We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

OrcaSound Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
OrcaSound Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for OrcaSound Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 50: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 18 September 2014

Run down place, should be closed very soon. When we arrived, there is nobody in the front desk, room is very very small, and a smell throughout the hotel. Very very dirty, trash in the garbage can and hairs everywhere. Very very old furniture, everywhere need to be fixed.We were told that the owner is going sell this hotel so...

2Thank Chris C
DENISE D, Manager at OrcaSound Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning ,first we apologize for your bad experience at our hotel.but there are a little things to clarify ,you said rooms are so small actually it depends how many are you and what kind of room you have chosen, double bed is totally different from king size bed or 2 double bed and for the dirty you saw i...

Gatineau, Canada
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I don't usually write reviews, I usually let my boyfriend do it because he enjoys it. But I HAD to write this one. I'm also not very hard to please when it comes to a hotel room, but I do have my limits. Here is the context. Many family members and I were staying in multiple rooms of this hotel...

4Thank Melanie G
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 11 February 2014

hello i went to rigaud on business for 4 days straight an i had to stay at that place because all the other place where booked. The hot water was rare, the heating was almost not functionning i had to take the wall mount thermostat button with me during to forbid them from turning down the heater during the day....

2Thank romeo r
Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Front desk staff needs training....I was left cold and given little information to make my stay a good one...great spot but it's worth the extra drive to get a place somewhere else....too bad. Rooms are in sad shape, beds are uncomfortable....

2Thank novascotiamemories
DENISE D, General Manager at OrcaSound Hotel, responded to this review

So sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us all persons working at reception are suppose to mention about wifi and continental breakfast but this information is also clearly stated at the front desk along with check in and check out times again sorry you didn't see this it would have been much easier for you I was unable to...

Billings, Montana
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We checked in at 1 a.m and were given a key to the room. When I opened the door there was a man sleeping in the bed and I scared the living crap out of him and myself. I went back to the desk to tell the clerk the room has already been rented and instead of apologizing he said...

2Thank janadian3
DENISE D, General Manager at OrcaSound Hotel, responded to this review

So sorry the young man at the desk made a mistake the guest in the room did say they had been woken and we apologized for the mistake they had rented a different room and wanted a larger one so they where transferred but not in the computer so again we are sorry for the inconvenience it 's really not...

Paris, France
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is more of a warning than a review, as we didn't end up staying here in the end. My husband booked this hotel as a surprise for me, he had booked a room with a jacuzzi and this is where it all started to go wrong..... Despite booking directly with the hotel, so they had all his contact details,...

1Thank Alison H
DENISE D, General Manager at OrcaSound Hotel, responded to this review

I remember you very well!!!! We did try to contact you and so did the travel agency that booked you and on the contrary from what you say I did try very hard to relocate you and I was extremely regretful that I did not have the Jacuzzi room for you and if your husband told you I did apologize...

Regina, Canada
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This is by far the most unclean, most repulsive hotel I've ever stayed in. The room are unclean, wires running around the floor and electric cords scattered everywhere. The exterior of the hotel looks appealing - but not worth a peny. Would not stay here again.

2Thank Brandon B
DENISE D, General Manager at OrcaSound Hotel, responded to this review

I can't imagine that that's what you think of our hotel I run a very clean place and have never had such terrible comments .I would love to speak with you about your harsh comments ,we have no wires or cords running around the rooms and are very clean I'm shocked by your comments!!!!!!! Denise GM

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Terrible experience. The man at the front desk was full of attitude. The place smells like mothballs. Nothing has been updated for 40 years it seems. No A/C and bad ventilation. Walls are so thin that you can hear EVERYTHING in the corridors and adjoining rooms (ie Vacuum at 7AM, people talking in other rooms). Rooms so small that you...

2Thank Alex L
DENISE D, General Manager at OrcaSound Hotel, responded to this review

Alex I appreciate your review but I must say somewhat exaggerated . We have never used mothballs and have never done any vacuuming before 9:30 am that's when our housekeepers start ,the young man at the front desk is far from rude and noise happens in every hotel by the way the hotel is 12 years old ,you may not...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We went there because of the jacuzzi which was fine but there was a horrible bed that gave both of us a backache. The water was cold in the bathroom sink. There was hairs on my pillow. The room was cool at best and barren. Some of the electric plugs didn't work so we played musical plugs.

2Thank Jo O
DENISE D, General Manager at OrcaSound Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and do wish you would give us a second chance to make it up to you. Denise GM

Reviewed 5 January 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Howard Johnson in Rigaud on Dec 29th and 30th. The hallways were so cold that a coat was needed. We did bring it to the staff's attention but they did not seem to be able to do anything about it. In our hotel room, as was the case with our friends room, the...

1Thank Sylvie L
DENISE D, General Manager at OrcaSound Hotel, responded to this review

I'm glad you brought this to my attention,we had just purchased this hotel just before your stay and another guest mentioned about the thermostats and we had them verified and repaired I'm very sorry you had a bad and cold stay we will make this up to you if ever you return front desk clerk should have been at the...

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (16)
Bathroom (1)
Room/Suite (2)
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (9)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Room/Suite (2)
Dining (3)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rigaud
7.0 km away
Hotel Capri
Hotel Capri
#1 of 3 in Rigaud
13 reviews
17.4 km away
Chateau Vaudreuil
Chateau Vaudreuil
#1 of 9 in Vaudreuil-Dorion
361 reviews
9.0 km away
Auberge des Gallant
Auberge des Gallant
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Marthe
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Vaudreuil-Dorion
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Vau...
#2 of 9 in Vaudreuil-Dorion
73 reviews
5.6 km away
No photo provided
Motel Belair
#2 of 3 in Rigaud
8 reviews
0.2 km away
Le Hudson Inn
Le Hudson Inn
#3 of 3 in Rigaud
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in Rigaud and residing next to St. Lazare, Hudson and Vaudreuil, Quebec. Just off of highway 40 on your way to Ottawa or Montreal.We offer seasonal packages, special event, ski, romantic couples, golf, Abraska, musical, weekend packages, and so much more.Come and dive into our world filled with comfort hospitality, welcome to orcaSound. ... more   less 

Additional Information about OrcaSound Hotel

Address: 93 Montee Lavigne, Rigaud, Quebec J0P 1P0, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Rigaud
Price Range: $80 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — OrcaSound Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your OrcaSound Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Rigaud Hotel Rigaud
Howard Johnson Rigaud
Rigaud Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from OrcaSound Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“just explain what you are looking for.”
IgorTheVulcan, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for their NEWEST room...not sure if it'll be any better than the one I got, but you might get lucky.”
McGyver2016, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Do not bother. Only reason I stayed there is that it was the only room left out of 3 hotels”
johnlU6201JY, 4 Oct 2015 | Read review
“There is no such thing as a good room at this hotel.....beware.”
marleyandmike, 15 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Even with a confirmation number, double check your reservation.”
doogietraveler, 6 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5