing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chervoni_maky
David F, Manager at Guichen Bay Motel, responded to this review

We are in a great spot especially if you wish to walk to all the eateries and bars. Cleanliness is a priority and I am glad you found us that way. Hope to see you back some day.

Mount Gambier, Australia
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

It's hard to get an excellent rating from me but the proactive service of this hotel lady certainly did it. Realising I liked my car she immediately made sure I was put into a room with my car right outside. Place is clean, tidy and well equipped for the price. I'd stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bomoh
David F, Manager at Guichen Bay Motel, responded to this review

Your review is greatly appreciated. Service with a smile cost nothing and comments like yours make it all worthwhile. I have passed your praise onto the staff member involved and we will all continue to deliver that proactive attention to detail.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Motel just on the edge of the main shopping strip. Rooms away from the street. Close to shops and attractions. Friendly staff. Available power for an electric car. Pricing reasonable. Can recommend for short or long stay if not requiring indoor cooking facilities.BBQ available. Has pool and spa.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pjf000
David F, Manager at Guichen Bay Motel, responded to this review

Clean, comfortable and friendly is what we aim for. The motel has a great location and I maybe bias but I still think we are the best valued motel in town.

Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Robe is a quaint seaside town on South Australia's "Limestone Coast". Although small (compact) it has good restaurants and great beaches facing North (Southern Hemisphere) to pick up daylong sunshine - and The Guichen Bay Motel is perfectly placed to make the most of what Robe has to offer. In addition it is great value, clean and with friendly staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PelePurves
David F, Manager at Guichen Bay Motel, responded to this review

I concur with all your comments. Robe is a great place to spend a couple of nights and there is no better place to stay in Robe than the Guichen Bay Motel. I do believe we are the best valued motel in town.

Geelong, Australia
Reviewed 21 February 2017

stayed two nights rooms were clean and functional, with every thing you needed the staff were fantastic so friendly and helpful great value for money, pool and outside areas also very clean and tidy, walking distance to hotels, restaurants,& shops great value for money

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brittto
David F, Manager at Guichen Bay Motel, responded to this review

We may not be the five star accommodation some travellers are looking for but what we are is a reasonably priced, clean and comfortable motel. I am confident that we can more than adequately cater for most budget conscious travellers. We also have a Chinese Restaurant on premises, with I might add a lovely 360 degree log fire, and a...

frankfurt
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Rooms are very small, furniture very simple and tasteless, bathroom small and very simple so is the sink, iternet is slow and not stable, the bed is horrible and worn out. It is no place to feel well. And much overprices for what you get.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martinffm
David F, Manager at Guichen Bay Motel, responded to this review

I am obviously very concerned that you had such a bad experience with us. I suppose the saving grace is that your comments are so out of the norm compared to the other reviews. What makes me angry however is we do not hear about these comments when we ask 'how was your stay' but only when we read the...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Very friendly staff. Rooms clean with everything you need. Good shower and toilet area. Close to everything in robe. Walking distance to hotels and beach. Will stay again. Thanks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arab520
David F, Manager at Guichen Bay Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind review. I do believe we are the best valued motel in town.

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robe hotels
0.7 km away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 8 in Robe
351 reviews
0.3 km away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
1.1 km away
Harbour View Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
1.0 km away
Robe Haven Motel
Robe Haven Motel
#8 of 8 in Robe
68 reviews
2.0 km away
Discovery Parks - Robe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located in the main street of the pretty and popular seaside village of Robe, South Australia, our 3.5 Star motel has 17 clean and comfortable ground floor units with reverse cycle air conditioning, flat screen TV with Foxtel, tea & coffee facilities, toaster, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, parking at the door, and free wireless internet. Guests are encouraged to enjoy our outdoor pool and spa or make use of the BBQ in our well maintained garden setting. A short stroll to shopping, hotels, restaurants and cafes, and minutes to local attractions such as the fabulous Guichen Bay with its many sandy beaches including the famous Long Beach. And don't miss the chance to visit the Obelisk, Old Gaol, Historic Buildings, Art Galleries and Lake Butler boat haven. A short drive to rugged coastlines, inland Lakes, Pine Forests and Conservation Parks, and some of the country's premium wine districts, including Mt Benson, Cape Jaffa, and the renowned Coonawarra region. A perfect place to enjoy water sports of all kinds, play a lazy round of golf, take a joy flight in a Tiger Moth aircraft or relax and enjoy premium local food and wines, our staff are ready to help make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Guichen Bay Motel

Address: 42 Victoria St, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Price Range: $102 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guichen Bay Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Guichen Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Guichen Bay Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Guichen Bay Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“there are none”
martinffm, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Family room has a convenient glass door to the back street.”
ATG66, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are equal.”
caroway, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“On the main road into Robe but as it is situated at the back of the motel it is very quiet”
537maureent, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“perfect location”
maryd2001, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$76* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$78
Hotwire.comUS$76
Orbitz.comUS$76
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates