We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Silver Gull Motel

Hotels.comUS$169*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$169*
US$169*
US$169*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Silver Gull Motel
Silver Gull Motel
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 167: English reviews
Start your review of Silver Gull Motel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

To begin with, the nightly rate of the hotel is well beyond its " excellent reviews" The room was ocean front, but that's all it was. The room has double beds, the bathroom was dirty, the shower had hair in it, and had stains in it. For a hotel that was remodeled a year ago, there should not be stains...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Billy F
Katelyn W, Front Office Manager at Silver Gull Motel, responded to this review

We are terribly sorry for the experiences you incurred during your visit, The Silver Gull prides itself on being a simple, clean, family friendly room by the ocean, and it seems we have failed you on most of these. Please give our General Manager Rob a call if you would like to discuss your stay further and hopefully we can...

Roxboro
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff is very welcoming, our room was clean. My husband was able to secure two blankets and an extra pillow for my knee, (which I had banged on a step at the N.C. Mem. Battleship). Wi-fi is in and out, so prepare yourself. We will not be returning to the Silver Gull because they do not disclose on their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna L
Katelyn W, Front Office Manager at Silver Gull Motel, responded to this review

First of all, thank you for staying with us at The Silver Gull. We are pleased to see that our staff treated you well and your room was clean. Unfortunately, parking and public access locations around our motel are simply out of our hands but we will certainly take your advice and disclose this information on our website. Thank you...

Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a decent place with great views of the beach . The rooms on the end are very spacious . Kitchen is functional and clean. Three floors with elevator. Would recommend this hotel and the Pier is right there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corine S
Katelyn W, Front Office Manager at Silver Gull Motel, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write your review and we thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Silver Gull. We pride ourselves on having simple, clean rooms right by the beach for the best rates you can find on Wrightsville. We hope to see y'all again soon! Katelyn

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the Silver Gull for one night in early May. The room was clean. The beds were double beds for small guest. My feet hung off the bed. I am 6'1. The beds were also squeaky and soft. Only four rooms have kings. The rooms are large enough for two queens. That would be a very strong upgrade...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martinoceankeyes57
Temecula, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The location and view were amazing! Spacious room with all amenities . We will be back! Very quiet and the management was very nice! The view from the deck was exactly what we had hoped! We had a great relaxing time!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank valerieagogo
Katelyn W, Front Office Manager at Silver Gull Motel, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate the kind words and so glad to see y'all were able to have an enjoyable getaway! Come back and see us soon, thanks again!

Hickory, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here in April and will definitely be returning ASAP! This place was so neat and clean! The beds were extremely comfortable. They had a nice little kitchenette and so we were able to prepare some meals here with the basics that they supplied. It is right next to the pier, great if you like to fish and there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank browniegrl
Katelyn W, Front Office Manager at Silver Gull Motel, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having you all at The Silver Gull! We are happy to see you had a relaxing time, April (or early spring) and around October and late fall are excellent times to come to Wrightsville Beach, it is such a wonderful beach that if you come during the busy season (Memorial Day through Labor Day) it gets...

Cliffside, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were okay with the stay considering the location and price. You get what you pay for along the southeast coast I suppose. We would stay here again but prefer a newer building, the age shows in many ways from the hot water, a/c / heat and the beds need to be updated asap, very restless sleeping. Overall the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank c b
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked two nights. The first night was rough as the beds in our room were horrendous my son and I were not able to sleep and with his medical condition sleep is imperative. So let me start by saying the cleaning lady we met upon our arrival was excellent, very friendly and really helpful, The rooms was definitely worn...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stephanie C
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 21 April 2017

Reasons fit that title/ comment 1. Best possible position on the beach 2. Recently renovated room was very very spacious with sea facing balcony, kitchenette, dining and study areas. Some hard-water stains on WC, understandable, but if addressed would make it more awesome. No other issues at all. 3. Clean and great sheets / linen 4. Rob, Shelly and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Avi_GlobeTrotter
Arlington
Reviewed 19 April 2017

This is a great place to stay if you are not renting a house in Wrightsville Beach! The motel is very clean, it is in a great location for beach access, and the staff is all very friendly. The room we stayed in looked over a little street with homes across from it but it was very quiet, the motel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina C

317 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (267)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Beach (46)
Viewed
Double Queen Efficiency Room A (PRE-RENOVATION) (49)
Viewed
Double Queen Efficiency Room B (PRE-RENOVATION) (51)
Viewed
King Efficiency Room (PRE-RENOVATION) (55)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
2.7 km away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
126 reviews
2.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
4.4 km away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
23.6 km away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
414 reviews
7.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether you're visiting the coast for business or pleasure, we'll make certain your stay at The Silver Gull in beautiful Wrightsville Beach is one you'll long remember. Only a wide beach stands between you and the majestic Atlantic Ocean. Restaurants, shops, and Johnnie Mercer's Pier are within walking distance. The Silver Gull it all - convenience, comfort, and best yet, that personal touch. So come see us. We're open year round. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Silver Gull Motel

Address: 20 Salisbury St E, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-1812
Region: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: $180 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Gull Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Silver Gull Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Gull Hotel Wrightsville Beach
Silver Gull Wrightsville Beach
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Silver Gull Motel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
over a year ago
Greensboro, North Carolina
24 days ago
Snow Camp, North Carolina
4 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Silver Gull Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our view was average, not worth what we paid.”
Q293ZYdonnal, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Pick the ocean front rooms with kings”
Martinoceankeyes57, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“Parking is tight under the motel and not easy to get in, out or park, if you have a large vehicle ie van, truck, big SUV of any kind.”
, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have a view and are quiet. 100% non smoking except designated smoking area. No wonder rooms don't smell foul.”
Avi_GlobeTrotter, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“get one of the few rooms that overlooks the ocean”
bdtravelers, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$169* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$169
TripAdvisorUS$169
Expedia.comUS$169
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates