We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Candlelight B & B

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocky Harbour
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Candlelight B & B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Candlelight B & B
See the most recent reviews
Showing 144: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Diane and Peter both met and exceeded our expectations. We scrambled to find a location in Rocky Harbour for a one night stay. We left a voicemail in hopes they would have a room available. We were fortunate enough that they did. The room had everything one would expect in a B&B, extremely comfortable bed, amazing view, small fridge etc......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markrobinson1975
FishermansBlues, Owner at Candlelight B & B, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review Mark.. It would have been so nice if you two were able to spend more time with us, however, at least you were able to get in due to a cancellation. I hope Alexs' mom didn't slave too hard making you Jiggs Dinner! :) I can hardly wait until you come back for another visit,...

Sudbury, Canada
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We were 2 couples that travelled together all the way to Newfoundland. It was a great adventure and staying at this bed and breakfast was amazing. We had the 2 rooms upstairs and it was like our own private bed and breakfast. Nice choices for breakfast. Diane and Peter were great hosts and we had lots of laughs. We definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
FishermansBlues, Owner at Candlelight B & B, responded to this review

Thanks for your wonderful review Ann. It was such a pleasure having the four of you stay for two nights way back at the beginning of August! You were all beautiful people, and yes, we enjoyed our time with you also. Come back when you can, and bring Don & Monique with you again... but let me know so I...

Goderich, Canada
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Diane and Peter where awesome hosts. Breakfast was amazing every morning, we like the way they had it organized with 15 minutes between each couple and also being able to pick out from their menu what we would like to eat. Rooms where clean and comfortable. View from the yard was incredible. My husband and I liked the fact that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosieandrobert
FishermansBlues, Owner at Candlelight B & B, responded to this review

Hi you two! Thanks so much for taking the time to post a wonderful review. We're so very happy that you enjoyed your time with us and that you were able to 'unwind' in our gorgeous waterfront yard with your glass of wine. Sitting in the yard makes you just realize how lucky we are in life sometimes to visit...

London, Canada
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

This was a gem. Excellent food, great location, wonderful treatment by Diane and Peter, a choice of different breakfasts. They were extremely helpful is planning our stay in Gros Morne. When we arrived they sat us down to provide us with a detailed overview of the area. When we made our reservation they told us of the great show Anchors...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dougfairbairnis
FishermansBlues, Owner at Candlelight B & B, responded to this review

Thanks for such a wonderful review! I'm happy that we were able to provide you with great tips and wonderful memories of our little piece of paradise. Diane & Peter

Ontario,Canada
Reviewed 19 September 2016

My wife and I just got home from the "Rock", we spent 12 days on the Island and managed to see only the northern portion....next year we shall return to do the southern part. We stayed with Diane and Peter's for two nights and we did not want to leave...this lovely home is perfect and the food is very good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JSMONTARIO
FishermansBlues, Owner at Candlelight B & B, responded to this review

Hi you two! We really wish that you would've been able to stay much longer than the two nights you were able to! When you come back to the south side of the island next summer, sneak up for another few days! We'd love to have you. Diane & Peter

North Oaks, Minnesota
Reviewed 17 September 2016

My wife and I were nearing the end of our two week trip to Newfoundland where we had several different types of lodging. My conclusion is that it always comes down to the owners. If they care about their place, if they care about their guests, its a great experience for us. In this case, Diane and Peter excelled. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rich J
FishermansBlues, Owner at Candlelight B & B, responded to this review

Hi Richard, Thanks for your great review. We're happy that you and Claire we able to enjoy the 'real' Newfoundland of turbulent weather :) Unfortunately we don't have any pull with Mother Nature so when it rains and blows, it really rains and blows. Yup, the TV's are small,,, 19" to be exact. They are on our 'eventually' renovation budget,...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 15 September 2016

This B&B is located one block from the Beach for whale watching and enjoying the sunsets. The room was spotless and comfortable. We had access to the breakfast room for socializing and making tea or coffee. The hosts were very friendly and helpful in giving advice about where to eat and visit. Our breakfast was hot, delicious and generous.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NormHaug
FishermansBlues, Owner at Candlelight B & B, responded to this review

Hi Norm,, Thanks for your wonderful review. We're happy you enjoyed our waterfront location as the only thing separating us from the beach is our beautiful little cemetery in front of our place... just adds to to ambiance. (best neighbours you can have!) Loved our chats about the previous B&B's you had stayed at along your way over to GMNP......

Toronto
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights and our hostess was extremely generous in permitting us an early check in. Peter and Diane are gracious host and they have a beautiful and spacious B&B. We had room #2 and we found it extremely spacious with a wonderful queen bed, plenty of storage and a great big bathtub/restroom. We found breakfast was outstanding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry E
FishermansBlues, Owner at Candlelight B & B, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely review Larry. It was a lot of fun having the four of you stay for three nights, even if Wendy did keep picking on you :) Ohhhh sisterly love! We're happy that you all enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again. Diane & Peter

Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Any quick perusal of the reviews for Peter and Diane's lovely B&B will make it plainly obvious that if you plan on staying for any length of time near Gros Morne you owe it to yourself to stay at the Candlelight. Our experience was just like everyone else's; top notch ! 5 out of 5 stars easy. Thank you Diane...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
FishermansBlues, Owner at Candlelight B & B, responded to this review

Thanks for the wonderful review Peter. I can tell that you and Gloria are still reliving your trip to our beautiful island... you came in June, and you're posting this review in September. I'm happy that Peter and I were able to give you some lasting memories of your fun stay in Rocky Harbour. This place really is magical. Enjoy...

Dartmouth
Reviewed 8 September 2016

My wife and I spent 4 nights at this gem of a B&B. We had not done B&B's for years and the stay at Candlelight was a delightful way to get reaquainted with this type of accommodations. What can be said about this place other then it is top notice in every way ,from location and the facility itself( rooms,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rogercwhitman
FishermansBlues, Owner at Candlelight B & B, responded to this review

Thanks for your wonderful review Roger. Having you and Nita stay with us for four nights was fantastic..As I had mentioned to you a few times, you are the perfect B&B guests,, entertaining, engaging, respectful and just plain fun. It really was like you were family by the time you left. I did mention that we, along with the two...

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Harbour
0.9 km away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
178 reviews
1.8 km away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
94 reviews
36.4 km away
Seabreeze B & B
Seabreeze B & B
#1 of 3 in Cow Head
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 km away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
6 reviews
36.8 km away
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
9.2 km away
Neddies Harbour Inn
Neddies Harbour Inn
#1 of 4 in Norris Point
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are an adult only (19+) Canada Select 4* B&B located directly on the water in Rocky Harbour NL in the middle of Gros Morne National Park. All rooms provide one queen sized bed with pillow top mattresses (double occupancy only) and a large 4 piece en-suite. Choice of 6 breakfast items, made to order. Come and experience nature at it's finest, come to Gros Morne National Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Candlelight B & B

Address: 89 Main St. North, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Rocky Harbour
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Candlelight B & B Rocky Harbour, Newfoundland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Candlelight B & B staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Candlelight B & B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose it while visiting Gros Morne”
janetf829, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I think all locations in this B and B are great...very quiet at night.”
River_Guides, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 6 upstairs has good views of the ocean”
L3860VQianm, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The two upstairs rooms have the best view.”
cscgesp, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room was comfy and cozy.”
rosieandrobert, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5