We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

MainStay Suites

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
MainStay Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for MainStay Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 97: English reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

Went on a roommate vacay and stayed at this hotel. The staff was phenomenal- so helpful with advice on places to go, things we needed in the hotel, etc. The rooms are super nice suites with a kitchen, living room area, and bedroom with really comfortable beds. Highly recommend! :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tousighj
Wilmingtonhotels, Front Office Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such wonderful comments regarding your recent visit. We are so pleased that you and your family were able to enjoy the various complimentary amenities and convenience of location our property has to offer. My staff and I thank you for your positive review and will use it as encouragement to better help...

Reviewed 10 August 2015

The hotel had an odor from the time I arrived Friday afternoon until I left Sunday afternoon and I was in town from Raleigh, NC for a sorority retreat from August 7th -9th 2015. The person at the front desk seem not to know what she was doing, wouldn't provide a receipt after taking my credit card payment and wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Natalie M
Wilmingtonhotels, Front Office Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Whitehouse, Ohio
Reviewed 3 August 2015

Wilmington is our stopping point on the way to Oak Island for the week. We chose this location because we were looking for a room that could occupy six. When settling in and looking to make the sofa bed, we found no extra pillows or sheets for the pull out. No answer on the house phone forced us to walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hallpass50
Wilmingtonhotels, Front Office Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your valuable comments regarding your recent stay. We are currently in the process of upgrading the furniture and complimentary amenities in our guest rooms. We hope that you will join us again in the future so that you and your family may enjoy these great new additions. Thank you once again.

North Carolina
Reviewed 27 July 2015

This hotel is in a very convenient location, near great restaurants and mid-way between historic district and beaches. The room was spacious, and clean. Bathroom was OK but dated. At least good water temp and pressure in shower, plus a tub that drained well (something I'm picky about). Super comfortable bed. Nice kitchen. Typical breakfast, which we enjoyed in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Housers
Wilmingtonhotels, Front Office Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such wonderful feedback regarding your stay. We are pleased that you and you family were able to enjoy the numerous complimentary amenities and convenience of location our property has to offer. We gladly welcome you back to our hotel the next time you choose to visit the Wilmington area. Thank you once...

Reviewed 29 June 2015 via mobile

Really no complaints. Great prices, great staff. Breakfast served. I felt safe there. Free wifi and centrally located. Lots of things in walking distance. Free parking. The rooms were clean and updated. Bathrooms are on the small side.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smihoulides
Wilmingtonhotels, Front Office Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such wonderful comments regarding your recent visit to our hotel. We strive to offer every guest pleasant and relaxing accommodations and we are pleased that we achieved our goals on your recent visit. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Wilmington area. Thank you.

Laurinburg, North Carolina
Reviewed 25 May 2015 via mobile

When we first arrived we hit a little snag in our reservation. The front desk lady was very helpful to do everything she could to make it right. Our room was nice and seemed clean. The hallways though really needed some extra attention. In the morning we came down for the free breakfast, looked around at what was available and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Macryjac3
Wilmingtonhotels, Front Office Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your valuable feedback regarding your recent visit. Your comments are very important to us and we will use them to better serve you and other future guest. We look forward to accommodating you again on your next visit to the Wilmington area. Thank you once again.

Fayetteville, North Carolina
Reviewed 30 April 2015

Was in Wilmington on business, am on the road 3-4 days per week and let me tell you this hotel was like being home!! Very nicely appointed, complete with dishes, silverware, pots & pans etc.. Bed is AWESOME....shopped at Lowes for my food, BBQ'ed on one of the two grills found in a wonderful Garden like setting!! The Customer service...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Phil V
Wilmingtonhotels, Front Office Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such wonderful comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are so pleased that you were able to enjoy the many complimentary amenities that we offer and our attentive friendly staff were able to help you with issues that may have arose. We gladly welcome you back to the Main Stay Suites the next time you...

Bethel Park
Reviewed 15 March 2015 via mobile

So glad to be back in the Wilmington area, and to have another awesome stay here. I can't believe our room was even Bigger than the one we had in December. The down comforters are wonderful!! And as usual, the room was spotless & well appointed. I happen to think the breakfast goes above & beyond as far as choices.All...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Blaise H
Wilmingtonhotels, Front Office Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such wonderful comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel on your last visit and we thank you for being such a loyal guest with us. We gladly welcome you back to the Main Stay Suites the next time you choose to visit the Wilmington area. See you soon and thank...

Fayetteville, NC
Reviewed 1 February 2015

Good property for the price. Nothing special but they do try to please. It is clean and the suite was comfortable. Stayed for 3 nights while in Wilmington on business. Would return again, but if you're looking for AAA 4 star this is not your place. Clean, comfortable, reasonable. Good location to all things Wilmington.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NCBallboy
Wilmingtonhotels, Front Office Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your valuable comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel on your recent visit and the numerous complimentary amenities our property has to offer. We gladly welcome you back the next time you choose to visit the Wilmington area. Thank you once again.

Wilmington
Reviewed 5 January 2015

The Mainstay Suites on Market Street are a great location with access to all the Wilminngton area has to offer. 5 miles from Downtown, less than 3 miles to Wrightsville beach, 10 miles to Carolina Beach, less than 4 miles to UNCW. A Target and Costco around the corner. Breakfast buffet is included, pets are welcome and the management is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Betsy V
Wilmingtonhotels, Front Office Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete this online review. We are pleased you and your family enjoyed the accommodations and superior service that we provided for you. We gladly invite you back to our property the next time you visit the Wilmington area. Thank you once again.

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.0 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#24 of 45 in Wilmington
71 reviews
1.4 km away
TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.4 km away
Extended Stay America - Wilmington - New Centre Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
1.0 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#27 of 45 in Wilmington
148 reviews
0.9 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Address: 5229 Market St, Hwy 132 & US 17, Wilmington, NC 28405-3433
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Price Range: $156 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Wilmington
Mainstay Wilmington
Wilmington Mainstay Suites
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MainStay Suites staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from MainStay Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Due to high humidity, first floor is noted to have cockroaches on occasion.”
 of 5 bubbles KarleneC490, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask questions before booking at this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles nataliemS5938AU, 10 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Over-looking the Garden Patio Area.”
 of 5 bubbles 975philv, 29 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Everything was nice”
 of 5 bubbles D6119EQmaried, 28 Nov 2014 | Read review
“I would shoot for top floor”
 of 5 bubbles WendyR474, 17 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5