We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Alleghany Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Alleghany Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 81: English reviews
Bellaire, MI
Level Contributor
217 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our large king room with sitting area was super clean and included the amenities of coffee maker, micro and frig. Bed was very firm and comfortable. Some furniture may have been dated, but bed and carpet seemed newer. Full compliment of shower items. Location is within 8 miles of BlueRidge. We walked to town for dinner and a few groceries(food... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bellaire56
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Nice motel. Clean. Friendly front desk clerk. Motorcycle friendly. Gas station across the street. Very good restaurant within walking distance. Small town feel. Close to Blue Ridge Parkway. Loved it. Will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank Robin W
Ipswich, Mass.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2016

We were traveling by motorcycle and this was a welcome overnight stop! Front desk is efficient and very friendly. It's always nice to be able to park the bike right outside your room on a nicely paved lot with plenty of room. The rooms are small and a bit dated, but we had no issues at all. Remember, folks, it's... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ibycboatgal
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

This is a hard review to leave since we liked everything about this place but there were bugs in the room. We didn't start seeing them until it was too late. They were NOT bed bugs. The room was nice for the money. Easy access, park in front of your room

Helpful?
Thank ILoveToTravelSome
John K, General Manager at Alleghany Inn, responded to this review

We do not take bugs lightly! We have a monthly service from a reputable pest control company and usually the only bugs we see are dead bugs which means the service is working. It is Fall in the mountains and bugs are migrating indoors especially with exterior entrances when left open. Sometimes the weather is so nice this time of... More 

Delbarton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2016

This little vintage gem...was an older hotel..but was very clean,quite and close to local eateries...with one very good mom and pop restaurant located on parking lot...only complaint bring your own pillow....theirs very small.

Helpful?
Thank Mickey C
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Had to stay on a Thursday night @10:30 due to extreme fig and recommendation of officials not to be on road. A sign said $67 a night was charged $95. Upped prices because they were only place to stay. Not worth $95 by a long shot! It's Wong to take advantage of travelers,

Helpful?
Thank Frances Diane I
John K, General Manager at Alleghany Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you were forced to stay with us, we like our guests to choose to be here. Our rate in Season is $84.95 plus tax and after tax that is $95.78, it has been that way for 3 years. If you had a Veteran card or Military ID, AAA or Senior Citizen you would have been given a... More 

Linden NC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Very easy to find...super nice people...very clean,quiet and comfortable.Bathroom very small.Front desk very helpful on arrival more like you are family.We will most definitely stay there again,our room was 204 upstairs had 2 chairs to sit out side just ask you you keep it quiet after 11pm.They did have a family reunion of 40 booked but it was quiet.

Helpful?
Thank judisu
Henderson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016

My family had to stay here for one night while we were doing some renovations on our mountain cabin. It was a wonderful stay! The rooms were very very clean and the front desk clerk was so nice and welcoming. It is a very peaceful environment with a very laid back environment. We will definitely recommend this hotel to everyone!

Helpful?
Thank lovePA87
Clarion, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2016

We decided to stop at this location because of previous motorcycle rider reviews. The outside of the hotel was well maintained. The staff were courteous and very helpful with their knowledge of the local area. No breakfast provided, but they did have a coffee stand. The rooms are showing their age, but the bed linens, towels, etc were maintained. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank cessnapilot2
Level Contributor
154 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Great service, super clean rooms, crisp thick sheets and fluffy huge towels - this is just the beginning! Super low price hides this wonderful treat in tiny VA mountain town! Don't miss the teapot museum! Wonderful restaurant right in the parking lot - no need to get in/on your vehicle for meals!

Helpful?
Thank Wunder3

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparta
31.0 km away
Days Inn Jefferson
Days Inn Jefferson
#1 of 2 in Jefferson
191 reviews
35.4 km away
Nation's Inn
Nation's Inn
#3 of 4 in West Jefferson
81 reviews
29.3 km away
Hampton Inn Galax
Hampton Inn Galax
#1 of 5 in Galax
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express West Jefferson
24.6 km away
Knights Inn Galax
Knights Inn Galax
#2 of 5 in Galax
60 reviews
34.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hair Dryers, Microwaves and refrigerators in all rooms. Free use of the Alleghany Wellness Center indoor swimming pool and work out facility. Multiple restaurants located within a mile. Guest laundry. High speed WiFi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alleghany Inn

Address: 341 N Main St, Sparta, NC 28675-8896
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Sparta
Price Range: $127 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alleghany Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Alleghany Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alleghany Hotel Sparta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alleghany Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Alleghany Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles 296mickeyc, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles Wunder3, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the Conference Center are our preferred rooms especially room 127”
 of 5 bubbles proud2batarheel, 27 May 2016 | Read review
“They all face the parking lot”
 of 5 bubbles KeukaLover, 9 Mar 2016 | Read review
“We loved the suite with the kitchen/living room area. It really helped with the kids to have a place to hang out.”
 of 5 bubbles 765larag, 1 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay