We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Econo Lodge East

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Econo Lodge East
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge East
See the most recent reviews
Showing 131: English reviews
Southern Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2015

Location was good. The price was cheap. But the room was dirty, pervious guests hair in bathroom, toothpaste splatter on mirror. Front desk staff smoked out the front door any time of day/night. I'd ch

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 855amy
Chris H, General Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I apologize for the bathroom issues. We did find out our chemicals for the glass are actually leaving spots and stuff. We are switching to a water vinegar mixture which will not leave those marks. As for the smoking out front, we only have one front desk staff at any given time here, and... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2015 via mobile

When we checked in there was poop left in the toilet from someone else. Everything is disgustingly sticky to the touch (doors, lights, curtains, tables, etc.) Ironing board looked as though someone got blood all over it, the floor had gross sticky spots, the walls had streaks running down them that looked like someone had explosive diarrhea in the room.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Blbrd332
Chris H, General Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review

We are sorry for your experience at our hotel. I do have to say that all of our rooms are inspected when they are done being cleaned, and I also personally inspected the room after receiving this complaint. Given what was in the complaint, my staff would have contacted me immediately had you come to the front desk and brought... More 

Travellers are raving about these Fargo hotels

Willmar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2015

The motel appeared to have had updates in carpets, nice flat TV, and very good shower and safety bars. The breakfast area is rather small, but they had a very nice choice of breakfast options. It was also very quiet and this was a Sat. night. The weekend rate was also very reasonable for Fargo, ND.

Helpful?
Thank Gil I
Chris H, General Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us while in Fargo. As for our breakfast area, when the remodeling is done it will be 3 times as large as it is now, plus we are looking at adding additional items since we will have more counter space to work with. Plus the possibility of items for sale at night to cook such... More 

Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2015

It is impossible to get a medical rate (anywhere) when booking online. We traveled with a pet. They had the rooms with pets in nicely spaced. There were RABBITS in the greenspace. Room was clean. Everything worked. When the painters or remodeling was done, the wall mounted headboards were moved and the painting wasn't finished. Ironing board wouldn't change from... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jimmy B
Chris H, General Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review

We have many guests that stay here for medical reasons because of the great rates we offer for that. Unfortunately, those are in-house rates, therefore a person would need to call us directly to book a room. We have a few bunnies that like to come around, and many of the guests will throw them bread and stuff. The kids... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2015

There is remodeling in progress but overall clean and quiet and lots of things to do nearby. Friendly staff at front desk. Easy access from I-29 and near I-94 if passing through any direction you are traveling.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 810dee
Chris H, General Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are looking forward to getting our remodeling done. It will be nice to have a much improved breakfast area and better looking rooms. Have a great day and we hope to see you again. Chris & Patti More 

Sioux Center, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2015

Very clean, HUGE rooms and well-managed property. Ample parking and nice grassy areas to exercise pets. TV is tricky to operate, but staff came up to help us with the remote. Enjoyed the breakfasts and would definitely stay here again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paula A
Chris H, General Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and your puppy. We are working on getting Cable One to fix that issue. It has been really annoying since the upgrade to digital, never had a problem before then. Have a great day and we look forward to seeing ya'll next time. Chris & Patti More 

Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2015

We had no problem finding the place. It was clean, quiet and the staff was very friendly. We had driven all day and we were super tired when we arrived. Checking in was quick and easy. Lots of pillows on the bed, so no need to go ask for more.

Helpful?
Thank Power_Family77
Chris H, General Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Glad we were able to give you the comfort and friendliness you deserved. We are also working on improving the hotel to make your stay even better the next time. We hope you have a safe trip and a wonderful day! Chris & Patti More 

Winnipeg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2015

Comfortable bed, clean room, friendly staff. Close to the mall and several restaurants. The breakfast is typical budget hotel food. Nothing special but it fills you up. Nicer than a lot of other budget hotels. Heat/AC unit is very old and very loud. I had to turn it off to sleep.

Helpful?
Thank Michele S
Chris H, General Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. You will be glad to know we are getting rid of all our old HVAC units and replacing them with new Amana digital units. We are also looking at adding more selections to our breakfast when the area is completed with our renovation. This should add even more bang for the buck, especially for an... More 

Starbuck, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2015

As indicated in my review, this hotel is apparently undergoing some renovations. It was clean, my first night there was deteriorating sheet-rock next to the a/c and heating unit. I've stayed here before and been impressed so I'll give it another chance next time I'm in town. Breakfast is par with other cold motel offerings, although just down the block... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Darin P
Chris H, General Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Yes, we are doing a major renovation which will increase our capacity by 19 rooms. We are also going to be replacing all our HVAC units with a slightly larger unit. That is the reason for not repairing the cracks at this time, since the holes for the new units will be larger than... More 

Hawthorne, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2015

I spent two nights at your lodge last week. This was the third time I stayed with you. As usual all needs were taken care of and the stay was really nice. The room was clean and neat and resting except for a hole in a wall. Thanks for taking care of me.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jcallkpc
Chris H, General Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review

Thank you for continuing to stay with us. We will be repainting all our rooms, at which time any holes, or gouges will be filled in and taken care, along with newer HVAC units and some other upgrades in the bathrooms. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town. Have a great day! Chris &... More 

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fargo hotels
0.9 km away
Econo Lodge West Fargo
Econo Lodge West Fargo
#45 of 50 in Fargo
84 reviews
0.8 km away
Fargo Inn & Suites
Fargo Inn & Suites
#30 of 50 in Fargo
163 reviews
0.1 km away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#35 of 50 in Fargo
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Days Inn Fargo
Days Inn Fargo
#14 of 50 in Fargo
432 reviews
2.0 km away
Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn
#23 of 50 in Fargo
204 reviews
0.5 km away
Super 8 Fargo/I-29/West Acres Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Econo Lodge(R) East is situated across I29 from West Acres Mall, north of Interstate 94. Easy access to North Dakota State University, the Fargodome arena, Roger Maris Museum, Red River Valley Speedway and Bonanzaville USA Cass County Historical Society museum. Microwaves, refrigerators and coffee pots in all rooms at no extra charge. We also offer in-house special rates for vets/ active military (with ID), medical and construction. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Econo Lodge East

Address: 1401 35th St. S., Fargo, ND 58103
Region: United States > North Dakota > Fargo
Price Range: $71 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge East 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Fargo
Fargo Econo Lodge
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Fargo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Econo Lodge East staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Minnesota City, Minnesota
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge East staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“don't stay in Indian owned motels.”
 of 5 bubbles 211jw, 28 Oct 2015 | Read review
“if calling hotel for rooom request the things you would like, such as first or second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Y207RYcarolk, 6 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Ground floor is my preference.”
 of 5 bubbles KayJay82, 11 Aug 2015 | Read review
“We had a room on ground floor next to street and had no traffic noise all rooms seem to be ok”
 of 5 bubbles ladonnah127, 10 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Stay away from the back end of the hotel(furthest from the lobby) Noisy other guests.”
 of 5 bubbles AlanC242, 23 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay