We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cliveden House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cliveden House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

923 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 898: English reviews
Start your review of Cliveden House
 Click to rate
UK
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have stayed here on other occasions and each visit surpasses the next. We stayed in the Mountbatten Suite which was the billiard room. It's just a stunning space and ideal for nipping our dogs outside. We arrived on a warm Sunday day when there were lots of day visitors enjoying the wonderful grounds. As hotel guests we were able...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UkCaro
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fantastic. Beautiful suite. Fantastic food. Incredible service. Genuinely felt as if time was going really slowly. Wonderfully really. Loved that there were lots of National Trust visitors in the grounds and had cream tea in the orangerie. Assistant manager was welcoming and helpful, the girls serving weren't really with it and kept drifting off despite the long (good-natured) queue. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ruetraversiere
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This property is absolutely stunning, from the drive to the hotel itself to the landscaped gardens everything is stunningly well mantained. Having been to similar hotels I've always been a bit disappointed on seeing the buildings looking a little rundown but not Cliveden. It has been well preserved and looked after. The staff are all exceptionally well trained, and all...

Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mudassar A
Binfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent setting and an amazing lunch! Family of 4 had a long Sunday lunch to celebrate my birthday. Food was very well cooked and would recommend to anyone. The team at the reception went above and beyond to look after our two dogs whilst we were at lunch!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
Middlesex, England
Reviewed 1 week ago

I love Cliveden. The gardens are absolutely spectacular any time of year, and the place is massive. The Japanese water garden is my favourite; so peaceful with wonderful colours. The formal gardens round the back of the building are great for picnics and for kids to run around. The daffodil fields are sublime. The riverside walks are idyllic. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma_fom_Ruislip
Kevin B, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

I love Cliveden too and regularly enjoy the grounds during my lunch hour - you should see the bluebells carpeting the floor of the beech woods at the moment. The National Trust really do a wonderful job maintaining them to the highest standard. Best wishes Kevin Brooke

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A lovely birthday treat. Stunning views wish we could have seen them with our tea, tea taken in hall sitting on low couches which don't support an ageing back. Lovely to have a relaxing drink in but not altogether the best for reaching for the wonderful display of sandwiches, scones, these were the best, and cakes. Sorry to say the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynda t
Kevin B, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review - it is excellent that you enjoyed such a lovely birthday treat - the views and grounds are indeed stunning and you will really pleased to know that the National Trust ground fee goes, in its entirety, to this noble charity. Please do advise us if the tea is not to your liking...

Calne
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a wonderful day out. Although we didn't have time to go inside the building ( tours don't start till 3pm) the grounds, parkland, gardens and riverside walk were so extensive and attractive that it was a very worthwhile visit. Everything is so well maintained and the views are stunning. An excellent place for all ages.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derrysal
Kevin B, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

The National Trust really do an excellent job looking after the grounds - next time you visit make a reservation for full afternoon tea in the hotel - a wonderful experience never to be forgotten. See you soon Kevin

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our Ruby Wedding Anniversary was made perfect by our stay at this excellent hotel. The setting is wonderful and the House awesome. Our room was the best hotel room we have ever stayed in - spacious, beautifully furnished, comfortable and very clean. We very much enjoyed our pre dinner drinks and dinner was memorable. All of the staff were welcoming,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G12hitchin
Kevin B, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely words. I really appreciate the mention of the "welcoming, warm friendly staff" - just what we all try to achieve and I have passed on your thoughts to the team. The grounds are fantastic year round and the hotel has just benefited from an extensive refurbishment. Many kind regards Kevin Brooke

Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've wanted to visit Cliveden for so long and after years of waiting, I'm happy to report that it didn't disappoint. We had a tasting lunch menu that kept us happily entertained all afternoon and then we could just about muster the strength to walk around the gorgeous grounds afterwards...The sommelier was particularly helpful and dealt with our friend's specific...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
Kevin B, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

Cliveden's team of award winning sommeliers really are second to none when it comes to advising on wines and the celler is very well stocked. I am really pleased we lived up to your high expectations after years of waiting and I hope you do not have to wait so long for your next visit. Best wishes Kevin Brooke

San Diego, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You have to splurge and stay here, at least once. Alex at the front desk was delightfully helpful and competent. Breakfast over the Parterre is a golden memory. Sumptuous decor. Great bathtub. Everything was perfect. Never saw a maid or maid's cart, but room was always cleaned when we stepped out. Incredible setting and gardens. Intriguing history. I want yo...

Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 829jamesz
Kevin B, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

For many years Cliveden has been a great generator of wonderful memories and I hope it continues to do so for many years. You are quite right, the views from the dining room, at breakfast time, across the manicured lawns and clipped box hedges down to the River Thames really are truly magical. I want you to return as well...

524 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (486)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (196)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Other (143)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taplow
6.5 km away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
9.4 km away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
29.6 km away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
565 reviews
7.7 km away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,150 reviews
5.9 km away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cliveden is unique. One of the world's finest luxury hotels, this grand stately home is set in the heart of the Berkshire countryside, surrounded by 376 acres of magnificent formal gardens and parkland and with wonderful panoramic views over the River Thames. It is one of the finest luxury hotels near London and Heathrow Airport. Guests have included every British monarch since George I as well as Charlie Chaplin, Winston Churchill, Harold Macmillan, President Roosevelt, George Bernard Shaw, John Profumo and Christine Keeler, and many other well-known names from the past and present. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cliveden House

Address: Taplow SL6 0JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Taplow
Price Range: $585 - $2,334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cliveden House 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cliveden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliveden House Hotel Taplow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cliveden House staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
11 months ago
Barcelona
7 months ago
Worcester
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Cliveden House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are taking dogs do stay in the Mountbatten suite as it has easy access to outside. It's also fabulous!”
  • Mountbatten suite
UkCaro, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Lady Astor's Roof terrace is supposed to be amazing, but we didn't see it!”
AnnD136, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Inchiquin suite is great for families.”
  • Inchiquin suite
  • Inchiquin suite
  • Inchiquin suite
jenniferlH9059ZA, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get one of the suites in the main building. The Westminster was particularly nice.”
southmauijim, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room or suite in the main part of the mansion on the first or second floor for an outstanding view.”
lindawU8122UG, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5