We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 263: English reviews
new jersey
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We stayed here overnight while visiting Wilmington after being warned by a local resident to stay away from the Market street hotels: a warning we were very grateful for! The staff was extremely friendly upon entering the hotel. The hotel has been updated, the lobby is nice, the rooms were updated, clean and on the larger size. The bathroom was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wannatravelnow
WilmingtonNC1, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We strive to provide a friendly, efficient, and comfortable stay for all of our guests. We thoroughly appreciate your kind comments and will share these with our staff. We hope to see you again during your travels to Wilmington!

Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel was an ok place to stay. It was nothing fancy, but was not a disaster either. Employees were friendly, breakfast was free. Room had expected amenities. For where it is (not beachfront or anywhere particularly special) seemed a little overpriced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josh T
WilmingtonNC1, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We strive to provide an efficient, friendly, and comfortable stay for all of our guests. We thoroughly appreciate your business and hope we can welcome you back in the near future!

South Carolina
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Rooms are pretty plain but clean. Staff friendly enough but I was a little perturbed at check in. I had requested early check in so we could get ready for a wedding that started at 3:00. We arrived at 1:00 and were told no rooms were ready and that check in wasn't until 3:00. The front desk staff member told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leland and Amy H
WilmingtonNC1, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review

Greetings! Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments regarding your experience, our staff, and areas that we may improve upon. Unfortunately we are unable to guarantee early check-ins, as it is dependent upon our occupancy from the night before, what time the guests check out, the room type booked, and the housekeeping status. We strive...

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 22 August 2016

I had previously stayed here several times but not in a number of years. It was not as nice as it used to be. The pillows were among the worst I have ever encountered at a hotel and the mattress made for an aching back in the morning. The hot shower was nice and the hot buffett was reasonablly good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blueeyesform
WilmingtonNC1, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We apologize that your stay did not exceed your expectations. We appreciate your comments on areas that we may improve upon and will share these with our management staff. Thank you for your business and we hope to welcome you back in the future so that we may...

Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewed 12 August 2016

I was quoted verbally several times the price of the room. As a local, there was a $250 hold on my credit card (to be refunded at checkout). They took the money from my account and then kept the amount saying the room costs more than what I was originally quoted. Shame on them. I am on Social Security Disability...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sugarbunee
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review

Dear sugarbunee, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay and for choosing to stay with us. We are sorry for the charges issues you had with your reservation and the service you received from our staff. We would like to look into this matter. As such, I have sent you a private...

Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We booked last minute, literally before we arrived but booked wrong night, website kept kicking us off and must have changed dates, we didn't notice. Front desk clerk Alex was still able to get us a room for close to the same price. He was very efficient and friendly, had several things going on at same time. Lots of fans...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coach96
WilmingtonNC1, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments on your experience, our staff, and our front desk associate, Alex! Additionally, we appreciate your comments on areas that we may improve upon. These will be shared with our staff so that we may utilize them as a learning tool and improve guest experiences. Thank you for...

Dexter, Missouri
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

The property needs some TLC. The staff was kind, but room doors are in rough shape, bathroom needs bleach and pool seemed to be a little green. Laundry facility (one of each) worked great. Our first room smelled like a wet dog, but staff quickly relocated us. There is a Walmart next door.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank focusedtraveler
WilmingtonNC1, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review

Greetings! Thank you for your recent stay with us. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay. We have shared these with our management team so that we may improve guest experiences and services. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon so that we may provide a better experience.

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel not what I expected for a Holiday Inn, I mainly stay at Hilton Branded HotelsI. I had a King Suite, the room set up reminded me of the set up at Embassy Suites. Upon entering the room you are in a sitting area walk through to kitchenette with bathroom on the side then to the bedroom. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie W
WilmingtonNC1, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments regarding your experience, our property, and location. Thank you for your comments in areas that we can improve upon as well. We have shared these with our staff so that we may provide a better experience. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you...

Danville, Virginia
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

AC has issues. Have to push & push buttons to get it to work. Hard to switch from AC to fan! Some beds squeck badly & sounds like it might fall. Needs fixing. Very nice friendly housekeeping staff. Quiet, great towels & soft sheets. Close to Wrightsville beach about 4 miles. Hotel difficult to get into from the main road!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank c y
WilmingtonNC1, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review

Greetings! Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments regarding areas that we can improve upon. We've shared your comments with our management staff so that we may correct those items as soon as possible. Thank you for your business and we hope to welcome you back in the future so that we may provide a...

Davie, Florida, United States
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and everything was perfect. Loved the employee s and especially Carl . We had a very special chat with Carl. The breakfasts were awesome. Beds comfortable and clean. Thanks for everything!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shauna H
WilmingtonNC1, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review

Greetings! Thank you for your recent stay with us and kind comments regarding your experience and our staff. We have passed your comments along to Carl and we too think he's an amazing employee! We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Wilmington
Holiday Inn Wilmington
#20 of 45 in Wilmington
132 reviews
0.1 km away
Courtyard Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
1.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
1.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilmington
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Express(R) & Suites Wilmington - University Center offers an ideal location in mid-town Wilmington. Our hotel is less than one mile from the campus of UNC-W. We have great amenities, such as an outdoor pool, complimentary Wi-Fi access and hot breakfast. Corporate guests soon find out why we're one of the best hotels in Wilmington, NC for business travelers, as we offer business work stations with printing capabilities, as well as access to copy and fax services. We have more than 1,600 sq ft of flexible meeting space that will handle groups of up to 80 people. In addition, companies such as General Electric, Corning, Verizon Wireless and PPD are all close to our location. Our hotel is a great place for leisure travelers, too! We're close to the USS North Carolina Battleship and Children's Museum of Wilmington. Families can visit the Cape Fear Museum or explore historic downtown. We're also near Mayfaire Town Center, and some of North Carolina's most beautiful beaches are just seven miles away. While you stay with us, our staff will make sure that you enjoy every aspect of your stay. We serve a complimentary hot breakfast every morning, featuring our signature cinnamon rolls and more. Reserve a room with us today, and you'll see why our guests return year after year. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center

Address: 160 Van Campen Blvd, Wilmington, NC 28403-1621
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Price Range: $111 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Wilmington
Holiday Inn Express And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Wilmington
Holiday Inn Wilmington
Wilmington Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#17 Family Hotel in Wilmington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
North Carolina
over a year ago
baltimore
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we stayed on 4th floor and it was quiet while we were there”
 of 5 bubbles djshodges, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in a King suite it had a door between the Bedroom and sitting area.. quite nice.”
 of 5 bubbles bdheelfan, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“It is a little quirky to get in and out of this hotel, but once you figure it out, its location is quite convenient. A GPS helps!”
 of 5 bubbles MaryDonnaP, 16 May 2016 | Read review
“Request a room at the front of the hotel to avoid the back door smokers and the smell of cigarette smoke in your room.”
 of 5 bubbles 316sheilab, 18 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Stay on Top Floor”
 of 5 bubbles AnthonysOdyssey, 13 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay