We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Budget Inn Express Grand Forks

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Budget Inn Express Grand Forks
View Map
{"widget":{"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 28: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2015

I booked this Hotel from looking at the pictures on Booking.com, unfortunately biggest error. This place is not fit for animals forget about people. Entrance was like being in a junk yard, rooms were smelly, musty, filthy bathroom. The photos on the website are nothing like what we saw. Absolute crap in the name of a hotel. I cancelled my... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Divya711
budgetinnexpress1, Webmaster at Budget Inn Express Grand Forks, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments about our always-improving hotel in Grand Rapids. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations in some ways and for whatever caused your extreme reaction to our hotel. We take real pride in this hotel and believe that pride shows in everything we do. I’m disappointed that we could not satisfy you,... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2015 via mobile

This is the nastiest hotel I have ever stayed in everything is dirty and not clean wood floors have gaps in them nasty stain on the bed just totally gross in general.This place should not be in business

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
budgetinnexpress1, Webmaster at Budget Inn Express Grand Forks, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the review. I’m terribly sorry we failed to meet your expectations. We take pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and in the overall experience we provide to guests. I sincerely apologize that we let you down and assure you that action is already being taken to make things better for the future. Your experience... More 

Travellers are raving about these Grand Forks hotels

Minot, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2015

The only nice thing I can say about this place was the front desk lady was very nice and didn't argue over the refunds. Me and three others had no other choice in town. We all checked our rooms then met at the front desk to see if we could exchange rooms for new rooms. Well that was a mistake... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank Txtwister51
budgetinnexpress1, Webmaster at Budget Inn Express Grand Forks, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate your comments. I’m very sorry we couldn’t meet your needs or expectations despite our efforts. We take great pride in being a pleasant, friendly and accommodating place to stay, and we obviously let you down in some ways. For that, I apologize. I hope when you visit the area again you will give us another chance... More 

Bemidji, Minnesota
Level Contributor
180 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2015 via mobile

Stayed here once, thought there was about a 50/50 chance of being mugged. Its about as low as it gets in the Grand Forks area and i dont think i would stay here again unless it was your very last option! And even then I would consider sleeping in the car ha

Helpful?
10 Thank petey3
budgetinnexpress1, Webmaster at Budget Inn Express Grand Forks, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your opinions. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your needs and did not live up to your expectations. We take pride in our hotel and in providing a great place to stay for so many guests, and I deeply regret that we let you down. Perhaps you will give us another try in the... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Better off staying in a tent place is a dumpster dive and a crack house . Pass due for wrecking ball. A/c no good fly infes plus roach I got no picture to show but I will but beware you will need to go to er after you see and you may need a tet shot to

Helpful?
1 Thank Atsisonvnvhiali... W
Web-Dinger, Owner at Budget Inn Express Grand Forks, responded to this review

Due to poor spelling, grammar, and sentence structure I will try to decode this review and respond the best I can. First, no guest has ever had to go to the ER after staying with us. NEVER, has this happened. Also, we DO NOT have a fly infestation and I don't know why a guest would have to get a... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Me and my family stayed here for one week... my children have scabies from staying here.... so be aware. Alao the bathtub was black from soap scum the shower curtain had black mold all over it. Overall the price was decent but was not satisfied

Helpful?
6 Thank brandyandjoey
Web-Dinger, General Manager at Budget Inn Express Grand Forks, responded to this review

Dear Brandy and Joseph, Please do your research before you recklessly accuse a business of something like this. Scabies is most commonly transmitted via skin to skin contact. You can also contract scabies through the water. For you to post a review like this is border line slander and I will dispute this review with TripAdvisor. Also, scabies is a... More 

Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

This place should be closed. It is dirty and un-safe. Upon check-in, the woman at the desk said she required credit card or cash payment up front (should of been our first clue this place a disaster) She would not hold payment until our check-out like other hotels. When we got to our room, what we found was outrageous. The... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank Busy_Mom_Bee
Web-Dinger, General Manager at Budget Inn Express Grand Forks, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I am very sorry about your stay here. I did locate that blanket from our linen and it has been removed from our inventory. The wall outlet has been repaired. I would like to say if you would have come to my front desk about these issues a full refund would have been given. Credit cards are pre-authorized... More 

ThiefRiver Falls
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I stayed at this motel when I came to GF to visit a friend who was living here while working in GF. It was gorgeous weather and the pool is amazing Super clean, heated and well maintained. But the best is that the pool is outside. It is almost impossible to find an outdoor pool in this region. Being from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jamie J
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few years ago It really was OK. Now it reminded me of a flophouse. Looked at the hot & filthy room. Went straight back to the desk. Only good thing was, I got my money back. Stay anywhere else.

Helpful?
3 Thank Tripnazi
Web-Dinger, Owner at Budget Inn Express Grand Forks, responded to this review

I would like to say we are very sorry that you didn't like your room. I feel you were a bit harsh in your statements concerning our motel. I am also surprised because you mentioned your stay here a "few years ago" was "OK"...(You have actually stayed here MANY times), Since "that" time we have re-carpeted, painted, and bathroom remodels... More 

Baudette, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I was traveling West Into ND. when i couldn't go any farther the snow storm was at its worst and i couldn't see the road any moor. I pulled into a gas station and asked for a phone book. and started calling places so i would have a place for the night and wait out the storm. every one was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Russell P
budgetinnexpress1, Webmaster at Budget Inn Express Grand Forks, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I’m glad we were here for you. Thank you so much for your kind words. I’m so pleased that you found us a clean and pleasant place to stay and that our amenities were to your liking. We take real pride in this hotel and in serving guests like you, and I’m extremely happy that you had such... More 

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
0.8 km away
Select Inn Grand Forks
Select Inn Grand Forks
#27 of 29 in Grand Forks
24 reviews
1.2 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#23 of 29 in Grand Forks
73 reviews
1.1 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Knights Inn and Suites Grand Forks
1.2 km away
Ramada Grand Forks
Ramada Grand Forks
#13 of 29 in Grand Forks
141 reviews
1.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Grand Forks
Hilton Garden Inn Grand Forks
#4 of 29 in Grand Forks
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Budget Inn Express Grand Forks

Address: 3400 Gateway Dr, Grand Forks, ND 58203-0816
Region: United States > North Dakota > Grand Forks
Price Range: $69 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn Express Grand Forks 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Budget Inn Express Grand Forks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Inn Express Grand Forks Hotel Grand Forks
Budget Inn Grand Forks
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Budget Inn Express Grand Forks staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dont go to this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Divya711, 6 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Don't do it”
 of 5 bubbles Txtwister51, 7 Jan 2015 | Read review
“I loved the rooms at the back. Very quiet and enjoyed watching the kids play on the grass lot. I am posting a picture of my great view from the balcony outside the door to the room. I love lots of trees where ever I am at and this was an added bonus for me.”
  • sitting right outside the room
 of 5 bubbles 979jamiej, 13 Aug 2013 | Read review
“lock your car”
 of 5 bubbles JimA617, 2 Jul 2012 | Read review
“No idea, was happy with what I got”
 of 5 bubbles Meda66, 13 Jun 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay