We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cinco Portas Pensao

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Cinco Portas Pensao
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 45: English reviews
Start your review of Cinco Portas Pensao
 Click to rate
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall a very good stay. As many reviewers have highlighted, the food is simply amazing. Chris is a very good cook - his local shellfish soup is a must try, followed by great lobster or prawns. I do however think that the best part of our stay was the service that Chris provided. He is very engaged in making sure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacob B
ChrisCincoPortas, Manager at Cinco Portas Pensao, responded to this review

Thank you very, very much Jacob for taking time writing a review! It was a pleasure having you staying with us. From a personal point of view I find it very annoying when I see web pages for hotels with slogans, and the worst slogan of them all is " Your home away from home", how worn out can it...

Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

My stay was wonderful! Ibo is definitely a place to relax! Cinco Portas is a place with amazing people and food! Chris(owner/manager/chef, etc) is an wonderful person and makes sure everything is perfect! Food is an amazing surprise. He makes miracles in the kitchen! Thanks everyone. My stay was wonderful!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
ChrisCincoPortas, Manager at Cinco Portas Pensao, responded to this review

Thank you very much Sara for your nice words about Cinco Portas. It is reviews like this that keeps us going. We have just finalized a wonderful year with a lot of positive response as we in the same time are busy with upgrading our rooms and our service levels. I really hope that you have the possibility to visit...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Everything about this place was just great! The place itself, the staff, and best of all, the manager/chef: Chris. He is what makes this place! If you have the opportunity, even if not staying there, try his prawns with a tequila sauce -- just so delicious. An amazing place to visit, and to just unwind. What makes it so nice,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dpr8
ChrisCincoPortas, Manager at Cinco Portas Pensao, responded to this review

Tank you very much for your 5 star review! And thank you for mentioning our staff, yes we do have some stars working with us. We have tons of discussions constantly what is expected from our guests, and how do we reach there. My latest motto to our staff is: " Don't pay respect to our guests, pay attention". Also...

Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We didn't stay at Cinco Portas, but we had dinner there every night. The restaurant, which we have to book in advance to guarantee availability, is amazing. The chef is very good and the quality of the fish and seefood was amazing! If you go to Ibo, you must go there!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raquel_Leandro
ChrisCincoPortas, Manager at Cinco Portas Pensao, responded to this review

Raquel, thank you VERY MUCH for you appreciation! It is comments like this one that makes us going for the next step of improvements! To be a good chef you need to be confident, not "cocky". When you are no more humble or hungry for new "heights", you will loose it all! When you doesn't have a certain level of...

Durban
Reviewed 12 November 2016

We didn't stay at Cinco Portas but went there for dinner one night and it was incredible! I think it's work going all the way to Ibo just to eat there.The Chef comes out and tells you about your meal, the staff are really friendly and the service is great! They have really fresh seafood, prepared with subtle and interesting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ritahiggie
ChrisCincoPortas, Manager at Cinco Portas Pensao, responded to this review

Thank you very much for visiting Ibo and Cinco Portas restaurant. Your positive and nice words in regard to my food is what keeps me going. We have a small kitchen with limited resources, but what no one can take away from us is our constant availability of fresh fish and seafood. I am on a quest to create the...

Vancouver
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights on an independent trip around Mozambique. Getting to the island by charter plane is a good choice as travelling by boat is dependent on the tides. Chris the resident Chef/Manager came to pick us up from the airport... er.. landing strip, in his old truck. He is a great character with a huge heart...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oldbackpack
ChrisCincoPortas, Manager at Cinco Portas Pensao, responded to this review

Oldbackpack, thank you 1000 times for you nice 5 star review! And for taking your time to mention more things in your review, not just Cinco Portas! As you so correctly states, Cinco Portas is not a 5* resort! At this moment we are busy upgrading our rooms further with tiles and some new decor. And yes, hooks, you are...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 28 October 2016

First of all be prepared when you come to Ibo for a remote 'island' which takes time and effort to get to (via plane or long boat journey) but is well worth it to wander through an island community that is welcoming and with some stunning ruins. Bearing this in mind the hotels and meals are expensive but Cinco Portas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BangkokBunny
ChrisCincoPortas, Manager at Cinco Portas Pensao, responded to this review

Thank you very much Bangkok Bunny for visiting Ibo and Cinco Portas. As told, it takes some efforts to reach Ibo, and it is not for everyone! I together with the owner and the team at Cinco Portas are trying to create a relaxed, "honest" atmosphere with a soul. On a personal level I must say I hate when hotels...

Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

A small stunning property situated right on the waters edge, the rooms are simply furnished but comfortable and cosy after day exploring the island. The only thing better than the view if the food, the manager is an excellent chef and his staff have been quick to learn. If you are not staying here then a visit to the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AWildLife
Pemba, Mozambique
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Ibo Island is a special place where you really feel the history. Cinco Portas keeps that feeling alive but also provides a very comfortable place for the modern person to relax in. The value for the price is great and the pool is a wonderful bonus.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GiaMancuso
A TripAdvisor Member
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

We spend five nights at Cinco Portas and enjoyed every single one. The rooms are around a lovely garden with shady trees, chameleons relaxing and the miniature gazelle tiktik running around. They have awesome, but more pricier rooms with sea view and good valuable rooms in the old colonial building. Chris, manager and chef, is a very nice person, very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ibo
0.0 km away
Ulala Lodge
Ulala Lodge
#1 of 2 in Murrebue
101 reviews
0.0 km away
nZuwa Lodge
nZuwa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Murrebue
43 reviews
0.0 km away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#1 of 22 in Maputo
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Ibo Island Lodge
Ibo Island Lodge
#2 of 3 in Ibo
185 reviews
0.0 km away
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Quirimbas Archipelago
149 reviews
0.0 km away
Azura Quilalea Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Charming boutique hotel sea front on refurbished colonial building. Our restaurant offers variety of African and Mediterranean food. Organize boat safaris and kid activities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cinco Portas Pensao

Address: Rua de la Republica | Caixa Postal 121, Cabo Delgado Province, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Cabo Delgado Province > Quirimbas Archipelago > Ibo
Price Range: $68 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cinco Portas Pensao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cinco Portas Pensao staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best room is the one left of the pool with its own terrace.”
 of 5 bubbles 789evenk, 2 Jan 2016 | Read review
“At present best room is the only one overlooking the water, with it's own deck. A tad more expensive, but....”
 of 5 bubbles AndrewRHB, 11 Nov 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are quiet enough, but I would try the bigger ones for the additional space.”
 of 5 bubbles homedelsac, 1 Sep 2013 | Read review
“The Colonial room, though well-appointed, is a bit noisy. A new suite with a sea view is being built. We shall definitely stay there next time.”
 of 5 bubbles simult, 27 Aug 2013 | Read review
“The last room on the porch was our favourite. The room at the street entrance wasn't the best.”
 of 5 bubbles RichT46, 27 Nov 2012 | Read review
5 of 5