We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kenauk Nature

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montebello
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Kenauk Nature
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Kenauk Nature
See the most recent reviews
Showing 58: English reviews
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 12 June 2015

We had a wonderful two night stay at Three Point Cabin. Having a lake entirely to ourselves in a beautiful, secluded setting was so relaxing. I am not outdoorsy at all, and I was very happy to find the cabin was well appointed with gas lights, running water and an excellent shower. Lots of hot water and great water pressure!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanis C
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 6 June 2015

We have just spent two days unwinding, away from it all surrounded by the best of what nature has to offer.... How exquisite and lucky were we to have a lake all to ourselves, 24 km away from any form of "human" life! Deers, turtles, loonies, herons and every other type of bird crossed our path. Fishing was our excuse...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mirella D
Ottawa, Ontario
Reviewed 30 December 2014

We just spent two nights at Chalet des Pins with our children and grandchildren as a post-Christmas treat and for my husband's 70th birthday celebration. The chalet was clean, beds were hotel quality, it was perfect for 4 couples and 4 little children, and was dog- and cat-friendly. The setting is quiet and beautiful, right on the river, which was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NanaOttawa
Courtice, Canada
Reviewed 15 September 2014

I think its best to start by saying it's a 45 min drive to the chalet from the front desk, no joke. We stayed at the commandant nord, and if you enjoy piece and quiet and fishing and camp fires you will enjoy this. It is very clean and well equipped, comfy and warm and the staff are very nice....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank duane p
Bill N, General Manager at Kenauk Nature, responded to this review

I am always happy to hear from guests that appreciate what we are trying to conserve at Kenauk Nature: a comfortable place to be alone with Nature and enjoy some peace and quiet with clear water, fresh air and lots of stars at night. We look forward to welcoming you again soon, (and I will check the pots in Commandant...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We were able to spend 5 wonderful days at Taunton, first day being greeted at the kitchen window by a deer. It is just wonderful paddling the lake and seeing the beaver lodges and dams and then getting splashed by a beaver. The fishing is terrific, both for casting and for fly fishing. The views are not as special as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 106MKC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We spent 3 nights at Kenauk Nature and stayed at the Vert Chalet...it was quite an experience because we are not used to this kind of style of living but it was so peaceful and ralaxing getting away from the hustle of the city life. The cabins are quite rustic and quite an adjustment to not having proper electricity and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ReneLeCordier
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We spent 5 nights here at Chalet Hidden which was spotlessly clean & very well equipped. We had an amazing time & spotted a bear running alongside our car as we drove to cabin initially. Also did the bear watching trip which was incredible & saw young bear cubs that were adorable! Also saw deer, beavers, chipmunks, racoons, snakes (water...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah I
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We spent 3 nights at Kenauk Nature and stayed at chalet Pumpkinseed. It was almost perfect, beautiful setting, isolated, own lake, peaceful, Unfortunately the insects were terrible, the Mosquitos were viscous, the flies were persistent, despite of the insect repellent. My suggestion is come in spring or autumn instead, autumn is cooler, no bugs,and beautiful with the autumn leaves. We...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ClassyOZ
Bill N, General Manager at Kenauk Nature, responded to this review

It is always rewarding to hear from families that appreciate the beauty and tranquility of our corner of the Canadian wilderness, with all its birds and wildlife. Insects are of course, a part of this and you are right, with the rains there have been a lot of mosquitoes this spring. If you return in the fall the chances of...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 9 June 2014

we have been going to this great location for years. You have the choice of the hotel Montebello or the cabins at Kenauk. The cabins are quite rustic so if you like luxuy the hotel is the better choice but you cannot beat the cabins if you really want to get away from it all. Ask for a cabin on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susan c
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My husband and I stayed in Kenauk's Pine Cabin for a few nights in February. We were given Pine because we asked for a king-sized bed. The other cabins, apparently, only have doubles and bunk beds. Little did we know we'd be getting a huge cabin that sleeps 14 and has its own pool table! Pine Cabin is lovely --...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leslie F

144 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (139)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
0:17
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montebello
8.5 km away
Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
20.0 km away
Eco Spa Highland
Eco Spa Highland
#1 of 2 in Grenville-sur-la-Rouge
18 reviews
7.9 km away
Motel Bel Eau
Motel Bel Eau
#2 of 2 in Montebello
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Auberge Montebello
Auberge Montebello
#4 of 5 in Montebello
67 reviews
7.5 km away
Au Parfum des Saisons
Au Parfum des Saisons
#2 of 5 in Montebello
35 reviews
8.1 km away
Le Petit Chateau
Le Petit Chateau
#3 of 5 in Montebello
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kenauk Nature is a vast 265 km2 (65,000 acre) private landscape established in the 19th century to conserve and protect wildlife habitat. Our magnificent hardwood forest encompasses 65 lakes, 25 of them designated for fishing a wide variety of fish, including rainbow, speckled and lake trout, large-mouth and small-mouth bass and northern pike. For guests to fully experience the wilderness, we offer secluded first-class chalets, with one to six bedrooms. Each private cabin comes equipped with propane lights, fully equipped kitchen, outside barbecue, furnace and hot water tank provided by propane gas, complete bathroom for your comfort and spacious screened porch or a large balcony. All cabins are off the electrical grid so solar panels power the high efficiency refrigerator and water pump. Kenauk Nature is proud to be a partner with the Nature Conservancy of Canada whose reputation for protecting wild places is outstanding. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kenauk Nature

Address: 1000 chemin Kenauk, Montebello, Quebec J0V 1L0, Canada (Formerly Fairmont Kenauk at Le Chateau Montebello)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Montebello
Price Range: $182 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kenauk Nature 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kenauk At Le Chateau Montebello Hotel Montebello
Fairmont Montebello
Montebello Fairmont
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kenauk Nature staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Kenauk Nature staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“These are luxury hunting lodges that belong to Fairmount hotels”
 of 5 bubbles MontrealCarpeDiem, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“New or old chalets. They are all wonderful.”
 of 5 bubbles C_Que, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Cabins vary in luxury and amount of electricity.”
 of 5 bubbles JamesG731, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Hidden Chalet the farthest from the front desk, but beautiful setting and wonderfully peaceful”
 of 5 bubbles 576cn, 21 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Bring a foamie if you don't like a hard bed, and a camping chair for comfortable outdoor seating.”
 of 5 bubbles 467tanisc, 11 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5