We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western Plus Bowmanville

Expedia.comUS$94*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$135*
US$94*
US$135*
US$94*
US$135*
US$94*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western Plus Bowmanville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Bowmanville
See the most recent reviews
Showing 92: English reviews
Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 27 October 2016

The Best Western Plus hotel in Bowmanvile is an incredibly clean and quiet hotel with a comfortable modern presence. About an hour out of Toronto it provides an alternative place to stay on the way to, or from, Pearson Airport. I've often stayed in Toronto after a long flight from Australia before setting off, but in the future, I will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
Michael G, General Manager at Best Western Plus Bowmanville, responded to this review

Thank you Michael B for your review. We appreciate you taking time to share your feedback with us and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for staying with us and look forward to serve you again in the near future.

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 27 October 2016

my first impression was that it was modern. check in was easy and the staff friendly. We stayed in room 134. upon arrival to the room I did my normal bed check and was surprised to find the top cover for the bed was badly stained and looked like it had food stuck to it on the inside. I pitched...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ti83
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Pool small..dirty bandaid in pool. Pool closes early. Room was cold...couldn't find thermostat. Kids woke up several times in the night because they were cold. Sticky floor and walls. Loud traffic from 401. Room set up was good though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S S
Smorris160, General Manager at Best Western Plus Bowmanville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us, it is through our guests feedback that we can continue to improve. I do apologise that we not able to exceed your expectations. Based on the property size the pool has always accommodated our guests needs very well and is serviced every 2 hours to maintain a...

Alfred, Canada
Reviewed 12 October 2016

To add to other positive reviews, this hotel is an easy recommendation. It is reasonably priced (senior rates) and includes an excellent breakfast menu. Staff is welcoming and helpful. Room amenities are of the highest quality. Another excellent stay at a Best western hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thegrandstan
Smorris160, General Manager at Best Western Plus Bowmanville, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the excellent review, glad to hear you had such a great stay. We look forward to hosting your accommodation needs again in future. Regards, Steve Morris

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 28 September 2016

The staff at this hotel were more than accomodating of our needs and questions of the area. The room was lovely and beds so comfortable we tried to figure a way to sneak tham out of the room and take home. It was so nice to have an extra area where one of us could work and the other relax...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather A
Smorris160, General Manager at Best Western Plus Bowmanville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience, you certainly wouldn't be the first to want to take the bed home with them most of our guests find extremely comfortable. Our staff take pride in making your stay an enjoyable experience and appreciate the feedback. We look forward to your next visit. Regards Steve Morris

Chatham, Canada
Reviewed 26 September 2016

This hotel has been recently renovated. It is very convenient to the 401, easy off and easy on. Excellent breakfast included both hot and cold. I would recommend this hotel for either business or pleasure.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
Smorris160, General Manager at Best Western Plus Bowmanville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, I am glad to hear the Hotel works well for your needs and you were able to depart with an excellent breakfast. We look forward to accommodating your next stay in the area. Regards Steve Morris

Reviewed 20 September 2016

The bed sheets were soiled, garbage cans sticky, towels stained, bathtub did not work, cable signal fuzzy - overall a terrible experience. The hotel is next to the highway and there is constant traffic noise, which builds from 5AM onward. This is not a "Premium" property except that it looks relatively modern; it is the lack of day to day...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johntN9118ZT
Smorris160, General Manager at Best Western Plus Bowmanville, responded to this review

I appreciate you bringing the issues of your stay to the Hotels attention via several different mediums, i just wish we were given the opportunity to address while you were staying with us. i am sure we could have addressed any concerns to your satisfaction. As always your comments and concerns have been shared with all staff and are used...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 19 September 2016

We couldn't find a hotel in Toronto because of TIFF and so we decided to stay in Bowmanville and drive in in the morning. We were very pleasantly pleased with the overall quality of the hotel and enjoyed our short stay.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
Kingston
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Bathroom was not cleaned. A big pile of soiled laundry greeted me when I checked in that was sitting on the hallway floor across from my room. The door was open which was also creepy as I wondered if someone was in there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WendyKB
Owen Sound, Canada
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We had a one night stay at this Best Western. We arrived after 6pm & were disappointed to find out they were closing the pool for cleaning at 8pm. We always try to get a pool at the location as our kids really enjoy it. It was not to open again until 3pm the next day so it was out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beccasar

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowmanville
Downtown Oshawa
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oshawa Downtown - Toronto Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vanier
Travelodge Oshawa Whitby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bowmanville can be seen from Highway 401, conveniently located off the Liberty Street exit. Our newly renovated 52 room hotel offers brand new rooms and hotel grounds! The hotel has an elevator, indoor pool and complimentary full hot breakfast. There is an outdoor seated patio area with BBQ available. Also available, are barrier-free rooms, and pet friendly rooms. We are close to all major local attractions such as the Bowmanville Zoo, Canadian Tire Motorsport Park and Ontario Power Generation and Lakeridge Health Corporation. Newly refurbished rooms offer an enjoyable and comfortable visit with friendly staff available 24 hours. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Bowmanville

Address: 160 Liberty St S, Bowmanville, Ontario L1C 2W4, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Hotel)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bowmanville
Price Range: $112 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Bowmanville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Bowmanville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Plus Bowmanville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is an elevator.”
AAESTK346, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“they are all very nice room. BIG WHEELCHAIR Accessible.”
trishklara, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms 235 as it's next to the back stairs and people are entering/leaving that way 24/7”
bluewaterbabe63, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Call to book so you get the room you really want.”
buffmozzgirl, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Clean the bathroom and replace towels and toiletries. Also ensure there is on hair left on the bathroom floor especially upon arrival!!”
WendyKB, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$94* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$94
Orbitz.comUS$94
HotelQuicklyUS$135
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates