We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dalvay by the Sea Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dalvay by the Sea Hotel
Dalvay by the Sea Hotel
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 243: English reviews
Start your review of Dalvay by the Sea Hotel
 Click to rate
Mush Lake
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Not good value! Location good but don't expect to find another eating establishment close by. Eateries within 30 - 45 minutes were closed on Mondays and/or Tuesdays, and a fair drive to find groceries/food stores. First, this establishment charged me, immediately upon booking, for all of the first night $199.00+taxes. Upon check-in, they charged the full price for the second...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank dragonfiles
Joel J, General Manager at Dalvay by the Sea Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Dragonfiles, I am deeply saddened to hear that you encountered such a poor welcome at Dalvay by the Sea. I can assure you that steps will be taken to address each of the issues you have raised. If you would like to discuss your experience in greater detail with me, please do not hesitate to give me a call....

Kensington, Prince Edward Island
Reviewed 30 January 2017

My eldest daughter was traveling from the west coast to PEI for her wedding. After looking at many venues for them, they chose Dalvay By the Sea. The hotel took care of guests and assisted greatly in the actual wedding service (performed outdoors overlooking the pond) There were family and friends from Canada and the USA as well as Hungary....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
Management response:

Thank you Frank S for your wonderful review! We hope to see you again in the future. Best regards, Sylvie

Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

We chose Dalvay for our first vacation in PEI. The website and search results recommended it for its beauty, old world history, service and comfort. We were not allowed to check in early so we adjourned to the attached Dinning room to have lunch. Hopeful to have a relaxing meal and ease into vacation mode. We had a very long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank April P
Management response:

Hi April P, thank you for your review! I am sorry to hear you had a really bad experience at our hotel. We always want to make our guests feel welcome at Dalvay and we seemed to have failed to do so with you. I would like to offer you a free night stay if you ever want to come...

Reviewed 11 January 2017

My sister and I stayed here during the PEI Shellfish Festival, it was a lovely place with beautiful views. The rooms were quaint and quiet, the hotel in general was amazing with old world charm. I would love to stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 773cherie
Management response:

Thank you 773cherie for your great review. We hope to see you again next year. Best regards, Sylvie

New Hampshire
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Dalvay by the Sea is gorgeous. Stunning in fact. The pictures don't do it justice. It is also located in a lovely area of PEI, within one of the provincial parks on the island and across the road from the beach. We visited in September for three nights so there was very little tourist activity, which worked out well for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kimberly F
Management response:

Thank you Kimberly F for your review. We are aware of the no coffee situation and are trying to come up with a better service for next summer. We hope to see you again at Dalvay! Best regards, Sylvie

Reviewed 18 November 2016

We enjoy staying at "grand" structures- The Homestead, Wentworth by the Sea, Grand Hotel and the Dalvay by the Sea joins that group.....beautifully maintained Victorian mansion (and except for a poorly placed government building) set in lovely location on the ocean....the food was very good to outstanding ....the tea service was a lot of fun and the staff efficient, helpful,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jameslfoley
Management response:

Thank you jameslfoley for your great feedback! We hope to see you again next summer. Best regards, Sylvie

Reviewed 28 October 2016

I would stay here just for the beauty of the building and the location. It's right across the road from the beach. I don't think there's a lot of competition on PEI for fine hotels. The building, lobby and grounds are gorgeous. It's old, so the rooms don't offer the creature comforts of a modern hotel; the pipes from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
Management response:

Thank you Steven C for your great feedback! It is great to hear that you love Dalvay and its surrounding but I am sorry to hear that the food was not up to your expectation. We are working on new items for next year and we hope we'll have the pleasure to see you again. Best regards, Sylvie

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 11 October 2016

The building has lovely features and the public areas are beautiful and inviting. Our room was smallish (normal size for the era of the building), but adequate. I didn't mind no A/C as it was cool weather, and no TV was not a bother. However the service is something else. Some of the staff seemed to think they were doing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Meg C
Management response:

Thank you for your review Meg C. I am very sorry to hear you had a bad experience with some of the staff. At Dalvay, we want to offer Hospitality like never before and it really disappoint me when I hear that we were not up to that standard. Please contact me directly to discuss this matter further. I can...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 9 October 2016

I can't understand how this place is getting high reviews. I've never been more disgusted with food in my life. McDonalds has a higher quality. I ordered pasta with a white wine and clams for 27$....it was rubber bands swimming in oil with a whole clove a garlic hidden under the pasta (a mistake I think)....27 dollars??! The front lawn...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jj-love2travel
Management response:

Sorry to hear about your bad experience jj-love2travel. I would like to hear more about what happen. I can be reach at smichaud@dalvaybythesea.com. Sylvie

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016

I visited Prince Edward Island for two days at the beginning of September and stayed at Dalvay by the Sea for both nights. The hotel (or rather a traditional Canadian inn) is gorgeous and intricately decorated, really giving that real Canadian feeling. It's set by a beautiful lake and across the road from miles of deep yellow sand beaches -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rebecca P
Management response:

Thank you Rebecca P for your great feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Dalvay but also sorry that you were not able to open your windows during the warm nights. We are aware of this issue and we will work on trying to fix this during our off season. We hope to see you...

365 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (165)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (191)
Viewed
Cozy Queen Room (27)
Viewed
King Room (30)
Viewed
Queen Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalvay
20.8 km away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
693 reviews
20.5 km away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
579 reviews
20.4 km away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
#2 of 2 in Brackley Beach
95 reviews
9.6 km away
Brackley Beach North Winds
Brackley Beach North Winds
#1 of 2 in Brackley Beach
164 reviews
25.2 km away
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dalvay-By-The-Sea, a National Historic Site of Canada, is an elegant Queen Anne Revival home built in 1895 by a Scottish-American oil tycoon. A summer resort hotel since the 1930's, Dalvay By-The-Sea is located at the east end of Prince Edward Island's National Park on scenic Dalvay Beach. There are 25 guest rooms; all are largely furnished in period antiques and all rooms offer a four-piece private bath. Each of our rooms is singular and unique. In addition, there are eight three-bedroom cottages located adjacent to the inn, offering vistas of the ocean, Dalvay Lake and acres of manicured grounds. The inn currently operates from June 1st - mid October, offering both accommodations and dining. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dalvay by the Sea Hotel

Address: 16 Cottage Cres. | Rte. 6, Dalvay Beach, Dalvay, Prince Edward Island C0A 1P0, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Dalvay
Price Range: $191 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dalvay by the Sea Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dalvay by the Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dalvay By The Sea
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dalvay by the Sea Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Milwaukee, Wisconsin

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Dalvay by the Sea Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You might want to spend the extra on a room in the front with a view of the lake, especially if you spend much time in the room”
947stevenc, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room overlooking the lake for wonderful sunrise views”
919rebeccap, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“detox from this world here!”
mikem696, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I would suggest you don't book a room just enjoy the restaurant”
376noraa, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“At least ground floor rooms are awful.”
johnpE908TO, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5